Join 200,000+ other SprintUsers for free at the #1 online community for Sprint cell phone customers! Win cool prizes in our weekly contests. Talk about the newest phones or post your question in our forums! Become a premium member and get unlimited Focus Uploads to your Sprint phone.

All visitors must register before they can post questions, contact other members or search our database of over 127,000 threads and 1.7 million posts. So what are you waiting for? Register for free today!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-19-2005, 03:24 PM   #1
nicetie
Telegraph User
 
nicetie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 20, '05
Location: dallas
Posts: 29
Phone: sanyo8200
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SU$: 12
Lightbulb 11 then 10 digit phone # direct to voicemail

Using 11 to dial directly into voicemail only works with Sprint.

Are there other codes for other cell providers? It would be handy
to call and leave a message without disturbing someone who
might be sleeping.

Is there a source for this info on the internet?
nicetie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2005, 04:05 PM   #2
EeZeEpEe
Walkie Talkie User
 
EeZeEpEe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 11, '05
Location: New York City
Posts: 468
Phone: Epic 4G Touch
Thanks: 4
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
SU$: 1,089
Send a message via AIM to EeZeEpEe Send a message via Skype™ to EeZeEpEe
Quote:
Originally Posted by nicetie
Using 11 to dial directly into voicemail only works with Sprint.

Are there other codes for other cell providers? It would be handy
to call and leave a message without disturbing someone who
might be sleeping.

Is there a source for this info on the internet?
I've heard about this code before but never tried it out. I just did it and I get a recorded message saying "Number or code you dialed is incorrect". Is it my phone or am I just being dumb and didn't dial it right? lol
11-xxx-xxx-xxxx right?
It shows up as 1-1xx-xxx-xxxxx
__________________
Phone: Sprint Samsung Galaxy S III
ROM: CyanogenMod 11 Nightly Builds
Kernel: KT747
Governor: Ktoonservative
Modem: MK3

Sprint customer since 2000
EeZeEpEe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2005, 06:25 PM   #3
missdiva
RIP Palm Pre
 
missdiva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 8, '04
Location: Miami
Posts: 3,055
Phone: Iphone 5
Trades: 45
Thanks: 6
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
SU$: 14,437
only works in some areas . worked fine in miami , doesnt work in nyc
missdiva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2005, 06:34 PM   #4
nicetie
Telegraph User
 
nicetie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 20, '05
Location: dallas
Posts: 29
Phone: sanyo8200
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SU$: 12
It's my understanding that it works if you call a cell phone that is on the Sprint
system. Were you calling a Sprint phone? I tried it calling a phone that wasn't on
the Sprint system and it didn't work.
nicetie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2005, 06:34 PM   #5
nicetie
Telegraph User
 
nicetie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 20, '05
Location: dallas
Posts: 29
Phone: sanyo8200
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SU$: 12
It's my understanding that it works if you call a cell phone that is on the Sprint
system. Were you calling a Sprint phone? I tried it calling a phone that wasn't on
the Sprint system and it didn't work.
nicetie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2005, 08:50 PM   #6
Loophole
Telegraph User
 
Loophole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 16, '04
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SU$: 60
I think the number you are calling has to be an original Sprint #. If the Sprint phone you are calling was a number ported from another carrier or land line it doens't work ( at least it doesnt for me in the San Francisco area.

Loophole
Loophole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2005, 10:56 PM   #7
EeZeEpEe
Walkie Talkie User
 
EeZeEpEe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 11, '05
Location: New York City
Posts: 468
Phone: Epic 4G Touch
Thanks: 4
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
SU$: 1,089
Send a message via AIM to EeZeEpEe Send a message via Skype™ to EeZeEpEe
Quote:
Originally Posted by missdiva
only works in some areas . worked fine in miami , doesnt work in nyc
I was wondering what was up with that. I didn't see anyone else stating that it doesn't work everywhere. Thanks.
__________________
Phone: Sprint Samsung Galaxy S III
ROM: CyanogenMod 11 Nightly Builds
Kernel: KT747
Governor: Ktoonservative
Modem: MK3

Sprint customer since 2000
EeZeEpEe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2005, 07:30 AM   #8
Heavy Fluid
I love phones
 
Heavy Fluid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 26, '04
Location: Michigan
Posts: 314
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SU$: 353
Most "cheats" do not work with a ported number, nor do they work in all areas. I know that if you dial your exchange (first 3 numbers = xxx) xxx-6245 (MAIL) that should take you directly to Sprint's Messaging Center, where you can enter the 10 digit number of an account, and it should take you right to their voicemail, or you can check your own.

I believe that Nextel works the same way, not sure about the others.
Heavy Fluid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2005, 08:34 AM   #9
missdiva
RIP Palm Pre
 
missdiva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 8, '04
Location: Miami
Posts: 3,055
Phone: Iphone 5
Trades: 45
Thanks: 6
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
SU$: 14,437
all i know is i used this w/ about 5 sprint #'s (orig sprint#'s not ported) in miami for 2 years, and the day I moved to nyc it just did not work at all. i posted a while back and other people confirmed it doesn't work in nyc and some other areas.,
missdiva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2005, 05:44 AM   #10
phoneman77
Telegraph User
 
phoneman77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 20, '05
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 14
Phone: TREO 600
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SU$: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by missdiva
all i know is i used this w/ about 5 sprint #'s (orig sprint#'s not ported) in miami for 2 years, and the day I moved to nyc it just did not work at all. i posted a while back and other people confirmed it doesn't work in nyc and some other areas.,
It definately does not work in NYC. However, if you login to your own voicemail and press option 2 from the main menu "Record and send a message" you can record a message and send to someone without ringing their phone. (sprint customers only)
phoneman77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Go Back SprintUsers.com > General > Tips & Tricks - All Carriers > 11 then 10 digit phone # direct to voicemail

Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
if you call your pcs voicemail from home or another phone do you pay for mins? (more) donkeydonks Sprint Discussion 14 02-01-2006 08:59 AM
MM7400 Sprint's Best Phone Ever! LoanShark Phone Reviews 0 01-26-2005 05:22 PM
Check voicemail from my home phone? SV650 Sprint Discussion 7 11-24-2004 04:09 PM
8100 Review & Comparison 8notime Phone Reviews 0 04-25-2003 04:43 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:31 PM.


- SprintUsers.com is not affiliated with or endorsed by Sprint PCS -