Join 200,000+ other SprintUsers for free at the #1 online community for Sprint cell phone customers! Win cool prizes in our weekly contests. Talk about the newest phones or post your question in our forums! Become a premium member and get unlimited Focus Uploads to your Sprint phone.

All visitors must register before they can post questions, contact other members or search our database of over 127,000 threads and 1.7 million posts. So what are you waiting for? Register for free today!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-12-2005, 03:30 PM   #1
mizzprez
Two Cans & String User
 
mizzprez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 12, '05
Location: Pasco, WA
Posts: 1
Phone: none!
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SU$: 10
Question Can I activate a phone with a past-due balance?

Please forgive me for being new to all of this, but I have spend HOURS and HOURS of searching and havent been able to figure this out yet.

I am a current customer with Sprint PCS. The phone I have been using is broke and will not power on. Since I am not eligible for a rebate or any other offer, also do not have Lockline, I have been finding that a new phone would cost me near $300!

My old roomate used to be a Sprint Customer, over a year ago she lost her phone and went through the same thing as me. She ended up switching to another carrier for service. About 6 months ago, she found her old Sprint phone. Its a Sanyo 8100. She did call Sprint to let them know the phone was found but she had already by then signed a contract with a new carrier.

She just gave the phone to me so that I can use it instead of paying for a phone that I cannot use and not having to buy a new phone for over $300.

I did call Sprint, but they are saying no because it has a past balance.

So now, I have already downloaded various software. BitPm, ESN Changer, Sanyo flash program, and Sanyo PST.

I cannot get this figured out. I have the MSL#, I already went in and changed the NAI to my phone number with Sprint, as well as changed the user name for Vision. But the phone is still not allowing me to make calls. It does show my phone number, but thats it.

I am figuring I have to do an esn change, but I dont know the steps in doing it either.

Is there any thing anyone knows that could possibly solve my problem?? I am so frusterated, and still paying a bill for a phone I cant even use!!

((I do have software I am willing to trade and a few tips and tricks to unlock a Moto v300))

ANYTHING, IM DESPERATE!

Thank you!
mizzprez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2005, 03:39 PM   #2
vikingjunior
Account Inactive
 
vikingjunior's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 17, '04
Location: NYC
Posts: 2,186
Phone: MM 7400
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SU$: 10
ummmm I believe the balance on that phone has to be paid off before it will be activated.
vikingjunior is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2005, 03:48 PM   #3
jonnythan
Cucumber Cowboy
 
jonnythan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 5, '03
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 1,026
Phone: Nexus S
Thanks: 22
Thanked 42 Times in 37 Posts
SU$: 5,025
Tell your friend to get off her butt and pay the money she owes to Sprint.

You'll be all set
__________________
Samsung SCH-1000 / Samsung SCH-3500 / Samsung SPH-N200 / Sanyo 8100 / LG PM-325 / Sanyo Katana / Samsung Instinct / HTC Touch Diamond / HTC Hero / HTC Evo / Nexus S
jonnythan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2005, 03:52 PM   #4
jonnythan
Cucumber Cowboy
 
jonnythan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 5, '03
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 1,026
Phone: Nexus S
Thanks: 22
Thanked 42 Times in 37 Posts
SU$: 5,025
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...742473739&rd=1

BTW new phones from Sprint start around $150.
__________________
Samsung SCH-1000 / Samsung SCH-3500 / Samsung SPH-N200 / Sanyo 8100 / LG PM-325 / Sanyo Katana / Samsung Instinct / HTC Touch Diamond / HTC Hero / HTC Evo / Nexus S

Last edited by jonnythan; 01-12-2005 at 03:58 PM.
jonnythan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2005, 03:56 PM   #5
jonnythan
Cucumber Cowboy
 
jonnythan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 5, '03
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 1,026
Phone: Nexus S
Thanks: 22
Thanked 42 Times in 37 Posts
SU$: 5,025
Oh, I have a perfectly working 8100 with data cable, charger, and original box for $60
__________________
Samsung SCH-1000 / Samsung SCH-3500 / Samsung SPH-N200 / Sanyo 8100 / LG PM-325 / Sanyo Katana / Samsung Instinct / HTC Touch Diamond / HTC Hero / HTC Evo / Nexus S
jonnythan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2005, 11:33 PM   #6
mxl360
Telephone User
 
mxl360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 12, '05
Location: USA
Posts: 113
Phone: Centro
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SU$: 1,132
hmm.. my friend said he owed about 150$ on his sprint phone, and i activated without any problems..
mxl360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2005, 05:30 PM   #7
NINfem
Two Cans & String User
 
NINfem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 13, '05
Location: Omaha
Posts: 7
Phone: SPC-8100
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SU$: 24
Red face phone for sale??

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonnythan
Oh, I have a perfectly working 8100 with data cable, charger, and original box for $60

Are you still selling this phone package?? I could use some spare parts for my 8100.


email me here if 8100 for sale
NINfem
NINfem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2005, 08:57 AM   #8
jonnythan
Cucumber Cowboy
 
jonnythan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 5, '03
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 1,026
Phone: Nexus S
Thanks: 22
Thanked 42 Times in 37 Posts
SU$: 5,025
No, I sold that phone almost immediately on eBay. It went for about $100
__________________
Samsung SCH-1000 / Samsung SCH-3500 / Samsung SPH-N200 / Sanyo 8100 / LG PM-325 / Sanyo Katana / Samsung Instinct / HTC Touch Diamond / HTC Hero / HTC Evo / Nexus S
jonnythan is offline   Reply With Quote
Go Back SprintUsers.com > General > Tips & Tricks - All Carriers > Can I activate a phone with a past-due balance?

Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Whats the best way to activate my new phone? wilbri Sprint Discussion 7 01-12-2005 08:53 AM
8100 Review & Comparison 8notime Phone Reviews 0 04-25-2003 04:43 PM
Treo 300, the wait for the perfect vision phone is over Fixup Phone Reviews 0 03-07-2003 06:12 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:02 PM.


- SprintUsers.com is not affiliated with or endorsed by Sprint PCS -