Join 200,000+ other SprintUsers for free at the #1 online community for Sprint cell phone customers! Win cool prizes in our weekly contests. Talk about the newest phones or post your question in our forums! Become a premium member and get unlimited Focus Uploads to your Sprint phone.

All visitors must register before they can post questions, contact other members or search our database of over 127,000 threads and 1.7 million posts. So what are you waiting for? Register for free today!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 03-02-2012, 10:01 AM   #1
QponCutie
Telegraph User
 
QponCutie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 22, '10
Posts: 24
Thanks: 6
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SU$: 220
Can I Activate These Phones on PrePaid Service?

I have an older EVO, and a Blackberry Curve. I wanted to activate one of them on a prepaid service for my daughter, since Sprint will not let me add another line to my family plan.

Will either of these phones work on a prepaid plan?
QponCutie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2012, 10:54 PM   #2
Dan
Forever my Angel
 
Dan's Avatar
 
Mood: Relaxed
Join Date: Feb 6, '05
Location: western NY
Posts: 23,901
Phone: HTC ONE
Trades: 1
Thanks: 46
Thanked 742 Times in 608 Posts
SU$: 127,929
Quote:
Originally Posted by QponCutie View Post
I have an older EVO, and a Blackberry Curve. I wanted to activate one of them on a prepaid service for my daughter, since Sprint will not let me add another line to my family plan.

Will either of these phones work on a prepaid plan?
Well, that depends on what you want the devices to do. Talk and text, you can probably get them flashed for most any CDMA carrier such as page plus.
__________________
My angel is now an angel in heaven. 5/25/2000 - 12/5/2010. Rest in peace Alaina.
Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2012, 09:04 PM   #3
Riinku
All day, Erry day.
 
Riinku's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 26, '12
Location: Bedford, TX
Posts: 29
Phone: Nexus S 4G
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
SU$: 478
Send a message via Skype™ to Riinku
Quote:
Originally Posted by QponCutie View Post
I have an older EVO, and a Blackberry Curve. I wanted to activate one of them on a prepaid service for my daughter, since Sprint will not let me add another line to my family plan.

Will either of these phones work on a prepaid plan?
As much as Sprint does not want me to tell you this...

You can get the EVO flashed to most prepaid carriers, and all services will work EXCEPT for 4g. The blackberry will be tougher, as all data services have to pass through RIM first. I can not flash the phone for you, or tell you how to do it. But there are many people who will do it for a fee.

Hope this helps!
__________________
Austin R. Stratton - Sprint/Nextel- Fort Worth, Texas - Tier III Technical Support

The information, opinions, or help provided is not condoned or provided by Sprint/Nextel in any way, shape, or form and the statments made on this public forum do not represent Sprint/Nextel; only myself.
Riinku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 12:07 PM   #4
QponCutie
Telegraph User
 
QponCutie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 22, '10
Posts: 24
Thanks: 6
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SU$: 220
Thanks for the info! I really just want it for talk/text for my daughter, so that's no biggie. And the 4g around here sucks, so nobody would miss it! LOL
QponCutie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 04:39 AM   #5
valuequest
Telegraph User
 
valuequest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 27, '04
Location: southeastern Virginia
Posts: 47
Thanks: 60
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
SU$: 331
Quote:
Originally Posted by Riinku View Post
The blackberry will be tougher, as all data services have to pass through RIM first.
I have a BB 8330 with a Sprint ROM that I'd like to take to one of the prepaid services, and I could appreciate 3G data service if possible.

Does anyone know of any prepaid services which can activate and deliver 3G data to a BB directly through the host network, i.e. NOT through RIM's servers?
valuequest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 12:47 AM   #6
Terry K
Telegraph User
 
Terry K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 20, '03
Location: In the Midwest
Posts: 96
Phone: Iphone 4s
Thanks: 2
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
SU$: 676
I'm told Page + can now activate Blackberries, but getting around the MSL and the PRL issues will require some flashing that I don't know how to do.
Terry K is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Terry K For This Useful Post:
valuequest (06-05-2012)
Old 05-31-2012, 05:19 PM   #7
paulrotc
Telephone User
 
paulrotc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 25, '11
Posts: 153
Thanks: 9
Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts
SU$: 1,457
Quote:
Originally Posted by valuequest

I have a BB 8330 with a Sprint ROM that I'd like to take to one of the prepaid services, and I could appreciate 3G data service if possible.

Does anyone know of any prepaid services which can activate and deliver 3G data to a BB directly through the host network, i.e. NOT through RIM's servers?
Good question, but the answer I am aware of is one that you won't favor lol.

Blackberry data services work trough either a BIS or BES server gateway. BIS being the most common to users not tied to a corporate structure (stands for blackberry Internet service, the E is for Enterprise in BES). I am not aware of any way to get around the data because all of the data funnels to RIMs servers, where it authenticates the phones BIS or BES status and then allows access. That is why email is instant on Blackberrys. Now push is catching up, but isn't as instantaneous yet.

Anyway......sorry for the rant.....but I have never come across someone that was able to keep data oz their blackberry long enough to be useable on a prepaid service that doesn't have a subscriber agreement with RIM. Some have been able to activate them and have them work for a bit, but once the service provider sees the data funneled to RIM, they usually sever the connection..... Then your SOL.

I could be wrong though. But whatever you decide to do, I hope it works out in your favor!
paulrotc is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to paulrotc For This Useful Post:
valuequest (06-05-2012)
Old 10-22-2012, 05:36 PM   #8
infinitig
Two Cans & String User
 
infinitig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 22, '12
Posts: 5
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SU$: 59
just an fyi, there is new offerings in the sprint prepaid arena. some companies such as ecomobile, prepayd wireless and others are offering bring your own sprint device programs to allow for contract side handsets be used on prepaid. i am using an evo on ecomobile. ting also announced that they were getting it but i dont know if they released it just yet? anyone have an idea?
infinitig is offline   Reply With Quote
Go Back SprintUsers.com > General > Other Carriers & MVNOs > Prepaid Wireless Services & PTT > Can I Activate These Phones on PrePaid Service?

Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
When did Sprint start charging service fees for warranty issues? gedansky Total Equipment Protection 6 12-26-2011 09:21 PM
Price for 4g Service on phones? adamlee2001GXE Sprint Discussion 27 03-25-2010 09:41 PM
Can I return phones to one store and buy from another store? snoozeulose Tips & Tricks - All Carriers 5 01-29-2009 03:53 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:26 PM.


- SprintUsers.com is not affiliated with or endorsed by Sprint PCS -