Join 200,000+ other SprintUsers for free at the #1 online community for Sprint cell phone customers! Win cool prizes in our weekly contests. Talk about the newest phones or post your question in our forums! Become a premium member and get unlimited Focus Uploads to your Sprint phone.

All visitors must register before they can post questions, contact other members or search our database of over 127,000 threads and 1.7 million posts. So what are you waiting for? Register for free today!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-23-2011, 09:02 AM   #31
Silent Majority
Cordless Phone User
 
Silent Majority's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 6, '07
Posts: 511
Phone: Moto Admiral
Thanks: 12
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
SU$: 3,306
Quote:
Originally Posted by starstrukk

Thanks for your response! However, when I'm in that settings page... all I see are shortcuts for the letters a-z... D=
Should be at the very top, listed as a "side" button.
__________________
Blah.
Silent Majority is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2011, 09:08 AM   #32
venaka
Two Cans & String User
 
venaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 29, '09
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SU$: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by starstrukk View Post
Thanks for your response! However, when I'm in that settings page... all I see are shortcuts for the letters a-z... D=
just dive into it..
each letter pressed consecutively with search does the command..the first one is the side button change that to text messaging or whatever
venaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2011, 04:03 PM   #33
SanDiegoSteve
Telegraph User
 
SanDiegoSteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 30, '09
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 59
Phone: Admiral
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
SU$: 397
These guys answered it. But I just want an excuse to play with a screenshot app:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	SideButton.png
Views:	70
Size:	30.9 KB
ID:	42914  
__________________
Smartphone History: Motorola Q9c -> Samsung Intrepid -> Motorola Admiral
SanDiegoSteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2011, 04:26 PM   #34
starstrukk
live.laugh.lift
 
starstrukk's Avatar
 
Mood: Inspired
Join Date: Jan 8, '06
Location: where the sky ends
Posts: 1,035
Phone: iphone5time
Trades: 2
Thanks: 7
Thanked 39 Times in 36 Posts
SU$: 6,387
Quote:
Originally Posted by Silent Majority View Post
Should be at the very top, listed as a "side" button.
Quote:
Originally Posted by venaka View Post
just dive into it..
each letter pressed consecutively with search does the command..the first one is the side button change that to text messaging or whatever
Quote:
Originally Posted by SanDiegoSteve View Post
These guys answered it. But I just want an excuse to play with a screenshot app:
Thanks you guys for your responses! This really helps BUT I seem to not have that option O_O. If it counts for anything, I am on SERO and yesterday when I activated it the rep switched my SERO-P to a SERO-P with direct connect but I told her I wasn't going to use DC. And i've been pressing the button like crazy and nothing happens, so I know the DC does not work; that's when I have the one touch button thing set to off (which is always by default). When I do have it set to open up the DC contact list, it goes to that. But I have no interest in using DC -_-... Oh well...! Anyway, thanks again guys!
__________________

Last edited by starstrukk; 11-23-2011 at 04:30 PM.
starstrukk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2011, 07:55 PM   #35
J.BEEZY
Telegraph User
 
J.BEEZY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 15, '09
Location: Michigan
Posts: 49
Phone: Moto Admiral
Thanks: 12
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
SU$: 226
Send a message via AIM to J.BEEZY
Quote:
Originally Posted by starstrukk View Post
Thanks you guys for your responses! This really helps BUT I seem to not have that option O_O. If it counts for anything, I am on SERO and yesterday when I activated it the rep switched my SERO-P to a SERO-P with direct connect but I told her I wasn't going to use DC. And i've been pressing the button like crazy and nothing happens, so I know the DC does not work; that's when I have the one touch button thing set to off (which is always by default). When I do have it set to open up the DC contact list, it goes to that. But I have no interest in using DC -_-... Oh well...! Anyway, thanks again guys!
mine start with the letter A too, no side option, im on seroP also
J.BEEZY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2011, 03:13 PM   #36
SanDiegoSteve
Telegraph User
 
SanDiegoSteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 30, '09
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 59
Phone: Admiral
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
SU$: 397
Maybe they prevent re-mapping this key if you have a DC-enabled plan?
__________________
Smartphone History: Motorola Q9c -> Samsung Intrepid -> Motorola Admiral
SanDiegoSteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2011, 04:08 PM   #37
J.BEEZY
Telegraph User
 
J.BEEZY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 15, '09
Location: Michigan
Posts: 49
Phone: Moto Admiral
Thanks: 12
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
SU$: 226
Send a message via AIM to J.BEEZY
Quote:
Originally Posted by SanDiegoSteve View Post
Maybe they prevent re-mapping this key if you have a DC-enabled plan?
maybe ur right

its kinda annoying tho when i dont mean to hit it and it just does that loud beep a few times
J.BEEZY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2011, 08:31 PM   #38
Silent Majority
Cordless Phone User
 
Silent Majority's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 6, '07
Posts: 511
Phone: Moto Admiral
Thanks: 12
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
SU$: 3,306
How the hell do you turn off the loud beep that happens when the phone gets low battery? Its so sudden, loud and annoying.
__________________
Blah.
Silent Majority is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2011, 09:31 AM   #39
John_E
Telegraph User
 
John_E's Avatar
 
Mood: Cheerful
Join Date: May 20, '11
Posts: 11
Phone: Motorola Admira
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
SU$: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by SanDiegoSteve View Post
Maybe they prevent re-mapping this key if you have a DC-enabled plan?
Yes! If you have Sprint DC service the option is not available to remap the DC button. (You CAN remap if you don't have DC on your account.)
__________________
♫ John E,
Sprint Employee
John_E is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2011, 09:36 AM   #40
John_E
Telegraph User
 
John_E's Avatar
 
Mood: Cheerful
Join Date: May 20, '11
Posts: 11
Phone: Motorola Admira
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
SU$: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by Silent Majority View Post
How the hell do you turn off the loud beep that happens when the phone gets low battery? Its so sudden, loud and annoying.
I haven't tested for this particular beep; however, Android OS has MANY volume controls!

The best application I have found to adjust the various volumns is AudioGuru. There is a free version and a paid version in the Android Market. Once installed you can see all of the different "types" of volumns to control.

You will need to play with which one the Low Battery appears under. Here are the categories on my Admiral under AudioGuru:

Voice
Media
Ringer
Alerts
System
Alarm

(My guess is that it will be under "system" but I have not tested... my battery rarely gets low because I am using the "Maximum battery saver" mode under the phones battery settings... I easily get a full day of talking, texting, and data usage off of a single charge.)
__________________
♫ John E,
Sprint Employee
John_E is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to John_E For This Useful Post:
Silent Majority (12-01-2011)
Old 12-01-2011, 12:01 PM   #41
Silent Majority
Cordless Phone User
 
Silent Majority's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 6, '07
Posts: 511
Phone: Moto Admiral
Thanks: 12
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
SU$: 3,306
Quote:
Originally Posted by John_E
I haven't tested for this particular beep; however, Android OS has MANY volume controls!

The best application I have found to adjust the various volumns is AudioGuru. There is a free version and a paid version in the Android Market. Once installed you can see all of the different "types" of volumns to control.

You will need to play with which one the Low Battery appears under. Here are the categories on my Admiral under AudioGuru:

Voice
Media
Ringer
Alerts
System
Alarm

(My guess is that it will be under "system" but I have not tested... my battery rarely gets low because I am using the "Maximum battery saver" mode under the phones battery settings... I easily get a full day of talking, texting, and data usage off of a single charge.)
Yea I'm guessing its system too which of course was turned all the way up. Thanks for the cool app. I'll have to see if my phone yells at me tonight. With the Max power saver mode, you don't receive gmail messages right away right?
__________________
Blah.
Silent Majority is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2011, 12:07 PM   #42
John_E
Telegraph User
 
John_E's Avatar
 
Mood: Cheerful
Join Date: May 20, '11
Posts: 11
Phone: Motorola Admira
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
SU$: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by Silent Majority View Post
Yea I'm guessing its system too which of course was turned all the way up. Thanks for the cool app. I'll have to see if my phone yells at me tonight. With the Max power saver mode, you don't receive gmail messages right away right?
Yes, that is correct. My emails come in slowly unless my phone is active. (So when I wake up the screen, I get my email messges.) This works for me but if you need to be able to respond quickly to email messages, you should consider the other power options.
__________________
♫ John E,
Sprint Employee
John_E is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2011, 12:53 PM   #43
Silent Majority
Cordless Phone User
 
Silent Majority's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 6, '07
Posts: 511
Phone: Moto Admiral
Thanks: 12
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
SU$: 3,306
Quote:
Originally Posted by John_E View Post
Yes, that is correct. My emails come in slowly unless my phone is active. (So when I wake up the screen, I get my email messges.) This works for me but if you need to be able to respond quickly to email messages, you should consider the other power options.
Yeah I was hesitant to set it like this at first but it seems to be working fine for me for now and I'd appreciate that extra battery boost.

As for DC folks without the option to change the button mapping, I have DC listed on my account but for some reason I can still change the mapping. Just lucky I guess.
__________________
Blah.
Silent Majority is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2011, 03:06 PM   #44
starstrukk
live.laugh.lift
 
starstrukk's Avatar
 
Mood: Inspired
Join Date: Jan 8, '06
Location: where the sky ends
Posts: 1,035
Phone: iphone5time
Trades: 2
Thanks: 7
Thanked 39 Times in 36 Posts
SU$: 6,387
Quote:
Originally Posted by Silent Majority View Post
Yeah I was hesitant to set it like this at first but it seems to be working fine for me for now and I'd appreciate that extra battery boost.

As for DC folks without the option to change the button mapping, I have DC listed on my account but for some reason I can still change the mapping. Just lucky I guess.
O_O, I am so envious that you can remap your DC button while you have DC listed on your account!!
__________________
starstrukk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2011, 03:11 PM   #45
John_E
Telegraph User
 
John_E's Avatar
 
Mood: Cheerful
Join Date: May 20, '11
Posts: 11
Phone: Motorola Admira
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
SU$: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by Silent Majority View Post
Yeah I was hesitant to set it like this at first but it seems to be working fine for me for now and I'd appreciate that extra battery boost.

As for DC folks without the option to change the button mapping, I have DC listed on my account but for some reason I can still change the mapping. Just lucky I guess.
Can you check in your phone settings and post what software verions you are running?

I'm running:

Android: 2.3.5
Blur_Version: 55.11.15.xt603.Sprint.en.US
Kernel: 2.6.35.7-perf+
Build: 5.5.1Q-177_PAX-15
__________________
♫ John E,
Sprint Employee
John_E is offline   Reply With Quote
Go Back SprintUsers.com > Devices > Android (Google) Based Phones > Motorola > Motorola Admiral feedback

Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:26 PM.


- SprintUsers.com is not affiliated with or endorsed by Sprint PCS -