Join 200,000+ other SprintUsers for free at the #1 online community for Sprint cell phone customers! Win cool prizes in our weekly contests. Talk about the newest phones or post your question in our forums! Become a premium member and get unlimited Focus Uploads to your Sprint phone.

All visitors must register before they can post questions, contact other members or search our database of over 127,000 threads and 1.7 million posts. So what are you waiting for? Register for free today!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-23-2011, 04:49 PM   #1
ceff7711
Telephone User
 
ceff7711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 15, '09
Posts: 162
Thanks: 4
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
SU$: 895
3D Voicemail?

I have been receiving text messages after missed calls stating,:" xxx-xxx-xxxx has sent you a Sprint Voice Message. Call 408-970-0000 to listen."

When I call that # back it says I have no messages.

Any ideas? I have yet to receive the usual downloaded voicemail message.
ceff7711 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2011, 05:02 PM   #2
emtownsend
Mr. Gadget
 
emtownsend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 11, '05
Location: Post Falls, ID
Posts: 664
Phone: HTC EVO
Trades: 2
Thanks: 24
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
SU$: 914
Did you use a backup program that re-installed your voicemail?
I seem to remember that problem from an earlier root/ROM installation. I cannot remember how to get rid of that though! I will look though.

EDIT: Are you using Google Voice?
__________________
5 Lines on Everything Data Share 1500:
HTC EVO 3D Unlocked
LG Optimus S (Purple) stock
2x Sanyo Katana LX
1x Samsung M300
emtownsend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2011, 05:07 PM   #3
emtownsend
Mr. Gadget
 
emtownsend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 11, '05
Location: Post Falls, ID
Posts: 664
Phone: HTC EVO
Trades: 2
Thanks: 24
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
SU$: 914
Option(1):
- Settings/Applications/Manage Applications/Voicemail/Clear data
- This will wipe out your old Inbox messages but your filesystem will come clean

Option(2):
Some suggested to use Visual Voicemail Compose screen and send it to the following address: activate@vvm.sprint.com


I remember doing option #2 to fix mine at the time. Boy I love Google and forums... They have answers for everything (well almost)...
__________________
5 Lines on Everything Data Share 1500:
HTC EVO 3D Unlocked
LG Optimus S (Purple) stock
2x Sanyo Katana LX
1x Samsung M300
emtownsend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2011, 05:58 PM   #4
hilker09
Cordless Phone User
 
hilker09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 19, '07
Location: Crozet, VA
Posts: 671
Phone: HTC EVO 4G LTE
Trades: 1
Thanks: 43
Thanked 35 Times in 28 Posts
SU$: 6,521
I'm having the same issue on my Evo 4G. On hold with customer service now. As usual, no help so far. Stay tuned...

Sent from my EVO using SprintUsers Forum
__________________
Sprint Customer since 2003, 5 lines, currently loving my HTC One. Previous phones - Samsung Galaxy S3, HTC EVO 4G LTE, HTC EVO 3D, HTC EVO 4G, HTC Hero, BB Tour 9630, BB Curve 8330, BB Pearl, Palm Centro, LG-Muziq, Katana DLX, LG 550, Sanyo MM 5600, Sanyo 8200, Sanyo 8100
hilker09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2011, 06:13 PM   #5
hilker09
Cordless Phone User
 
hilker09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 19, '07
Location: Crozet, VA
Posts: 671
Phone: HTC EVO 4G LTE
Trades: 1
Thanks: 43
Thanked 35 Times in 28 Posts
SU$: 6,521
Quote:
Originally Posted by hilker09
I'm having the same issue on my Evo 4G. On hold with customer service now. As usual, no help so far. Stay tuned...

Sent from my EVO using SprintUsers Forum
CS tried to reset my vm, to no avail. Now she wants to do a hard reset. No, thanks. I really think thus is problem from Sprint's end, and not device specific. I'm not going through a hard reset to prove THAT wrong. Taking a stab in the dark is not in the cards for me tonight....

Sent from my EVO using SprintUsers Forum
__________________
Sprint Customer since 2003, 5 lines, currently loving my HTC One. Previous phones - Samsung Galaxy S3, HTC EVO 4G LTE, HTC EVO 3D, HTC EVO 4G, HTC Hero, BB Tour 9630, BB Curve 8330, BB Pearl, Palm Centro, LG-Muziq, Katana DLX, LG 550, Sanyo MM 5600, Sanyo 8200, Sanyo 8100
hilker09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2011, 06:52 PM   #6
hilker09
Cordless Phone User
 
hilker09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 19, '07
Location: Crozet, VA
Posts: 671
Phone: HTC EVO 4G LTE
Trades: 1
Thanks: 43
Thanked 35 Times in 28 Posts
SU$: 6,521
Quote:
Originally Posted by hilker09

CS tried to reset my vm, to no avail. Now she wants to do a hard reset. No, thanks. I really think thus is problem from Sprint's end, and not device specific. I'm not going through a hard reset to prove THAT wrong. Taking a stab in the dark is not in the cards for me tonight....

Sent from my EVO using SprintUsers Forum
After half an hour of this nonsense, they finally opened a ticket to advanced tech support.

Sent from my EVO using SprintUsers Forum
__________________
Sprint Customer since 2003, 5 lines, currently loving my HTC One. Previous phones - Samsung Galaxy S3, HTC EVO 4G LTE, HTC EVO 3D, HTC EVO 4G, HTC Hero, BB Tour 9630, BB Curve 8330, BB Pearl, Palm Centro, LG-Muziq, Katana DLX, LG 550, Sanyo MM 5600, Sanyo 8200, Sanyo 8100
hilker09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2011, 07:21 PM   #7
Faluzure
Telephone User
 
Faluzure's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2, '05
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 290
Phone: Galaxy S4
Thanks: 15
Thanked 8 Times in 6 Posts
SU$: 3,909
The last time I ran into this problem was when I rooted my Hero but at the same time, had an unheard voicemail prior to the root. I had issues with it ever since until I went back to stock. But seeing as how you can't root the EVO 3D yet... I'm not sure what the problem is. It's called "Phantom Voicemail" in the mod community.
Faluzure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2011, 01:30 AM   #8
deviation
Telephone User
 
deviation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 9, '07
Posts: 204
Thanks: 1
Thanked 9 Times in 7 Posts
SU$: 1,003
Sorry but can someone elaborate what this issue is about? My voicemail was setup to forward to my Google Voice number prior to switching to android(EVo3D). It should stay that way right?
deviation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2011, 07:35 AM   #9
ceff7711
Telephone User
 
ceff7711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 15, '09
Posts: 162
Thanks: 4
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
SU$: 895
Quote:
Originally Posted by deviation View Post
Sorry but can someone elaborate what this issue is about? My voicemail was setup to forward to my Google Voice number prior to switching to android(EVo3D). It should stay that way right?
Here is the issue. Mine is a non-rooted 3D. When someone leaves me a voicemail I get a text-message stating the following:

[B]//ANDROID:xxx-xxx-xxxx has sent you a Sprint Voice Message. Call 408-xxx-0000 to listen. MMSN,15ec8c0fc, 2326, V6, 9DYlqF/iT//CM/B]

I can long-press 1 on the dial pad and retrieve the voice message like that. But the Voicemail as I used to on my EVO 4G doesn't download them automatically to my phone. Also, when I call that 408 number there are no messages.
ceff7711 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2011, 02:06 PM   #10
hilker09
Cordless Phone User
 
hilker09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 19, '07
Location: Crozet, VA
Posts: 671
Phone: HTC EVO 4G LTE
Trades: 1
Thanks: 43
Thanked 35 Times in 28 Posts
SU$: 6,521
Quote:
Originally Posted by ceff7711

Here is the issue. Mine is a non-rooted 3D. When someone leaves me a voicemail I get a text-message stating the following:

//ANDROID:xxx-xxx-xxxx has sent you a Sprint Voice Message. Call 408-xxx-0000 to listen. MMSN,15ec8c0fc, 2326, V6, 9DYlqF/iT//CM/B]

I can long-press 1 on the dial pad and retrieve the voice message like that. But the Voicemail as I used to on my EVO 4G doesn't download them automatically to my phone. Also, when I call that 408 number there are no messages.
Are you using Handcent for text messages? I was, and a recent update allows you to make Handcent the default messaging app. When I disabled that, my voice messages worked fine. I plan to let Handcent know of this problem.

Sent from my EVO 3D using SprintUsers Forum
__________________
Sprint Customer since 2003, 5 lines, currently loving my HTC One. Previous phones - Samsung Galaxy S3, HTC EVO 4G LTE, HTC EVO 3D, HTC EVO 4G, HTC Hero, BB Tour 9630, BB Curve 8330, BB Pearl, Palm Centro, LG-Muziq, Katana DLX, LG 550, Sanyo MM 5600, Sanyo 8200, Sanyo 8100
hilker09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2011, 05:27 AM   #11
Balinor
Two Cans & String User
 
Balinor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 22, '06
Location: Margate, FL
Posts: 1
Phone: Samsung A900
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SU$: 19
WinMo Thank You!!

I have been searching for days trying to find the answer to my Visual Voice mail problem with my new Evo 3D. Disabling the Handcent Default Messaging application did the trick. Thank you again!!
Balinor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2011, 09:53 AM   #12
tbakergobuck
Tg1rL + Unicorn = Love
 
tbakergobuck's Avatar
 
Mood: Amazed
Join Date: Dec 2, '02
Location: Ohio
Posts: 29,625
Phone: Sleek No Bezel
Trades: 10
Thanks: 923
Thanked 600 Times in 512 Posts
My Mood: Amazed
SU$: 174,347
I use handcent sms and have no issue with my vvm with my 3D.

-Sent from BA's bushes using SprintUsers Forum-
__________________
No more broken promises from Dan Hesse.
tbakergobuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2011, 04:30 PM   #13
LowTide
Two Cans & String User
 
LowTide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 18, '09
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SU$: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by tbakergobuck View Post
I use handcent sms and have no issue with my vvm with my 3D.
Handcent does work fine just as hilker09 said, UNLESS you have edited the settings and checked the 'All(SMS & MMS)' setting in Settings -> Application Settings -> Default Messing application

Once you do that, you lose VVM.
LowTide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2011, 02:46 PM   #14
beni
Two Cans & String User
 
beni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 19, '11
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SU$: 10
I had the same issue and what was causing my problem was Mr. Number. That was the call blocking app. It somehow forced my vvms to go to sms through their service. I uninstalled it, uninstalled the sprint_vvm.apk and reset my phone. Once it restarted, I went into voicemail and composed a message to activate@vvm.sprint.com and then my vmails came in. Hope that helps. I strongly suggest removing any app that deals with calls/texts such as Mr. Number, Handcent and Google Voice.
beni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 09:03 PM   #15
bjbarr
Cellular Phone User
 
bjbarr's Avatar
 
Mood: Amazed
Join Date: Sep 6, '05
Location: kentucky
Posts: 2,184
Phone: Galaxy Note III
Trades: 8
Thanks: 71
Thanked 87 Times in 66 Posts
My Mood: Amazed
SU$: 30,843
Send a message via Yahoo to bjbarr
Quote:
Originally Posted by ceff7711 View Post
I have been receiving text messages after missed calls stating,:" xxx-xxx-xxxx has sent you a Sprint Voice Message. Call 408-970-0000 to listen."

When I call that # back it says I have no messages.

Any ideas? I have yet to receive the usual downloaded voicemail message.
It is a Google Voice thing. that is one reason I stop using it.
bjbarr is offline   Reply With Quote
Go Back SprintUsers.com > Devices > Android (Google) Based Phones > HTC > 3D Voicemail?

Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Phase 3 of iDEN voicemail upgrades begin 4/13 Duffman Prepaid Wireless Services & PTT 0 04-09-2011 11:10 AM
Non-Visual Voicemail Customers Lose Voicemail When Swapping to HTC EVO BASHBRO Sprint Discussion 4 06-13-2010 12:49 PM
Visual Voicemail is available Awake Windows Mobile (6.x and earlier) 270 12-15-2009 08:42 AM
No voicemail notification if roaming --- Any workaround? Star444 Android (Google) Based Phones 0 11-17-2009 06:34 PM
Voicemail going the way of the dinosaur - NOT SO FAST THERE! SNI.SRD Sprint Discussion 8 07-09-2008 10:30 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:04 PM.


- SprintUsers.com is not affiliated with or endorsed by Sprint PCS -