Join 200,000+ other SprintUsers for free at the #1 online community for Sprint cell phone customers! Win cool prizes in our weekly contests. Talk about the newest phones or post your question in our forums! Become a premium member and get unlimited Focus Uploads to your Sprint phone.

All visitors must register before they can post questions, contact other members or search our database of over 127,000 threads and 1.7 million posts. So what are you waiting for? Register for free today!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-29-2011, 03:28 PM   #1
turningwolf
SprintUsers Rock!
 
turningwolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 12, '08
Location: Sunny So Cali !
Posts: 398
Phone: IPhone 4S
Trades: 1
Thanks: 5
Thanked 10 Times in 8 Posts
SU$: 3,543
LG Optimus S shuts off on its own...

My Optimus S lately has been shutting itself off once every few hours, usually while i am doing something like browsing a website, checking my Fb, on the Sprintusers android app, etc... Has this happened to anyone? And yes, the battery is usually nowhere near empty when this happens.
__________________
Sero-P + a few awesome old-school FC lines.
turningwolf is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2011, 03:38 PM   #2
Duffman
Eh.
 
Duffman's Avatar
 
Mood: onvacation
Join Date: Mar 3, '10
Posts: 5,240
Thanks: 173
Thanked 794 Times in 476 Posts
My Mood: onvacation
SU$: 29,054
Quote:
Originally Posted by turningwolf
My Optimus S lately has been shutting itself off once every few hours, usually while i am doing something like browsing a website, checking my Fb, on the Sprintusers android app, etc... Has this happened to anyone? And yes, the battery is usually nowhere near empty when this happens.
Hard reset and see if it still does it. Standard troubleshooting with Android as it is rarely a hardware issue.
__________________
Sprint wants me to make this absolutely clear: “The postings on this site are my own and do not necessarily represent the positions, strategies or opinions of Sprint.” I just WORK for Sprint. In no way does Duffman represent them!
Duffman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2011, 04:16 PM   #3
turningwolf
SprintUsers Rock!
 
turningwolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 12, '08
Location: Sunny So Cali !
Posts: 398
Phone: IPhone 4S
Trades: 1
Thanks: 5
Thanked 10 Times in 8 Posts
SU$: 3,543
I'll try that. Thanks.
__________________
Sero-P + a few awesome old-school FC lines.
turningwolf is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 09:12 AM   #4
pinkaplz
Two Cans & String User
 
pinkaplz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 31, '11
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SU$: 32
I have had the same issue. Hard reaet does not do anything. Its the android software that's causing this issue. My brother has HTC aria on at&t network & his does same thing.
pinkaplz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 09:24 AM   #5
Duffman
Eh.
 
Duffman's Avatar
 
Mood: onvacation
Join Date: Mar 3, '10
Posts: 5,240
Thanks: 173
Thanked 794 Times in 476 Posts
My Mood: onvacation
SU$: 29,054
I will have to differ. This is not a widespread issue so I do not think that it is a defect of the Android software.
__________________
Sprint wants me to make this absolutely clear: “The postings on this site are my own and do not necessarily represent the positions, strategies or opinions of Sprint.” I just WORK for Sprint. In no way does Duffman represent them!
Duffman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2011, 02:07 AM   #6
davidstjohn1
Cellular Phone User
 
davidstjohn1's Avatar
 
Mood: Fine
Join Date: Sep 12, '06
Location: Brooklyn, Ct
Posts: 1,495
Phone: EVO 4G
Trades: 9
Thanks: 28
Thanked 56 Times in 44 Posts
My Mood: Fine
SU$: 21,597
usually what causes that is an out of memory issue. Its a safety mechanism so as not to lock up the phone. I would clear all cache in internet and clear all texts. maybe your using a lot of apps in a short amount of time, install task killer and set it to kill tasks every hour automatically. Also when u did a hard reset wait to add ur apps back and see if it still does it maybe its a bad app and u could add one app at a time to see if one app makes u have the issue.
davidstjohn1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2011, 08:20 AM   #7
Duffman
Eh.
 
Duffman's Avatar
 
Mood: onvacation
Join Date: Mar 3, '10
Posts: 5,240
Thanks: 173
Thanked 794 Times in 476 Posts
My Mood: onvacation
SU$: 29,054
Agree with everything except the task killer. Not necessary or helpful with 2.2. It will just run your battery down.
__________________
Sprint wants me to make this absolutely clear: “The postings on this site are my own and do not necessarily represent the positions, strategies or opinions of Sprint.” I just WORK for Sprint. In no way does Duffman represent them!
Duffman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2011, 11:30 AM   #8
Mish
Formerly known as KlutxyChix1
 
Mish's Avatar
 
Mood: Cheerful
Join Date: Jul 5, '10
Location: Georgia
Posts: 2,512
Phone: Samsung GS5
Thanks: 107
Thanked 78 Times in 70 Posts
My Mood: Cheerful
SU$: 9,750
Send a message via Yahoo to Mish
In that case I think the phone I get my parents will be the Evo after all, and not the Optimus. Or see what's announced tomorrow and get them that then trade phones
Mish is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2011, 11:46 AM   #9
davidstjohn1
Cellular Phone User
 
davidstjohn1's Avatar
 
Mood: Fine
Join Date: Sep 12, '06
Location: Brooklyn, Ct
Posts: 1,495
Phone: EVO 4G
Trades: 9
Thanks: 28
Thanked 56 Times in 44 Posts
My Mood: Fine
SU$: 21,597
Quote:
Originally Posted by Duffman View Post
Agree with everything except the task killer. Not necessary or helpful with 2.2. It will just run your battery down.
I agree no task killer is needed with 2.2 :-) Just trying to cover everything but 2.2 def has its own thing to run backround apps. and is extremely efficient.
davidstjohn1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2011, 11:51 AM   #10
KB112
Currently G'd up
 
KB112's Avatar
 
Mood: Breezy
Join Date: Dec 23, '08
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 2,181
Phone: LG G2
Thanks: 100
Thanked 117 Times in 109 Posts
My Mood: Breezy
SU$: 21,203
On a side note Apps2sd will show you what apps can be moved direct to your SD card. This will save internal memory on the phone. Also, it will clear your cache and free up space each time you run it.
__________________
Premier Gold...uh...nevermind.
ED 1500 w/6 Lines (LG G2 Rooted Stock, iPhone 5, Samsung GS4, Rumor Touch, Rumor & Samsung Replenish)
25% Corp Discount
KB112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2011, 09:25 AM   #11
xvs
Telegraph User
 
xvs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 27, '09
Posts: 60
Thanks: 4
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
SU$: 731
Same problem here. Optimus S spontaneously reboots.

I think it may, in fact, be a widespread problem.

And I'm nowhere near out of memory. I use a task killer and it reports free memory, never below 150M free.
xvs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2011, 10:13 AM   #12
davidstjohn1
Cellular Phone User
 
davidstjohn1's Avatar
 
Mood: Fine
Join Date: Sep 12, '06
Location: Brooklyn, Ct
Posts: 1,495
Phone: EVO 4G
Trades: 9
Thanks: 28
Thanked 56 Times in 44 Posts
My Mood: Fine
SU$: 21,597
could it infact be that u r using task killer that causes it? i dont use task killer and i havent once had a random reboot.
davidstjohn1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2011, 11:41 AM   #13
Duffman
Eh.
 
Duffman's Avatar
 
Mood: onvacation
Join Date: Mar 3, '10
Posts: 5,240
Thanks: 173
Thanked 794 Times in 476 Posts
My Mood: onvacation
SU$: 29,054
Quote:
Originally Posted by davidstjohn1 View Post
could it infact be that u r using task killer that causes it? i dont use task killer and i havent once had a random reboot.
Or some other app. Only way to be sure is to wipe the phone and see if it reboots spontaneously without any other apps.
__________________
Sprint wants me to make this absolutely clear: “The postings on this site are my own and do not necessarily represent the positions, strategies or opinions of Sprint.” I just WORK for Sprint. In no way does Duffman represent them!
Duffman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2011, 11:44 AM   #14
silenze
Telephone User
 
silenze's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 22, '08
Location: WI
Posts: 212
Phone: LG Optimus S
Thanks: 2
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
SU$: 3,350
Mine reboots as well
It doesn't happen a lot
But a few days ago it rebooted in the middle of a call
I don't use a task killer
silenze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2011, 12:22 PM   #15
Duffman
Eh.
 
Duffman's Avatar
 
Mood: onvacation
Join Date: Mar 3, '10
Posts: 5,240
Thanks: 173
Thanked 794 Times in 476 Posts
My Mood: onvacation
SU$: 29,054
If it happens intermittently (like days apart) on the stock software, it is unlikely to be fixed anytime soon as it is hard to reproduce. However, I have not seen a rash of either calls or store reports on this issue. So I think it is still an issue with individual phones (app, memory clogged, any number of things).
__________________
Sprint wants me to make this absolutely clear: “The postings on this site are my own and do not necessarily represent the positions, strategies or opinions of Sprint.” I just WORK for Sprint. In no way does Duffman represent them!
Duffman is offline   Reply With Quote
Go Back SprintUsers.com > Devices > Android (Google) Based Phones > LG > LG Optimus S shuts off on its own...

Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Keep the optimus? ravibhau LG 7 12-27-2010 01:31 PM
Typing on the LG Optimus! ajskhan LG 4 12-18-2010 02:05 PM
How to root the LG Optimus S Noodle LG 6 12-07-2010 07:55 AM
Optimus outperforms EVO... dishe LG 28 12-02-2010 04:48 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:18 PM.


- SprintUsers.com is not affiliated with or endorsed by Sprint PCS -