Join 200,000+ other SprintUsers for free at the #1 online community for Sprint cell phone customers! Win cool prizes in our weekly contests. Talk about the newest phones or post your question in our forums! Become a premium member and get unlimited Focus Uploads to your Sprint phone.

All visitors must register before they can post questions, contact other members or search our database of over 127,000 threads and 1.7 million posts. So what are you waiting for? Register for free today!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-05-2011, 06:39 PM   #1
steveymacjr
All EVO! Until WP7
 
steveymacjr's Avatar
 
Mood: Pregnant
Join Date: Sep 16, '03
Location: charlotte, nc
Posts: 1,566
Phone: Megaphone
Thanks: 5
Thanked 44 Times in 37 Posts
My Mood: Pregnant
SU$: 8,107
Sprint Coverage map changing

I dont know if anyone else has seen this...but in my January bill there was this little missive:
"Effective March 1, 2011, on-network coverage in portions of Montana, North Dakota, and Wyoming will change to roaming (off-network). Customers with a Sprint-branded device will be impacted when using services in the affected areas." Go to www.sprint.com/coveragechange for details..
Does anyone know why this is happening?
if you go to that address, you are redirected to http://support.sprint.com/support/ar...coveragechange
where you can see Coverage maps..and it looks like in those states listed Sprint will no longer have native coverage.
Maps:



This is important information because on the voice side AnyMobile ANytime only works when on the Sprint Network.
__________________

Last edited by steveymacjr; 01-05-2011 at 06:43 PM.
steveymacjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2011, 06:43 PM   #2
DJRider
Former SU Mod Grampus Misfire
 
DJRider's Avatar
 
Mood: Pensive
Join Date: Feb 4, '05
Location: Long Island NY
Posts: 15,845
Trades: 8
Thanks: 626
Thanked 734 Times in 568 Posts
My Mood: Pensive
SU$: 101,902
That doesn't look good!
__________________
Former SU moderator Grampus Misfire!
DJRider is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2011, 06:43 PM   #3
Offtrac
LoafofBread
 
Offtrac's Avatar
 
Mood: Yeehaw
Join Date: Aug 12, '08
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 371
Phone: HTC EVO
Thanks: 37
Thanked 17 Times in 15 Posts
My Mood: Yeehaw
SU$: 1,935
Wow, thats pretty significant.
__________________
HTC EVO (x2) ED 1500 w/ 25% Corp. Discount
Offtrac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2011, 06:46 PM   #4
DJRider
Former SU Mod Grampus Misfire
 
DJRider's Avatar
 
Mood: Pensive
Join Date: Feb 4, '05
Location: Long Island NY
Posts: 15,845
Trades: 8
Thanks: 626
Thanked 734 Times in 568 Posts
My Mood: Pensive
SU$: 101,902
That is going to screw every Sprint user in that area big time!
__________________
Former SU moderator Grampus Misfire!
DJRider is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2011, 07:22 PM   #5
G0AT
Sleepy Time!
 
G0AT's Avatar
 
Mood: Doh
Join Date: Feb 2, '06
Location: Cheyenne WY
Posts: 6,070
Phone: Galaxy S III
Trades: 12
Thanks: 15
Thanked 58 Times in 55 Posts
My Mood: Doh
SU$: 73,163
Send a message via Yahoo to G0AT Send a message via Skype™ to G0AT
Guess I'll be looking into another carrier.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Account Deleted View Post
I do everyone for free, but I might have to start charging 40 bucks per session.
G0AT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2011, 07:26 PM   #6
Duffman
Eh.
 
Duffman's Avatar
 
Mood: onvacation
Join Date: Mar 3, '10
Posts: 5,240
Thanks: 173
Thanked 794 Times in 476 Posts
My Mood: onvacation
SU$: 29,054
We had a reciprocal agreement with Alltel. Maybe it expired.
__________________
Sprint wants me to make this absolutely clear: “The postings on this site are my own and do not necessarily represent the positions, strategies or opinions of Sprint.” I just WORK for Sprint. In no way does Duffman represent them!
Duffman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2011, 07:31 PM   #7
DJRider
Former SU Mod Grampus Misfire
 
DJRider's Avatar
 
Mood: Pensive
Join Date: Feb 4, '05
Location: Long Island NY
Posts: 15,845
Trades: 8
Thanks: 626
Thanked 734 Times in 568 Posts
My Mood: Pensive
SU$: 101,902
Quote:
Originally Posted by DuffMan View Post
We had a reciprocal agreement with Alltel. Maybe it expired.
Probably since Verizon owns them now.
__________________
Former SU moderator Grampus Misfire!
DJRider is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2011, 07:32 PM   #8
GoldenBlaze
Account Locked
 
GoldenBlaze's Avatar
 
Mood: Relaxed
Join Date: Nov 15, '07
Posts: 3,101
Thanks: 208
Thanked 200 Times in 151 Posts
My Mood: Relaxed
SU$: 23,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by DuffMan View Post
We had a reciprocal agreement with Alltel. Maybe it expired.
Alltel is Verizon now, remember? This is NOT good.
GoldenBlaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2011, 07:41 PM   #9
G0AT
Sleepy Time!
 
G0AT's Avatar
 
Mood: Doh
Join Date: Feb 2, '06
Location: Cheyenne WY
Posts: 6,070
Phone: Galaxy S III
Trades: 12
Thanks: 15
Thanked 58 Times in 55 Posts
My Mood: Doh
SU$: 73,163
Send a message via Yahoo to G0AT Send a message via Skype™ to G0AT
Did Verizon sell some to AT&T. Here in Cheyenne where this is happening we have had quite a few Alltel branded stores pop up but they all look like AT&T stores. Orange.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Account Deleted View Post
I do everyone for free, but I might have to start charging 40 bucks per session.
G0AT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2011, 07:47 PM   #10
Duffman
Eh.
 
Duffman's Avatar
 
Mood: onvacation
Join Date: Mar 3, '10
Posts: 5,240
Thanks: 173
Thanked 794 Times in 476 Posts
My Mood: onvacation
SU$: 29,054
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJRider

Probably since Verizon owns them now.
Verizon has owned Alltel for some time. A condition of the purchase was that they had to let Sprint continue to use the network for some proscribed time. Perhaps that time has ended.
__________________
Sprint wants me to make this absolutely clear: “The postings on this site are my own and do not necessarily represent the positions, strategies or opinions of Sprint.” I just WORK for Sprint. In no way does Duffman represent them!
Duffman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2011, 07:54 PM   #11
Duffman
Eh.
 
Duffman's Avatar
 
Mood: onvacation
Join Date: Mar 3, '10
Posts: 5,240
Thanks: 173
Thanked 794 Times in 476 Posts
My Mood: onvacation
SU$: 29,054
I just checked. We did have a reciprocal agreement with Alltel in those states. So, yeah, it expired. Not worth building out those networks now with 4G and all. Sprint cannot spend that kind of cash on yet another war front. It needs to focus on increasing ARPU, 4G coverage, and profitability.
__________________
Sprint wants me to make this absolutely clear: “The postings on this site are my own and do not necessarily represent the positions, strategies or opinions of Sprint.” I just WORK for Sprint. In no way does Duffman represent them!
Duffman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2011, 07:55 PM   #12
G0AT
Sleepy Time!
 
G0AT's Avatar
 
Mood: Doh
Join Date: Feb 2, '06
Location: Cheyenne WY
Posts: 6,070
Phone: Galaxy S III
Trades: 12
Thanks: 15
Thanked 58 Times in 55 Posts
My Mood: Doh
SU$: 73,163
Send a message via Yahoo to G0AT Send a message via Skype™ to G0AT
Ghey.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Account Deleted View Post
I do everyone for free, but I might have to start charging 40 bucks per session.
G0AT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2011, 07:56 PM   #13
DJRider
Former SU Mod Grampus Misfire
 
DJRider's Avatar
 
Mood: Pensive
Join Date: Feb 4, '05
Location: Long Island NY
Posts: 15,845
Trades: 8
Thanks: 626
Thanked 734 Times in 568 Posts
My Mood: Pensive
SU$: 101,902
Quote:
Originally Posted by DuffMan View Post
I just checked. We did have a reciprocal agreement with Alltel in those states. So, yeah, it expired. Not worth building out those networks now with 4G and all. Sprint cannot spend that kind of cash on yet another war front. It needs to focus on increasing ARPU, 4G coverage, and profitability.
Wow they are going to lose a lot of customers in those 3 states for sure.
__________________
Former SU moderator Grampus Misfire!
DJRider is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2011, 07:59 PM   #14
Duffman
Eh.
 
Duffman's Avatar
 
Mood: onvacation
Join Date: Mar 3, '10
Posts: 5,240
Thanks: 173
Thanked 794 Times in 476 Posts
My Mood: onvacation
SU$: 29,054
I thought it was supposed to be for 10 years, though. And it was inked in 2006. Still wondering...
__________________
Sprint wants me to make this absolutely clear: “The postings on this site are my own and do not necessarily represent the positions, strategies or opinions of Sprint.” I just WORK for Sprint. In no way does Duffman represent them!
Duffman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2011, 08:01 PM   #15
rilharri
Account Inactive
 
rilharri's Avatar
 
Mood: Amused
Join Date: Aug 24, '08
Location: Indiana- Baby
Posts: 1,380
Trades: 2
Thanks: 1
Thanked 59 Times in 50 Posts
My Mood: Amused
SU$: 12,448
Yeah , those areas are former Alltel but now they are ATT....

They are pretty much forcing sprint off
rilharri is offline   Reply With Quote
Go Back SprintUsers.com > General > Sprint Discussion > Sprint Coverage map changing

Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
sprint coverage map is wrong jabwtv Rants, Debates, & Farewells - All Carriers 12 07-25-2010 11:07 AM
sprint and the m320 sh-99 Rants, Debates, & Farewells - All Carriers 9 04-20-2009 01:50 PM
Sprint and NFL Bring Fans New 'NFL Mobile Live' Application Free of Charge DJRider Football 1 08-18-2008 09:17 PM
Sprint Addressing The Churn Problem DJRider Sprint Discussion 34 07-09-2008 02:17 PM
Sprint Navigation (TeleNet) Audio Levels Tomas Sprint Discussion 0 10-16-2007 05:56 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:25 PM.


- SprintUsers.com is not affiliated with or endorsed by Sprint PCS -