Join 200,000+ other SprintUsers for free at the #1 online community for Sprint cell phone customers! Win cool prizes in our weekly contests. Talk about the newest phones or post your question in our forums! Become a premium member and get unlimited Focus Uploads to your Sprint phone.

All visitors must register before they can post questions, contact other members or search our database of over 127,000 threads and 1.7 million posts. So what are you waiting for? Register for free today!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 3 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 12-22-2010, 08:43 PM   #1
redwing_al
Telephone User
 
redwing_al's Avatar
 
Mood: Amused
Join Date: Jan 21, '08
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 135
Phone: Sanyo 7050
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
SU$: 1,189
Optimus s low in memory?

I havent had this optimus s long, but im already low on memory? What gives? Never, ever ran out of memory on my Hero??

Do i need a bigger card orndo i need to change a setting on the phone?

Annoying!
redwing_al is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2010, 09:01 PM   #2
MattWeed9
Go Steelers!
 
MattWeed9's Avatar
 
Mood: Breezy
Join Date: Nov 16, '10
Location: Pittsburgh PA,
Posts: 786
Phone: Samsung GS3
Thanks: 54
Thanked 110 Times in 41 Posts
SU$: 4,415
Send a message via MSN to MattWeed9 Send a message via Yahoo to MattWeed9
Do you have 2.2 on it? If so try moving apps to the SD card from settings, applications, manage applications.
MattWeed9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2010, 06:43 AM   #3
dribbs1
Telegraph User
 
dribbs1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 30, '10
Location: Morton, PA
Posts: 59
Phone: LG G2
Thanks: 3
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
SU$: 716
Send a message via Yahoo to dribbs1 Send a message via Skype™ to dribbs1
Sorry to hear about your issue with low memory. I am a Sprint employee and also have an LG Optimus S. My first question is: how many Sprint ID packs have you loaded on your phone? Although it can ideally take up to 5 packs (plus the MyID pack), each pack comes full of content. That content is directly installed to your phone, so it can very quickly deplete your phone's memory if you try to load 5 packs and/or are downloading a ton of apps and content from the market.

As mentioned in another reply, you can try to move some of your apps to the SD.... I will also search if you have the option of pushing all of your media (pix, music, videos, etc.) to the SD by default.

LMK how many packs you have loaded, and how much you've dl'ed / installed fromt he market?

Thanks!

D
dribbs1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2010, 06:58 AM   #4
redwing_al
Telephone User
 
redwing_al's Avatar
 
Mood: Amused
Join Date: Jan 21, '08
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 135
Phone: Sanyo 7050
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
SU$: 1,189
Thanks! I have 1 id pack running, if there is a way to move images to sd, that would maybe help.

Thanks
redwing_al is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2010, 07:29 AM   #5
dribbs1
Telegraph User
 
dribbs1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 30, '10
Location: Morton, PA
Posts: 59
Phone: LG G2
Thanks: 3
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
SU$: 716
Send a message via Yahoo to dribbs1 Send a message via Skype™ to dribbs1
Have you tried dl'ing any other apps or packs? Have u loaded up on anything (pix, vids, apps, etc.) Since u got it? I'll look into moving pix to the sd...
dribbs1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2010, 07:44 AM   #6
chiphead
Telephone User
 
chiphead's Avatar
 
Mood: Dead
Join Date: Sep 22, '09
Posts: 295
Thanks: 19
Thanked 32 Times in 21 Posts
SU$: 1,616
Use Titanium Backup and do a batch move Apps to SD card. Also if you're comfortable with installing custom recovery/roms, get the ThunderROM and you will have more space on your Optimus. Root is a given.

http://forum.androidcentral.com/lg-o...rc-sprint.html

http://forum.androidcentral.com/lg-o...14-2010-a.html

Last edited by chiphead; 12-23-2010 at 07:46 AM.
chiphead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2010, 11:30 AM   #7
.yaas.
Telephone User
 
.yaas.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 29, '06
Location: nyc
Posts: 127
Phone: HTC EVO Design
Thanks: 5
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
SU$: 869
I just received a low memory message the other day, after only having the phone about 2-3 weeks. The phone then deleted all of my text messages without even asking me to confirm which REALLY pissed me off. I even have the "delete old messages if memory is full" open unchecked, so why did it do it anyway? ugh It didnt even have *that* many texts in there.
__________________
Samsung sch3500 > LG tp5250 > Samsung a460 > Samsung vga1000 > Samsung vma680 > MotoKrzr k1m > Treo 700w > HTC Touch > HTC HERO >LG Optimus S > HTC EVO Design 4G
.yaas. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2010, 01:36 PM   #8
Nyckxd
Network Ninja
 
Nyckxd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 8, '09
Location: Florida
Posts: 264
Phone: iPhone 4s
Thanks: 13
Thanked 18 Times in 14 Posts
SU$: 3,750
I got this the other day when it told me that I was low. I checked and only had 20.00mb or so free. Go to Settings --> SD card & Phone Storage and try to keep the internal phone storage above 30.00MB.
Nyckxd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2010, 10:16 AM   #9
mr_human
Telephone User
 
mr_human's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 18, '08
Location: NYC
Posts: 185
Phone: Galaxy S4
Thanks: 10
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
SU$: 1,147
I got this disappointing message, too, after about a week. It's absurd for a phone like this to have such little onboard memory. I wouldn't care if you could move _every_ app to SD, but you can't unless I guess you root the phone.
mr_human is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2010, 01:13 PM   #10
indyalex
treo 700p
 
indyalex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 31, '06
Location: indiana
Posts: 764
Phone: Hero
Thanks: 81
Thanked 38 Times in 34 Posts
SU$: 7,013
You can also clear caches,this can clear up a lot of memory sometimes,also theres several apps.in the Market that do this,really handy-search cache cleaner in market.
indyalex is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to indyalex For This Useful Post:
mr_human (12-29-2010)
Old 12-29-2010, 01:49 PM   #11
mr_human
Telephone User
 
mr_human's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 18, '08
Location: NYC
Posts: 185
Phone: Galaxy S4
Thanks: 10
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
SU$: 1,147
Thanks, that helped a bit. Still below 30 megs in available memory. Love the phone otherwise, but it seems like a pretty big shortcoming, the low installed memory.
mr_human is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2010, 07:26 AM   #12
rush2112
Walkie Talkie User
 
rush2112's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 23, '05
Posts: 353
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
SU$: 1,158
I think it was built with the intention that all would move apps to the sd card for storage. The problem is that not all apps are movable. You would think with more 2.2 handsets coming out the developers of apps would update so that they can be moved.
rush2112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2010, 08:59 AM   #13
KAT
Digital PCS User
 
KAT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 8, '05
Location: Sunland, Ca
Posts: 3,239
Phone: Samsung m610
Thanks: 31
Thanked 69 Times in 63 Posts
SU$: 13,801
I've noticed that even when able to move a app to SD, you STILL use up a bit of internal memory everytime you do that.
__________________
LG Optimus S
KAT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2011, 09:10 PM   #14
twiztidXoptimus
Two Cans & String User
 
twiztidXoptimus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 29, '11
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SU$: 11
Also, another issue with loading apps to the SD card is if you power the phone off the apps will not load once the phone comes back on.
twiztidXoptimus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 04:57 PM   #15
dribbs1
Telegraph User
 
dribbs1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 30, '10
Location: Morton, PA
Posts: 59
Phone: LG G2
Thanks: 3
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
SU$: 716
Send a message via Yahoo to dribbs1 Send a message via Skype™ to dribbs1
Exclamation Memory issue with the Optimus

Please DM me with specifics on your LG Optimus S phone issue. I have had the same issue with my Optimus, and as an employee, I am working with Advanced Tech Support to gather information on this issue, research, provide feedback, and hopefully generate a solution.

Please do NOT reply to the thread. Send me a DM.

Thanks!

D
dribbs1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Go Back SprintUsers.com > Devices > Android (Google) Based Phones > LG > Optimus s low in memory?

Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Error code 107 and memory meme2 Windows Mobile (6.x and earlier) 3 07-05-2010 02:03 PM
What Will RIM Do About Memory Problems On The BlackBerry? Eyecon82 RIM BlackBerry Phones 3 11-20-2009 02:44 AM
Memory??? Col. Sanders RIM BlackBerry Phones 2 10-22-2009 06:29 AM
Internal Memory nausds Android (Google) Based Phones 27 10-01-2009 01:50 PM
when to install in main memory or mediacard? recithree Windows Mobile (6.x and earlier) 6 03-28-2008 07:01 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:31 PM.


- SprintUsers.com is not affiliated with or endorsed by Sprint PCS -