Join 200,000+ other SprintUsers for free at the #1 online community for Sprint cell phone customers! Win cool prizes in our weekly contests. Talk about the newest phones or post your question in our forums! Become a premium member and get unlimited Focus Uploads to your Sprint phone.

All visitors must register before they can post questions, contact other members or search our database of over 127,000 threads and 1.7 million posts. So what are you waiting for? Register for free today!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-08-2010, 08:26 PM   #1
Exoticklr
Telegraph User
 
Exoticklr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 24, '09
Location: MI
Posts: 11
Phone: HTC tp2
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SU$: 80
Google search not working? the magnifying icon...

I have been experiencing this for a week now...the magnifying icon on the front of the screen that searches the web is not working on the 3g service, when i switch it to wifi it works fine, also the Google search is not working if you go to the Google site, it tries to load the search query but kinda gets stuck....I have cleared the search history, cache and pretty much everything, restarted the phone many times no luck. Anyone else experienced this issue..
thanks
Exoticklr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2010, 09:12 PM   #2
tool2269
Rocket Surgeon
 
tool2269's Avatar
 
Mood: Ninja
Join Date: May 11, '04
Location: CC, TX
Posts: 3,289
Phone: Galaxy S3
Thanks: 143
Thanked 328 Times in 296 Posts
My Mood: Ninja
SU$: 18,772
Send a message via AIM to tool2269 Send a message via Yahoo to tool2269
Quote:
Originally Posted by Exoticklr View Post
I have been experiencing this for a week now...the magnifying icon on the front of the screen that searches the web is not working on the 3g service, when i switch it to wifi it works fine, also the Google search is not working if you go to the Google site, it tries to load the search query but kinda gets stuck....I have cleared the search history, cache and pretty much everything, restarted the phone many times no luck. Anyone else experienced this issue..
thanks
is this helpful at all? might not be.. http://www.evo4gforum.net/troublesho...-2-2-update!!/
__________________
it prints $^&*ing money!
best thread ever.. and it's continuance.
tool2269 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2010, 10:05 PM   #3
Exoticklr
Telegraph User
 
Exoticklr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 24, '09
Location: MI
Posts: 11
Phone: HTC tp2
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SU$: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by tool2269 View Post
is this helpful at all? might not be.. http://www.evo4gforum.net/troublesho...-2-2-update!!/
yes no help at all even after that....
Exoticklr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2010, 11:25 PM   #4
Beer Abuser
Buck extra the worth always is beer good
 
Beer Abuser's Avatar
 
Mood: Buzzed
Join Date: Aug 6, '08
Location: Bay Area...
Posts: 7,470
Phone: HTC PC36100
Thanks: 150
Thanked 542 Times in 423 Posts
My Mood: Buzzed
SU$: 64,496
Clear data / cache on app?
__________________

Never argue with an idiot - they'll bring you down to their level then beat you with experience.

Beer Abuser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2010, 07:14 AM   #5
Levi4u
Cordless Phone User
 
Levi4u's Avatar
 
Mood: Mellow
Join Date: Jun 27, '08
Location: Jackson,Michigan
Posts: 679
Phone: HTC EVO
Thanks: 1
Thanked 38 Times in 24 Posts
My Mood: Mellow
SU$: 2,942
It is being looked into, It's happening on a lot of Evo's and some Hero's. Hold tight, I'll post back as soon as I find out anything.

Edit - Posted on the Sprint forum by Admin;
Good morning all - Thanks for the reports. I did see an alert come out last night about a nationwide Evo 3G data issue; I don't have any more details but as I find out I will update.

Last edited by Levi4u; 11-09-2010 at 07:23 AM.
Levi4u is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Levi4u For This Useful Post:
Exoticklr (11-09-2010)
Old 11-09-2010, 11:34 AM   #6
Duffman
Eh.
 
Duffman's Avatar
 
Mood: onvacation
Join Date: Mar 3, '10
Posts: 5,240
Thanks: 173
Thanked 794 Times in 476 Posts
My Mood: onvacation
SU$: 29,054
It appears that there was something wrong with Google services with the Evo. Not sure if it is still occurring today, but last night we had multiple issues related to the Google servers... could not go to google.com, location not showing up on weather widget, unable to get into market, unable to sign into GMail account after resetting device, etc.
__________________
Sprint wants me to make this absolutely clear: “The postings on this site are my own and do not necessarily represent the positions, strategies or opinions of Sprint.” I just WORK for Sprint. In no way does Duffman represent them!
Duffman is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Duffman For This Useful Post:
Exoticklr (11-09-2010)
Old 11-09-2010, 11:52 AM   #7
Jaggrey
Affirmative Action Mod
 
Jaggrey's Avatar
 
Mood: Yeehaw
Join Date: Aug 20, '02
Location: Miami
Posts: 9,378
Phone: HTC One
Trades: 11
Thanks: 38
Thanked 48 Times in 45 Posts
My Mood: Yeehaw
SU$: 23,033
Send a message via AIM to Jaggrey Send a message via MSN to Jaggrey
It's not just an Evo thing; my Epic has been having the same problems for the same amount of time as well.
__________________
"If God brought you to it He'll bring you through it!"

R.I.P. lil bro... Jason Aggrey ~ 11/9/1989 - 10/3/2005

Welcome to Sprintusers!
If you see a post that violates our forum guidelines, click the button to let us know!
Jaggrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2010, 12:05 PM   #8
Levi4u
Cordless Phone User
 
Levi4u's Avatar
 
Mood: Mellow
Join Date: Jun 27, '08
Location: Jackson,Michigan
Posts: 679
Phone: HTC EVO
Thanks: 1
Thanked 38 Times in 24 Posts
My Mood: Mellow
SU$: 2,942
It's still ongoing, It is effecting Evo's, Epic's and some Hero's. No word on an ETA yet.
Levi4u is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2010, 01:34 PM   #9
Duffman
Eh.
 
Duffman's Avatar
 
Mood: onvacation
Join Date: Mar 3, '10
Posts: 5,240
Thanks: 173
Thanked 794 Times in 476 Posts
My Mood: onvacation
SU$: 29,054
Yeah, I suspected it could not be isolated to Evo's. That is just the majority of calls we are getting. I wonder if the other carriers are having the same issue with their Androids or if it is a problem with Sprint's gateway.
__________________
Sprint wants me to make this absolutely clear: “The postings on this site are my own and do not necessarily represent the positions, strategies or opinions of Sprint.” I just WORK for Sprint. In no way does Duffman represent them!
Duffman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2010, 01:41 PM   #10
Jaggrey
Affirmative Action Mod
 
Jaggrey's Avatar
 
Mood: Yeehaw
Join Date: Aug 20, '02
Location: Miami
Posts: 9,378
Phone: HTC One
Trades: 11
Thanks: 38
Thanked 48 Times in 45 Posts
My Mood: Yeehaw
SU$: 23,033
Send a message via AIM to Jaggrey Send a message via MSN to Jaggrey
What's weird is I know of some people on Sprint with Android that aren't having any problems. My friend just bought the Optimus thru that Radio Shack deal and she didn't mention anything.

Reminds me of my BB days when BIS would go down *shudder*
__________________
"If God brought you to it He'll bring you through it!"

R.I.P. lil bro... Jason Aggrey ~ 11/9/1989 - 10/3/2005

Welcome to Sprintusers!
If you see a post that violates our forum guidelines, click the button to let us know!
Jaggrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2010, 01:59 PM   #11
Levi4u
Cordless Phone User
 
Levi4u's Avatar
 
Mood: Mellow
Join Date: Jun 27, '08
Location: Jackson,Michigan
Posts: 679
Phone: HTC EVO
Thanks: 1
Thanked 38 Times in 24 Posts
My Mood: Mellow
SU$: 2,942
Mines back to normal, And reports are starting to slowly come in from others that theirs is also.
Levi4u is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2010, 02:11 PM   #12
Jaggrey
Affirmative Action Mod
 
Jaggrey's Avatar
 
Mood: Yeehaw
Join Date: Aug 20, '02
Location: Miami
Posts: 9,378
Phone: HTC One
Trades: 11
Thanks: 38
Thanked 48 Times in 45 Posts
My Mood: Yeehaw
SU$: 23,033
Send a message via AIM to Jaggrey Send a message via MSN to Jaggrey
yea mine has pushed the last few emails I got in Gmail. I'm cautiously optimistic!
__________________
"If God brought you to it He'll bring you through it!"

R.I.P. lil bro... Jason Aggrey ~ 11/9/1989 - 10/3/2005

Welcome to Sprintusers!
If you see a post that violates our forum guidelines, click the button to let us know!
Jaggrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2010, 02:20 PM   #13
Duffman
Eh.
 
Duffman's Avatar
 
Mood: onvacation
Join Date: Mar 3, '10
Posts: 5,240
Thanks: 173
Thanked 794 Times in 476 Posts
My Mood: onvacation
SU$: 29,054
Never had any problems with mine. I think it was an issue with Sprint's gateway.
__________________
Sprint wants me to make this absolutely clear: “The postings on this site are my own and do not necessarily represent the positions, strategies or opinions of Sprint.” I just WORK for Sprint. In no way does Duffman represent them!
Duffman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2010, 04:25 PM   #14
Exoticklr
Telegraph User
 
Exoticklr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 24, '09
Location: MI
Posts: 11
Phone: HTC tp2
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SU$: 80
So i guess many people are experiencing this, but the weird thing about is that it works fine over wifi...strange!!! One thing that its only with google search all the other search engines are fine. I use the Google search a lot during the day and cant wait for the fix...
thanks guys...
Exoticklr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2010, 04:30 PM   #15
Duffman
Eh.
 
Duffman's Avatar
 
Mood: onvacation
Join Date: Mar 3, '10
Posts: 5,240
Thanks: 173
Thanked 794 Times in 476 Posts
My Mood: onvacation
SU$: 29,054
I believe it works over WiFi because that circumvents Sprint's network... which I believe is probably the issue.
__________________
Sprint wants me to make this absolutely clear: “The postings on this site are my own and do not necessarily represent the positions, strategies or opinions of Sprint.” I just WORK for Sprint. In no way does Duffman represent them!
Duffman is offline   Reply With Quote
Go Back SprintUsers.com > Devices > Android (Google) Based Phones > HTC > Google search not working? the magnifying icon...

Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
google voice search jakewoodblues HTC 3 10-24-2010 10:59 PM
Google adds apps to mobile search Beer Abuser Android (Google) Based Phones 0 06-03-2010 03:49 AM
Google Ap not working on Tour darkloki BlackBerry Tour/Bold 96xx (Tour 2) Discussion 2 03-07-2010 01:23 PM
My Live Search is not working! Help! jcriss24 Windows Mobile (6.x and earlier) 7 12-07-2007 10:13 PM
Your Base Belongs to Google... << 8/31 Offbeat News of the Day >> DF@Work Watercooler 5 09-06-2005 12:44 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:15 AM.


- SprintUsers.com is not affiliated with or endorsed by Sprint PCS -