Join 200,000+ other SprintUsers for free at the #1 online community for Sprint cell phone customers! Win cool prizes in our weekly contests. Talk about the newest phones or post your question in our forums! Become a premium member and get unlimited Focus Uploads to your Sprint phone.

All visitors must register before they can post questions, contact other members or search our database of over 127,000 threads and 1.7 million posts. So what are you waiting for? Register for free today!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 26 votes, 4.81 average. Display Modes
Old 08-23-2010, 06:33 PM   #46
YPG
You down with YPG?
 
YPG's Avatar
 
Mood: onvacation
Join Date: Aug 26, '05
Location: Outer Space
Posts: 31,993
Phone: M1 for life!
Trades: 13
Thanks: 1,592
Thanked 285 Times in 253 Posts
My Mood: onvacation
SU$: 42,357
What are the Advance Exchange replacement options for the Sanyo 9000 and the Sanyo 2300?
YPG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2010, 06:59 PM   #47
aypanthony
Two Cans & String User
 
aypanthony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 23, '10
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SU$: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajac View Post
each line has its own agreement. So the second line would be renewed till 9/1/2012
Just to make sure I understand. If I opt for an early phone upgrade on my primary line, the second phone in the plan is screwed and has to wait another 2 years for the $150 discount?

Thanks, Tony
aypanthony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2010, 08:13 AM   #48
Rosatilt
Account Inactive
 
Rosatilt's Avatar
 
Mood: Chatty
Join Date: Nov 12, '08
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 743
Phone: LG Rumor Touch
Trades: 1
Thanks: 45
Thanked 43 Times in 36 Posts
My Mood: Chatty
SU$: -1
Quote:
Originally Posted by aypanthony View Post
Just to make sure I understand. If I opt for an early phone upgrade on my primary line, the second phone in the plan is screwed and has to wait another 2 years for the $150 discount?

Thanks, Tony
NO. When you upgrade line 1, line 1's contract extends. Line 2 does not change until you upgrade line 2.
Rosatilt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2010, 09:32 AM   #49
aypanthony
Two Cans & String User
 
aypanthony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 23, '10
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SU$: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rosatilt View Post
NO. When you upgrade line 1, line 1's contract extends. Line 2 does not change until you upgrade line 2.
Ok, Thanks
aypanthony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2010, 11:42 AM   #50
anskY
Hey! What the hell is ansky?!
 
anskY's Avatar
 
Mood: Cool
Join Date: Dec 27, '06
Location: Brooklyn
Posts: 1,599
Phone: Evo-licious!
Thanks: 52
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
My Mood: Cool
SU$: 8,274
Where do babies come from?

Haha just kidding..


I have an HTC EVO with TEP and it doesn't charge anymore. I brought it to a corp. store, and they wouldn't even look at it, and I have to go through insurance, even though *2 said the store should look at it. Which policy is correct?
anskY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2010, 11:54 PM   #51
pileosnafu
Cordless Phone User
 
pileosnafu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 15, '07
Posts: 653
Phone: 9650 & Epic
Thanks: 2
Thanked 31 Times in 30 Posts
SU$: 4,254
Quote:
Originally Posted by anskY View Post
...

I have an HTC EVO with TEP and it doesn't charge anymore. I brought it to a corp. store, and they wouldn't even look at it, and I have to go through insurance, even though *2 said the store should look at it. Which policy is correct?
Both:

Generally in charge issue the store is correct. However it is possible that you can ask the store to have a tech examine it and determine it if it a manfu issue, or a something from a over pressed power cable (not saying you did just using an example) but 99.5% of charge issues i've seen have been refered to insurance (Note I am not a tech, just looking to help resolve the issue)

*2 will generally refer you to the store, if they cannot fix the issue, unless you indicate something that would red flag to them insurance, such as Lost/Stolen, Cracked screen, "I dropped it in my pool and tried to listen to the radio underwater, then I placed it bag of rice and still doesn't turn on.."
__________________
Please note: The postings on this site are my own and do not necessarily represent the positions, strategies or opinions of Sprint
pileosnafu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2010, 11:47 AM   #52
tcrimsonk
Two Cans & String User
 
tcrimsonk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 25, '10
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SU$: 46
Hi, this is my first post on this forum. I tried some searching, but didn't find what I'm looking for, and hope you can help.

I have a Samsung Moment, that I got when it came out last November. I have the $59 plan, so I am not Premier. This means I'm not due for an upgrade until November 2011.

The Moment is very faulty. It has problems with inaccurate GPS location. Also, sometimes the proxemity sensor stops working, and I press buttons with my cheek while I'm in calls, often accidentially three-way dialing random other people.

The biggest problem is the way the radio locks-up every few days. The phone shows that it has service, but really doesn't. Incoming calls don't get through, and I have no way of knowing that I'm missing them unless I try to make a call and see that it doesn't go through. The only solution is to re-boot the phone. I work remotely, and this phone is how my office contacts me, so I'm going to get in trouble with work because of this.

I've also had the radio lock up while using Google Navigation. Basically what happens is, I don't get notified of the loss of service, but Maps doesn't update my location. So I end up driving down the highway, not being notified that I need to turn, etc. Again, the only solution is to reboot the phone which takes several minutes, then open Maps again, and re-enter my destination, and wait for it to calculate my route. This is REALLY inconvenient when I'm trying to drive, and have to get somewhere on time.

So I want to replace my phone. All of the issues I'm having with my Moment are well known, and common. I don't think replacing it with another Moment will solve the problem.

At this point, I want to be able to get the Epic when it comes out. I'm willing to pay for it, but I won't want to pay the $500 to get it un-subsidized. I just want to pay the same $250 that a new customer would pay. I also don't think it's fair to have to pay a $200 early termination fee for a phone that Sprint should reasonably know is faulty.

Is there any way to get Sprint to let me do this?
tcrimsonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2010, 10:54 PM   #53
bigchico68
I Use A Pager
 
bigchico68's Avatar
 
Mood: Mellow
Join Date: Oct 28, '08
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 4,555
Phone: HTC One M8
Trades: 1
Thanks: 374
Thanked 434 Times in 300 Posts
My Mood: Mellow
SU$: 28,334
Send a message via AIM to bigchico68
Quote:
Originally Posted by YPG View Post
What are the Advance Exchange replacement options for the Sanyo 9000 and the Sanyo 2300?
Not sure, I would have to pull up that model phone on someones account in eticket, so unfortuantely there is no way to know. If something is wrong with the phone then just go to a service center and if they can't fix it then they will AE it, You will probably get something like a katana.
__________________
Need Help/Advice Click HERE
Don't forget to say Thanks!!
Please note: The postings on this site are my own and do not necessarily represent the positions, strategies or opinions of Sprint.
bigchico68 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to bigchico68 For This Useful Post:
YPG (08-26-2010)
Old 08-25-2010, 10:56 PM   #54
bigchico68
I Use A Pager
 
bigchico68's Avatar
 
Mood: Mellow
Join Date: Oct 28, '08
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 4,555
Phone: HTC One M8
Trades: 1
Thanks: 374
Thanked 434 Times in 300 Posts
My Mood: Mellow
SU$: 28,334
Send a message via AIM to bigchico68
Quote:
Originally Posted by anskY View Post
Where do babies come from?

Haha just kidding..


I have an HTC EVO with TEP and it doesn't charge anymore. I brought it to a corp. store, and they wouldn't even look at it, and I have to go through insurance, even though *2 said the store should look at it. Which policy is correct?
If the pins in the port are bent or broken or if the port is broke from the board then yes you have to go through Asurion. If the port has just failed then they have to replace in the store through AE. The tech has to look at it though. They can not just say we can't check that out, go to asurion. Talk to a manager they will look at it.
__________________
Need Help/Advice Click HERE
Don't forget to say Thanks!!
Please note: The postings on this site are my own and do not necessarily represent the positions, strategies or opinions of Sprint.
bigchico68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2010, 12:16 AM   #55
pileosnafu
Cordless Phone User
 
pileosnafu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 15, '07
Posts: 653
Phone: 9650 & Epic
Thanks: 2
Thanked 31 Times in 30 Posts
SU$: 4,254
Quote:
Originally Posted by tcrimsonk View Post
Hi, this is my first post on this forum. I tried some searching, but didn't find what I'm looking for, and hope you can help.

I have a Samsung Moment, that I got when it came out last November. I have the $59 plan, so I am not Premier. This means I'm not due for an upgrade until November 2011.

The Moment is very faulty. It has problems with inaccurate GPS location. Also, sometimes the proxemity sensor stops working, and I press buttons with my cheek while I'm in calls, often accidentially three-way dialing random other people.

The biggest problem is the way the radio locks-up every few days. The phone shows that it has service, but really doesn't. Incoming calls don't get through, and I have no way of knowing that I'm missing them unless I try to make a call and see that it doesn't go through. The only solution is to re-boot the phone. I work remotely, and this phone is how my office contacts me, so I'm going to get in trouble with work because of this.

I've also had the radio lock up while using Google Navigation. Basically what happens is, I don't get notified of the loss of service, but Maps doesn't update my location. So I end up driving down the highway, not being notified that I need to turn, etc. Again, the only solution is to reboot the phone which takes several minutes, then open Maps again, and re-enter my destination, and wait for it to calculate my route. This is REALLY inconvenient when I'm trying to drive, and have to get somewhere on time.

So I want to replace my phone. All of the issues I'm having with my Moment are well known, and common. I don't think replacing it with another Moment will solve the problem.

At this point, I want to be able to get the Epic when it comes out. I'm willing to pay for it, but I won't want to pay the $500 to get it un-subsidized. I just want to pay the same $250 that a new customer would pay. I also don't think it's fair to have to pay a $200 early termination fee for a phone that Sprint should reasonably know is faulty.

Is there any way to get Sprint to let me do this?
A few questions then an answer based on assumptions (I know its wrong -- to assume -- but it based on the scanario you presented)

1. You stated your on the $59.99 plan and you have the Moment. The only way I know that is possible is to be an EPRP memeber:
Quote:
Originally Posted by http://delivery.sprint.com/m/p/nxt/epc/epclanding.asp
How frequently can I upgrade my device?
Everything Plus customers are part of Sprint's New For You program and qualify for a discount after only 12 months. The amount of the discount depends on the length of your contract and the number of months you have had your current device.
So then unless you haven't been a good paying customer (which can remove you from the program) you should get a yearly upgrade

2. Do you have the Andriod 2.1 update? That resolves a lot of issue?
3. Have you done a hard reset.
4. Do you do a battery pull everynight
5. Do you have Task Killer? --- If you do stop using it!
6. Do you have lots of Apps on your phone (remove the ones you don't use anymore)
7. Have you have the phone replaced?

Answer: Sprint doesn't make the phones. Most of the issues can be actully Samsung related and Sprint doesnt' really have to assit. But they do, so you don't have to send your phone to Samsung to be repair and wait 2 - 4 weeks. But that aside. I would suggest looking into your upgrade (Please note if you have EPRP you are obligated to the same upgrade policy on new phones as Employees -- don't hold me to that though as I do not generally deal with EPRP plans.) Also I would suggest looking at having your phone checked by a service and repair center. Getting your phone swapped for free (or even an upgrade push) to an Epic will be near impossible as Sprint tends to lock down any special pricing on the new hot phones. I do not work in a store and therefore cannot tell you what a Moment could be changed for, but I would advise any customer they will most likly get another Moment (if its your 1st swap or your 4th swap.) However if you have not had more then 3 exchanges in the past your chances of getting something else are very very very slim
__________________
Please note: The postings on this site are my own and do not necessarily represent the positions, strategies or opinions of Sprint
pileosnafu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2010, 02:30 PM   #56
lenny_go
Telephone User
 
lenny_go's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 7, '09
Posts: 133
Phone: Samsung Epic 4G
Thanks: 7
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
SU$: 1,513
What is the precise formula that Sprint uses to decide whether or not to assess the new $10 "advanced 4G device fee" for a given month?

For instance, if I had an Evo line and activated a Pre on it, would the 4G fee drop off? And after how long?
lenny_go is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2010, 06:51 PM   #57
pileosnafu
Cordless Phone User
 
pileosnafu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 15, '07
Posts: 653
Phone: 9650 & Epic
Thanks: 2
Thanked 31 Times in 30 Posts
SU$: 4,254
Quote:
Originally Posted by lenny_go View Post
What is the precise formula that Sprint uses to decide whether or I is not assess the new $10 "advanced 4G device fee" for a given month?
For instance, if I had an Evo line and activated a Pre on it, would the 4G fee drop off? And after how long?
The premier data fee of $10 is an esn locked fee. If you have the EVO or epic (come the 31st) or any other phone sprint tags in the future with said price plan, activated the system will force the $10 per evo/epic. If you swap an evo for a pre, the $10 will fall off prorated per day that the evo was not on the line.
__________________
Please note: The postings on this site are my own and do not necessarily represent the positions, strategies or opinions of Sprint
pileosnafu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2010, 04:38 PM   #58
DowntownSLugger
Telegraph User
 
DowntownSLugger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 10, '10
Posts: 32
Thanks: 7
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
SU$: 372
Ok I currently have a Sprint 450 ED plan.

I was planning to join a Family plan with 2 numbers on it and just bring my number over to the plan.


I already spoke to a Sprint person in store and he said I can join the family plan and keep the same number but all I would have to do is bring in my Account number, PIN, and a form of identification.

My dilemma here is

My phone is falling apart and I was looking into getting the Epic 4g.

Could I get the Epic 4g at 249.99 price since the family plan would simply be adding a new line and keep my number at the same time??
DowntownSLugger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2010, 04:41 PM   #59
ajac
Satellite Phone User
 
ajac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 3, '06
Location: norman oklahoma
Posts: 4,965
Phone: htc evo
Thanks: 30
Thanked 142 Times in 112 Posts
SU$: 34,956
Quote:
Originally Posted by DowntownSLugger View Post
Ok I currently have a Sprint 450 ED plan.

I was planning to join a Family plan with 2 numbers on it and just bring my number over to the plan.


I already spoke to a Sprint person in store and he said I can join the family plan and keep the same number but all I would have to do is bring in my Account number, PIN, and a form of identification.

My dilemma here is

My phone is falling apart and I was looking into getting the Epic 4g.

Could I get the Epic 4g at 249.99 price since the family plan would simply be adding a new line and keep my number at the same time??


Have them add a line and you buy the epic 4g like a new customer. Then port your number over and swap the lines. be warned if you do this do it at best buy radio shack or walmart or you will have MAJOR rebate difficulties
__________________
Epic touch sprint
Skyrocket AT&T

Location location location.
ajac is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to ajac For This Useful Post:
bigchico68 (08-29-2010), DowntownSLugger (08-28-2010)
Old 08-30-2010, 09:01 AM   #60
Musicman247
User and Abuser
 
Musicman247's Avatar
 
Mood: Amused
Join Date: May 8, '07
Location: TX, USA
Posts: 493
Phone: HTC Arrive
Thanks: 35
Thanked 59 Times in 47 Posts
My Mood: Amused
SU$: 4,763
Iconic Devices for F&F?

This may be considered off topic, but I was wondering if there had been any inside word on extending the Iconic Devices add-on to old F&F plans?
Musicman247 is offline   Reply With Quote
Go Back SprintUsers.com > General > Sprint Discussion > Sprint Rep/Tech here to help!! Part 2!!!!

Reply

Tags
questions, sprint rep, technician

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Message from Dan dmeier1231 Sprint Discussion 12 12-16-2008 02:41 AM
Sprint has Great Customer Service!! Just not when you call or email or chat lol psvillars Rants, Debates, & Farewells - All Carriers 3 09-19-2008 08:03 PM
Sprint Cup Mobile RANT carcat9911 Rants, Debates, & Farewells - All Carriers 0 05-11-2008 03:13 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:09 PM.


- SprintUsers.com is not affiliated with or endorsed by Sprint PCS -