Join 200,000+ other SprintUsers for free at the #1 online community for Sprint cell phone customers! Win cool prizes in our weekly contests. Talk about the newest phones or post your question in our forums! Become a premium member and get unlimited Focus Uploads to your Sprint phone.

All visitors must register before they can post questions, contact other members or search our database of over 127,000 threads and 1.7 million posts. So what are you waiting for? Register for free today!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 27 votes, 4.93 average. Display Modes
Old 08-12-2010, 02:31 PM   #1
Duffman
Eh.
 
Duffman's Avatar
 
Mood: onvacation
Join Date: Mar 3, '10
Posts: 5,240
Thanks: 173
Thanked 796 Times in 476 Posts
My Mood: onvacation
SU$: 29,054
New Airave available with data

Airave support says the new models that support EVDO data are out as of 08/08/2010.
__________________
Sprint wants me to make this absolutely clear: “The postings on this site are my own and do not necessarily represent the positions, strategies or opinions of Sprint.” I just WORK for Sprint. In no way does Duffman represent them!
Duffman is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Duffman For This Useful Post:
marctronixx (08-21-2010)
Old 08-12-2010, 03:17 PM   #2
mysticaldreams
Telephone User
 
mysticaldreams's Avatar
 
Mood: Ninja
Join Date: Jul 25, '08
Location: New Orleans, la
Posts: 248
Phone: Epic 4G
Thanks: 7
Thanked 15 Times in 15 Posts
My Mood: Ninja
SU$: 3,316
Send a message via MSN to mysticaldreams
Wirelessly posted (paviliona1250n: Opera/9.7 (WindowsMobile; PPC; Opera Mobi/35267; U; en; Presto/2.1.1))

wow!
__________________
Signature and picture do not meet SU rules.
Please follow guidelines before reposting
mysticaldreams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2010, 03:18 PM   #3
andre141
A Happy Verizon Customer since 10/14/11
 
andre141's Avatar
 
Mood: Chatty
Join Date: Nov 18, '04
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 2,531
Phone: iPhone 5S
Trades: 11
Thanks: 46
Thanked 157 Times in 137 Posts
My Mood: Chatty
SU$: 28,379
Anybody have one yet? How do we get it?

EDIT: I'm calling airave support now to try and get one

EDIT 2: Rep #1 Said its not available yet, but coming soon. Calling Back

EDIT 3: Rep #2 Said "Yes, the Airave PLUS is available now from your corporate Sprint Store"
__________________
My cell phone is my watch, alarm clock, appointment book, camera, flashlight, calculator, mailbox and so much more. Oh, and sometimes I talk on it too!

Last edited by andre141; 08-12-2010 at 03:31 PM.
andre141 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2010, 06:09 PM   #4
Duffman
Eh.
 
Duffman's Avatar
 
Mood: onvacation
Join Date: Mar 3, '10
Posts: 5,240
Thanks: 173
Thanked 796 Times in 476 Posts
My Mood: onvacation
SU$: 29,054
This is just what I heard from an Airave support tech. They may not be advertising it but it sounds like they are swapping them out with the new ones.
__________________
Sprint wants me to make this absolutely clear: “The postings on this site are my own and do not necessarily represent the positions, strategies or opinions of Sprint.” I just WORK for Sprint. In no way does Duffman represent them!
Duffman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2010, 07:06 PM   #5
Dan
Forever my Angel
 
Dan's Avatar
 
Mood: Relaxed
Join Date: Feb 6, '05
Location: western NY
Posts: 23,959
Phone: Verizon S7 Edge
Trades: 1
Thanks: 47
Thanked 753 Times in 616 Posts
My Mood: Relaxed
SU$: 129,291
I got an Airave PLUS sent to me, is this the "new" unit that they are talking about? It's build date was 7/2010
__________________
My angel is now an angel in heaven. 5/25/2000 - 12/5/2010. Rest in peace Alaina.
Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2010, 07:13 PM   #6
Duffman
Eh.
 
Duffman's Avatar
 
Mood: onvacation
Join Date: Mar 3, '10
Posts: 5,240
Thanks: 173
Thanked 796 Times in 476 Posts
My Mood: onvacation
SU$: 29,054
Sounds like it. Does EVDO work over it? (I am not sure it is Rev A).
__________________
Sprint wants me to make this absolutely clear: “The postings on this site are my own and do not necessarily represent the positions, strategies or opinions of Sprint.” I just WORK for Sprint. In no way does Duffman represent them!
Duffman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2010, 07:15 PM   #7
Dan
Forever my Angel
 
Dan's Avatar
 
Mood: Relaxed
Join Date: Feb 6, '05
Location: western NY
Posts: 23,959
Phone: Verizon S7 Edge
Trades: 1
Thanks: 47
Thanked 753 Times in 616 Posts
My Mood: Relaxed
SU$: 129,291
Quote:
Originally Posted by DuffMan View Post
Sounds like it. Does EVDO work over it? (I am not sure it is Rev A).
You know, I haven't tried it yet and my wife is on the phone now, so I cant tell who is doing the activity. I shall check later.

I know it looks slightly different than the ones I had previously seen with members trying to sell em.......
__________________
My angel is now an angel in heaven. 5/25/2000 - 12/5/2010. Rest in peace Alaina.
Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2010, 08:22 PM   #8
rilharri
Account Inactive
 
rilharri's Avatar
 
Mood: Amused
Join Date: Aug 24, '08
Location: Indiana- Baby
Posts: 1,380
Trades: 2
Thanks: 1
Thanked 59 Times in 50 Posts
My Mood: Amused
SU$: 12,448
Dan, is it a Samsung?

The EVDO replacement, is not a Samsung.
rilharri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2010, 08:37 PM   #9
Duffman
Eh.
 
Duffman's Avatar
 
Mood: onvacation
Join Date: Mar 3, '10
Posts: 5,240
Thanks: 173
Thanked 796 Times in 476 Posts
My Mood: onvacation
SU$: 29,054
It should allow you to connect to data at the same time she is on voice because like a tower, you have multiple freqs.
__________________
Sprint wants me to make this absolutely clear: “The postings on this site are my own and do not necessarily represent the positions, strategies or opinions of Sprint.” I just WORK for Sprint. In no way does Duffman represent them!
Duffman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2010, 08:39 PM   #10
Dan
Forever my Angel
 
Dan's Avatar
 
Mood: Relaxed
Join Date: Feb 6, '05
Location: western NY
Posts: 23,959
Phone: Verizon S7 Edge
Trades: 1
Thanks: 47
Thanked 753 Times in 616 Posts
My Mood: Relaxed
SU$: 129,291
Yeah, its a samsung.

I wonder if they will consider to swap it for me, or if its clearing out "old stock" for people who got a free one? Hell, it just came here a couple days ago, and while it is functioning, it wont show up on my router, stumping the airave tech support guy to no end.
__________________
My angel is now an angel in heaven. 5/25/2000 - 12/5/2010. Rest in peace Alaina.
Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2010, 08:44 PM   #11
Duffman
Eh.
 
Duffman's Avatar
 
Mood: onvacation
Join Date: Mar 3, '10
Posts: 5,240
Thanks: 173
Thanked 796 Times in 476 Posts
My Mood: onvacation
SU$: 29,054
Your router does not see the MAC address?
__________________
Sprint wants me to make this absolutely clear: “The postings on this site are my own and do not necessarily represent the positions, strategies or opinions of Sprint.” I just WORK for Sprint. In no way does Duffman represent them!
Duffman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2010, 09:17 PM   #12
sagamore
Telephone User
 
sagamore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 20, '03
Posts: 111
Phone: HTC Evo 4g
Thanks: 9
Thanked 11 Times in 6 Posts
SU$: 1,087
The new version is called the Airave Access Point. The user guide is here:
http://support.sprint.com/global/pdf..._sprint_ug.pdf. It does EVDO Rev. A. It supports up to six simultaneous voice calls, data sessions, or any combination of both.

Dan, the Airave Access Point is supposed to be between your cable modem and your router. There are two LAN jacks on the back of it, and you're supposed to plug your router into one of them. So the Airave Access Point is upstream from your router.

Last edited by sagamore; 08-12-2010 at 09:23 PM.
sagamore is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to sagamore For This Useful Post:
Duffman (08-12-2010), marctronixx (08-21-2010), ZiggyZ (08-18-2010)
Old 08-12-2010, 09:40 PM   #13
Duffman
Eh.
 
Duffman's Avatar
 
Mood: onvacation
Join Date: Mar 3, '10
Posts: 5,240
Thanks: 173
Thanked 796 Times in 476 Posts
My Mood: onvacation
SU$: 29,054
Great info Sagamore!
__________________
Sprint wants me to make this absolutely clear: “The postings on this site are my own and do not necessarily represent the positions, strategies or opinions of Sprint.” I just WORK for Sprint. In no way does Duffman represent them!
Duffman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2010, 09:55 PM   #14
sagamore
Telephone User
 
sagamore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 20, '03
Posts: 111
Phone: HTC Evo 4g
Thanks: 9
Thanked 11 Times in 6 Posts
SU$: 1,087
Thanks, Duffman.

The Airave Access Point also has a phone jack, which could be used for VoIP service, allowing you to plug a landline phone -- or even your whole house network of landline phones -- into the Access Point so your landline calls all go over the Internet. But it appears that Sprint's VoIP service is not available yet. (The manual refers you to www.sprint.com/airaveaccess for more information on this service, but that page does not exist.)
sagamore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2010, 09:58 PM   #15
Duffman
Eh.
 
Duffman's Avatar
 
Mood: onvacation
Join Date: Mar 3, '10
Posts: 5,240
Thanks: 173
Thanked 796 Times in 476 Posts
My Mood: onvacation
SU$: 29,054
I overheard an Airave support dude say "Yes, you can plug a phone into that jack and use it for home phone service". Must have been what he was talking about.
__________________
Sprint wants me to make this absolutely clear: “The postings on this site are my own and do not necessarily represent the positions, strategies or opinions of Sprint.” I just WORK for Sprint. In no way does Duffman represent them!
Duffman is offline   Reply With Quote
Go Back SprintUsers.com > General > Sprint Discussion > Network & Data Quality /Airave & Related Services > New Airave available with data

Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Brand New Sprint Airave r0fl Trading Post Archive 14 11-02-2009 01:24 PM
Canceling Data Plan with Smartphone qah661 Sprint Discussion 4 08-31-2009 04:26 PM
Data access issue WM6 devices quaff1976 Network & Data Quality /Airave & Related Services 26 06-17-2009 07:20 AM
how to get BB phone - no data plan needed rjk RIM BlackBerry Phones 14 04-07-2009 04:01 PM
Unlimited Data Plan= Free Data Roaming In Canada? Spruce da Bruce Sprint Discussion 8 06-02-2008 07:09 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:53 PM.


- SprintUsers.com is not affiliated with or endorsed by Sprint PCS -