Join 200,000+ other SprintUsers for free at the #1 online community for Sprint cell phone customers! Win cool prizes in our weekly contests. Talk about the newest phones or post your question in our forums! Become a premium member and get unlimited Focus Uploads to your Sprint phone.

All visitors must register before they can post questions, contact other members or search our database of over 127,000 threads and 1.7 million posts. So what are you waiting for? Register for free today!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 08-04-2010, 12:34 PM   #1
mmmbio1685
Walkie Talkie User
 
mmmbio1685's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 25, '08
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 310
Phone: Instinct
Thanks: 25
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
SU$: 1,628
NAI Setting

has anyone tried changing the NAI on the EVO?
When I had my samsung rant, in order to get usb tethering, all I had to do was to change the NAI address so that I would match the "user Name" address on the phone.

Can we do the same thing with the evo to get USB tethering??

I have noticed when I try to use usb tethering on my evo, I get error 67, it is the same error I would get on my Rant before changing the NAI address!!

Any idea on this topic?
mmmbio1685 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2010, 12:35 PM   #2
mmmbio1685
Walkie Talkie User
 
mmmbio1685's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 25, '08
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 310
Phone: Instinct
Thanks: 25
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
SU$: 1,628
Facbook txt msg notifications

I had signed up for sms notifications from facebook, but since last week I stop getting any from facebook (32665).
Anyone else has this problem?
mmmbio1685 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2010, 01:12 PM   #3
Duffman
Eh.
 
Duffman's Avatar
 
Mood: onvacation
Join Date: Mar 3, '10
Posts: 5,240
Thanks: 173
Thanked 794 Times in 476 Posts
My Mood: onvacation
SU$: 29,054
Quote:
Originally Posted by mmmbio1685 View Post
I had signed up for sms notifications from facebook, but since last week I stop getting any from facebook (32665).
Anyone else has this problem?
Start a new thread.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mmmbio1685 View Post
has anyone tried changing the NAI on the EVO?
When I had my samsung rant, in order to get usb tethering, all I had to do was to change the NAI address so that I would match the "user Name" address on the phone.

Can we do the same thing with the evo to get USB tethering??

I have noticed when I try to use usb tethering on my evo, I get error 67, it is the same error I would get on my Rant before changing the NAI address!!

Any idea on this topic?
Won't work unless you root. Your "username" is your NAI.
__________________
Sprint wants me to make this absolutely clear: “The postings on this site are my own and do not necessarily represent the positions, strategies or opinions of Sprint.” I just WORK for Sprint. In no way does Duffman represent them!
Duffman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2010, 01:14 PM   #4
MogulMan6800
Brain Waves
 
MogulMan6800's Avatar
 
Mood: Amused
Join Date: Sep 11, '07
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 46
Phone: Galaxy S3
Thanks: 8
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
My Mood: Amused
SU$: 452
mm,

I noticed that wired tethering via usb was no longer available as well: please refer to the following discussion:
http://www.sprintusers.com/forum/sho...d.php?t=210751
read page two second to last message from me. Essentially wired tethering has been added to the wireless tethering package, and now to access either function through sprint, you will need to pay 29.99.

You can ofcourse root your phone with a custom rom, or PdaNet/EzNet, or Unrevoked. I am abbreviating from that discussion. I hope this helps answer the question you are asking about changing the NAI setting.

Respectfully,
MogulMan6800

Last edited by MogulMan6800; 08-04-2010 at 01:15 PM. Reason: correction in text
MogulMan6800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2010, 06:17 PM   #5
Guest
 
BrettW's Avatar
 
Posts: n/a
SU$: 0
the nai in theory could be changed, i plan on tinkering with this sometime this weekend to see if changing the nai can get free sprint hotspot access :-)
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 03:18 PM   #6
mmmbio1685
Walkie Talkie User
 
mmmbio1685's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 25, '08
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 310
Phone: Instinct
Thanks: 25
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
SU$: 1,628
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrettW View Post
the nai in theory could be changed, i plan on tinkering with this sometime this weekend to see if changing the nai can get free sprint hotspot access :-)
Any new results??
mmmbio1685 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 03:44 PM   #7
Guest
 
BrettW's Avatar
 
Posts: n/a
SU$: 0
is it the weekend yet? lol!
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2010, 01:22 PM   #8
mmmbio1685
Walkie Talkie User
 
mmmbio1685's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 25, '08
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 310
Phone: Instinct
Thanks: 25
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
SU$: 1,628
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrettW View Post
is it the weekend yet? lol!
Did you get a chance to play with it? The weekend is over!!
mmmbio1685 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2010, 01:33 PM   #9
Nyckxd
Network Ninja
 
Nyckxd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 8, '09
Location: Florida
Posts: 264
Phone: iPhone 4s
Thanks: 13
Thanked 18 Times in 14 Posts
SU$: 3,750
I personally just use PDAnet. Yeah I didn't like the idea of paying for something that was free on my Rant but the difference is PDAnet isn't actually tethering. It's just creating a tunnel through an app to get internet. On my Rant I would not be able to send and recieve texts/phone calls but by using PDAnet I am currently getting internet on my laptop, streaming Pandora on the phone, and sending text's to my friends and gf using the PDAnet sms window that appears on my laptop (while streaming and web surfing).

Also PDAnet is on sale for under $20. I brought my lunch in today to help offset the cost since I bought PDAnet last week. Now I just need 3 more days of bringing lunch in to work and I'm not really spending extra money.
Nyckxd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2010, 02:11 PM   #10
Guest
 
BrettW's Avatar
 
Posts: n/a
SU$: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by mmmbio1685 View Post
Did you get a chance to play with it? The weekend is over!!
nope lol ended up out of town on a sudden unexpected family emergency but with luck if reminded ill try tonight (best reminder - send me a PM after 10pm PST so when i get home it will pop up on the site)
  Reply With Quote
Go Back SprintUsers.com > Devices > Android (Google) Based Phones > HTC > NAI Setting

Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Screen always on while charging" setting jefflam79 HTC 3 07-12-2010 01:39 PM
WTB: EVDO phone with no nai or a nai that can be disabled - $50 BrettW Trading Post Archive 9 07-24-2008 08:04 PM
Setting Opera Mini as Default Browser? MasterThief117 Sprint Discussion 1 09-04-2007 11:22 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:36 AM.


- SprintUsers.com is not affiliated with or endorsed by Sprint PCS -