Join 200,000+ other SprintUsers for free at the #1 online community for Sprint cell phone customers! Win cool prizes in our weekly contests. Talk about the newest phones or post your question in our forums! Become a premium member and get unlimited Focus Uploads to your Sprint phone.

All visitors must register before they can post questions, contact other members or search our database of over 127,000 threads and 1.7 million posts. So what are you waiting for? Register for free today!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-08-2010, 12:53 PM   #1
h34d55
Telegraph User
 
h34d55's Avatar
 
Mood: Buzzed
Join Date: May 12, '10
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 90
Phone: Galaxy Note 2
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
SU$: 578
Mms compression

I took a pic on the setting of 1mb and high quality. The pic properties show the size to be 380kb. When i try to send a mms its still telling me its to large and compress it to about
40kb. I have sent pics this size before on my tour, why is the evo stopping me. Second note, can we adjust the compression?
h34d55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2010, 01:27 PM   #2
Beer Abuser
Buck extra the worth always is beer good
 
Beer Abuser's Avatar
 
Mood: Buzzed
Join Date: Aug 6, '08
Location: Bay Area...
Posts: 7,470
Phone: HTC PC36100
Thanks: 150
Thanked 542 Times in 423 Posts
SU$: 64,496
Are you using stock sms? If so, try handcent.

Edit: Just tried chompsmsc& handcent, even with no limit compress, no go. Handcent did do the less compression, from 2mb to 200kb use email...
__________________

Never argue with an idiot - they'll bring you down to their level then beat you with experience.


Last edited by Beer Abuser; 06-08-2010 at 01:40 PM.
Beer Abuser is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Beer Abuser For This Useful Post:
tha187um (06-08-2010)
Old 06-08-2010, 01:31 PM   #3
EddiePCS
7 months itch.
 
EddiePCS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 22, '03
Location: Seattle Area
Posts: 680
Phone: EVO & TP2
Thanks: 4
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
SU$: 5,958
What's the limit on the EVO? The Touch Pro2's limit is 1MB, so I only need to compress them if they're any higher. Are you telling me that the EVO's MMS app can't send anything that big??? :-\
__________________
EVO and Touch Pro2 (mine) / EVO (wife's).
EddiePCS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2010, 01:41 PM   #4
Beer Abuser
Buck extra the worth always is beer good
 
Beer Abuser's Avatar
 
Mood: Buzzed
Join Date: Aug 6, '08
Location: Bay Area...
Posts: 7,470
Phone: HTC PC36100
Thanks: 150
Thanked 542 Times in 423 Posts
SU$: 64,496
On my hero, I had no issues with chompsms, I'll have to play tonight with my Evo and find other options...
__________________

Never argue with an idiot - they'll bring you down to their level then beat you with experience.

Beer Abuser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2010, 02:30 PM   #5
w7excursion
Hit Boy
 
w7excursion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 3, '05
Location: The Upper Room
Posts: 15,629
Phone: 007 N3
Trades: 10
Thanks: 313
Thanked 357 Times in 327 Posts
SU$: 114,904
Could be sprints fault.
__________________
WELCOME TO SERO PLATINUM Stop reading me!
w7excursion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2010, 03:12 PM   #6
Beer Abuser
Buck extra the worth always is beer good
 
Beer Abuser's Avatar
 
Mood: Buzzed
Join Date: Aug 6, '08
Location: Bay Area...
Posts: 7,470
Phone: HTC PC36100
Thanks: 150
Thanked 542 Times in 423 Posts
SU$: 64,496
This is what I'm thinking....
Beer Abuser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2010, 03:50 PM   #7
tha187um
Walkie Talkie User
 
tha187um's Avatar
 
Mood: Amazed
Join Date: Jun 20, '08
Posts: 449
Thanks: 7
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
SU$: 4,273
Im glad Im not the only one, this is ridiculous, how can my non 3G BB 8330m send way bigger size, better quality pictures than this state of the art phone? I am really disappointed. funny that the limit by default is set to 2MB but in my case I get between 15k to 25k compression, they look like crap. anyone has any more info on this?
tha187um is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2010, 04:08 PM   #8
tha187um
Walkie Talkie User
 
tha187um's Avatar
 
Mood: Amazed
Join Date: Jun 20, '08
Posts: 449
Thanks: 7
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
SU$: 4,273
Ok I sort of have found an answer, when I bought the phone, a class on basic usage was given at the sprint store, one of the things mentioned was that when sending a picture, you had to re-size it to no more than 3MP because some carriers wont support it and that the phone DID NOT compress the pictures, well we all know that's crap because the phone actually compresses the pictures way too much. I had tried down to 1MP with still getting a 15K compression, so I decided to do the lowest setting AND made it 4:3 instead of wide screen, and voila, you get 640x480 at about 160KB which still sucks, but far better compared to the compression it does on its own... again, it would be nice if the app automatically compressed it to 640x480 instead of the damn thumbnail size it does on bigger pictures.

so hopefully sprint won't be so stingy with their bandwith and make the pictures bigger on MMS, after-all, aren't we paying $10 for premium data???
tha187um is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2010, 04:10 PM   #9
tha187um
Walkie Talkie User
 
tha187um's Avatar
 
Mood: Amazed
Join Date: Jun 20, '08
Posts: 449
Thanks: 7
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
SU$: 4,273
Quote:
Originally Posted by EddiePCS View Post
What's the limit on the EVO? The Touch Pro2's limit is 1MB, so I only need to compress them if they're any higher. Are you telling me that the EVO's MMS app can't send anything that big??? :-\
on properties it says 2MB max... so go figure, my mms look like this: 25k/2000k used lol
tha187um is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2010, 06:57 PM   #10
h34d55
Telegraph User
 
h34d55's Avatar
 
Mood: Buzzed
Join Date: May 12, '10
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 90
Phone: Galaxy Note 2
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
SU$: 578
How do you make it 4:3??? This is bull crap, my pictures are coming in as tiny thumbnails....ARGGGG
h34d55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2010, 07:23 PM   #11
tha187um
Walkie Talkie User
 
tha187um's Avatar
 
Mood: Amazed
Join Date: Jun 20, '08
Posts: 449
Thanks: 7
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
SU$: 4,273
Quote:
Originally Posted by h34d55 View Post
How do you make it 4:3??? This is bull crap, my pictures are coming in as tiny thumbnails....ARGGGG
lol I know the feeling. ok go to the camera, settings, uncheck the wide screen 5:3 setting..

by the way, someone on the thread suggested handcent sms and WOW Im in love with the device now, dude SMS in bubbles, pictures are embedded into the sms instead of the annoying slide we get now, you can customize the color of the led, ringer, vibrate variations (by the way, is there a way to adjust vibrate variations on the phone?) the app is really awesome, try it out, you wont be disappointed. After you install it, go to the built in sms, settings, and disable notifications. good luck... Im sure you will enjoy it...
tha187um is offline   Reply With Quote
Go Back SprintUsers.com > Devices > Android (Google) Based Phones > HTC > Mms compression

Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Separate folders for SMS and MMS messages? DaveFJ80 RIM BlackBerry Phones 1 08-17-2009 02:35 PM
MMS Problem lotherius Network & Data Quality /Airave & Related Services 0 07-23-2009 07:06 PM
MMS require BIS? ibleedblue RIM BlackBerry Phones 2 05-15-2009 03:31 PM
Using MMS as SMS BlacKnight Network & Data Quality /Airave & Related Services 6 02-10-2009 07:22 AM
How to get ARCSOFT MMS to work perfectly on Sprint (Mogul) as of 12-12-08 KillerQ Windows Mobile (6.x and earlier) 2 12-13-2008 09:32 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:52 AM.


- SprintUsers.com is not affiliated with or endorsed by Sprint PCS -