Join 200,000+ other SprintUsers for free at the #1 online community for Sprint cell phone customers! Win cool prizes in our weekly contests. Talk about the newest phones or post your question in our forums! Become a premium member and get unlimited Focus Uploads to your Sprint phone.

All visitors must register before they can post questions, contact other members or search our database of over 127,000 threads and 1.7 million posts. So what are you waiting for? Register for free today!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 3 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 06-07-2010, 03:05 AM   #1
palipimpn
Telephone User
 
palipimpn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 18, '07
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 179
Phone: Samsung Epic 4G
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
SU$: 2,825
"Unable to find HTC Sync on your PC"

Can someone help me out? I have followed the directions in the manual on how to download and install HTCSync onto my PC, but I can not get it to work. I always get the message saying it is unable to find HTC Sync on my PC.....so what can I do now? I have tried uninstalling and re-installing the program numerous times, but still nothing works
palipimpn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2010, 03:16 AM   #2
Beer Abuser
Buck extra the worth always is beer good
 
Beer Abuser's Avatar
 
Mood: Buzzed
Join Date: Aug 6, '08
Location: Bay Area...
Posts: 7,470
Phone: HTC PC36100
Thanks: 150
Thanked 542 Times in 423 Posts
My Mood: Buzzed
SU$: 64,496
Xp? W7? Mac?
__________________

Never argue with an idiot - they'll bring you down to their level then beat you with experience.

Beer Abuser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2010, 03:22 AM   #3
etiger13
Web/App Developer
 
etiger13's Avatar
 
Mood: Cynical
Join Date: Mar 18, '04
Location: Martinez, CA
Posts: 2,088
Phone: iPhone
Trades: 23
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
My Mood: Cynical
SU$: 2,553
Send a message via AIM to etiger13
what do you want to use it to sync? ive been using android for over a year now and have not found a need for htc sync
etiger13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2010, 04:31 AM   #4
Norwester
Telephone User
 
Norwester's Avatar
 
Mood: Brooding
Join Date: Mar 6, '06
Location: Oregon
Posts: 194
Phone: Note 2
Thanks: 10
Thanked 12 Times in 10 Posts
My Mood: Brooding
SU$: 1,050
You're mounting your SD card as a USB drive?
Norwester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2010, 04:44 AM   #5
super-6-1
Telephone User
 
super-6-1's Avatar
 
Mood: Bored
Join Date: Oct 10, '08
Location: Virgina
Posts: 215
Phone: HTC EVO 4G
Thanks: 1
Thanked 8 Times in 6 Posts
My Mood: Bored
SU$: 1,167
Send a message via AIM to super-6-1 Send a message via MSN to super-6-1 Send a message via Yahoo to super-6-1 Send a message via Skype™ to super-6-1
you know the program was always on your SD card when you first got it.
__________________

EVO: DangerClose v3.2 rooted.

Touch the Thanks button like the evo if i helped
super-6-1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2010, 11:50 PM   #6
iotp
Telegraph User
 
iotp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 9, '07
Location: Phoenix,AZ
Posts: 68
Phone: Sprint EVO 4G
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SU$: 645
I downloaded the HTC Sync from the HTC website, but I dont think it yet supports the EVO. I would like to Sync my "contacts" from Outlook 2007 to my EVO. I had the sprint store do a push from my blackberry bold 9650 to EVO, but the address fields are all jacked. I would like to do a complete NEW push from Outlook 2007 to EVO.

Ideas? Again, contacts only.
iotp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2010, 11:54 PM   #7
luv2byte
Telephone User
 
luv2byte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 12, '06
Location: Washington
Posts: 231
Phone: Mogul 6800
Thanks: 7
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
SU$: 1,501
I dl'd it from HTC, no problems syncing except its slow so will probably still just use Companion Link to Google & my phone, and its wireless. Hubby installed from SD card, no problems. we run office 2007.
luv2byte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2010, 12:00 AM   #8
r_pad
Left Sprint for T-Mobile
 
r_pad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 4, '06
Location: Planet Awesome
Posts: 359
Phone: HTC Evo 4G
Thanks: 0
Thanked 16 Times in 9 Posts
SU$: 2,605
HTC Sync also has the official tethering solution if you're not down with EasyTether or PDAnet.
r_pad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2010, 12:01 AM   #9
Beer Abuser
Buck extra the worth always is beer good
 
Beer Abuser's Avatar
 
Mood: Buzzed
Join Date: Aug 6, '08
Location: Bay Area...
Posts: 7,470
Phone: HTC PC36100
Thanks: 150
Thanked 542 Times in 423 Posts
My Mood: Buzzed
SU$: 64,496
Quote:
Originally Posted by iotp View Post
I downloaded the HTC Sync from the HTC website, but I dont think it yet supports the EVO. I would like to Sync my "contacts" from Outlook 2007 to my EVO. I had the sprint store do a push from my blackberry bold 9650 to EVO, but the address fields are all jacked. I would like to do a complete NEW push from Outlook 2007 to EVO.

Ideas? Again, contacts only.
Two ways to go about it....

Edit current contacts via online gmail account.

Delete all contacts, uninstall sync from your computer, restart, hook up phone to it, mount, explore SD, install HTC sync from SD folder, then do the transfer.

This time, run sync on computer, then hook up phone and select option.
__________________

Never argue with an idiot - they'll bring you down to their level then beat you with experience.

Beer Abuser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2010, 07:50 PM   #10
OneOfOne
Jesus phone user
 
OneOfOne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 18, '05
Location: Springfield/MA
Posts: 114
Phone: HTC Evo 4G
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SU$: 1,217
Send a message via ICQ to OneOfOne Send a message via AIM to OneOfOne Send a message via Yahoo to OneOfOne
sync issues

searched to no avail so now I will ask. I have the latest htc sync app and it doesnt see my evo when I plug it in. tip said to run it as admin in win 7 but then what happens is after about 5 minutes you get a message that says it couldnt create a device manager instance or something like that. this is the version ending in .35 which is the latest and from what I have googled its hit or miss on this app. is there a better way to sync to the desktop preferably for free with my outlook or do we just wait for htc or for ms to create a driver for the evo 4? if there is one could you point me and anyone else with this issue to the fix/driver?
__________________
OneOfOne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2010, 01:15 AM   #11
iotp
Telegraph User
 
iotp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 9, '07
Location: Phoenix,AZ
Posts: 68
Phone: Sprint EVO 4G
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SU$: 645
Is there an easy way to delete the contacts from the EVO? I have currently 433 contacts in my Outlook 2007 folder. So you are saying in the following steps:

1. Delete contacts from EVO
2. Uninstall Sync from PC.
3. Restart
4. install HTC sync from SD
5. Then push from PC to EVO?
iotp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2010, 02:16 AM   #12
iotp
Telegraph User
 
iotp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 9, '07
Location: Phoenix,AZ
Posts: 68
Phone: Sprint EVO 4G
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SU$: 645
Downloaded the latest version from HTC's website. I deleted all my contacts from the EVO, then pushed them. 100% success, all 433 contacts and 83 calendar events.

You guys rock on these forums!
iotp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2010, 02:47 AM   #13
bernechad
Networking Wizard
 
bernechad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 25, '06
Location: IN
Posts: 166
Phone: EVO LTE
Thanks: 5
Thanked 26 Times in 18 Posts
SU$: 915
Another easy way of getting contacts onto your phone is to export them into vcard format, transfer them to memory card, goto people>menu>import and copy them over.
__________________
If you do things right, it will appear as if you've done nothing at all.
bernechad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2010, 08:17 PM   #14
iotp
Telegraph User
 
iotp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 9, '07
Location: Phoenix,AZ
Posts: 68
Phone: Sprint EVO 4G
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SU$: 645
I am finding that the HTCSync is SLLLLLLOOOOOOOWWWWW. Like an hour to update 82 updates? *** is up with that?

I am getting really frustrated about the Syncing. It should not take that long to process.
iotp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2010, 08:22 PM   #15
iotp
Telegraph User
 
iotp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 9, '07
Location: Phoenix,AZ
Posts: 68
Phone: Sprint EVO 4G
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SU$: 645
I have 2.0.33 installed and it synced fine last night, now a second time through today, its taking its sweet old time. Over an hour to do just 82 updates. Something has got to be wrong.
iotp is offline   Reply With Quote
Go Back SprintUsers.com > Devices > Android (Google) Based Phones > HTC > "Unable to find HTC Sync on your PC"

Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:07 PM.


- SprintUsers.com is not affiliated with or endorsed by Sprint PCS -