Join 200,000+ other SprintUsers for free at the #1 online community for Sprint cell phone customers! Win cool prizes in our weekly contests. Talk about the newest phones or post your question in our forums! Become a premium member and get unlimited Focus Uploads to your Sprint phone.

All visitors must register before they can post questions, contact other members or search our database of over 127,000 threads and 1.7 million posts. So what are you waiting for? Register for free today!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-19-2010, 11:11 PM   #1
.yaas.
Telephone User
 
.yaas.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 29, '06
Location: nyc
Posts: 127
Phone: HTC EVO Design
Thanks: 5
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
SU$: 869
Any way to NOT compress outgoing mms pics? (Hero)

in 1.6 outgoing pictures were compressed and I was able to send them just fine as long as they were the 1M size. I have Damagecontrol 2.07 flashed over and outgoing mms messaged get compressed so much and it was annoying. I thought it was maybe built into the custom rom, but it seems like it's on the official 2.1 release as well (which I haven't installed as I don't want to lose root access just yet).

Is there a way to get it back to not compressing my mms messages? I dont mind using a messaging app for it. Handcent and Chomp also compress them. I dont want to email every time I want to send a picture either.

I love having a camera that takes pictures in detail but now all that detail is lost. There isn't even an option to turn the compression off.
__________________
Samsung sch3500 > LG tp5250 > Samsung a460 > Samsung vga1000 > Samsung vma680 > MotoKrzr k1m > Treo 700w > HTC Touch > HTC HERO >LG Optimus S > HTC EVO Design 4G
.yaas. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2010, 01:12 AM   #2
SirRipo
Telephone User
 
SirRipo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 18, '09
Location: Green Bay Wisconsin
Posts: 233
Phone: HTC Hero
Thanks: 1
Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts
SU$: 2,790
I think it only compresses if the picture's over the 1M size. Tried turning your image size down to like 3MP?
__________________
Want the latest news on HTC's phones? www.htcsource.com

LG LX160>Sanyo S1>Samsung M320>Samsung Rant>Samsung Instinct M800>BB Curve 8330>HTC Hero
SirRipo is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to SirRipo For This Useful Post:
.yaas. (05-20-2010)
Old 05-20-2010, 02:26 AM   #3
.yaas.
Telephone User
 
.yaas.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 29, '06
Location: nyc
Posts: 127
Phone: HTC EVO Design
Thanks: 5
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
SU$: 869
heeeey that worked. Thanks

now I feel silly, hahaha. I guess since it used to send at the other side just fine I figured in the new version it should've done the same.
__________________
Samsung sch3500 > LG tp5250 > Samsung a460 > Samsung vga1000 > Samsung vma680 > MotoKrzr k1m > Treo 700w > HTC Touch > HTC HERO >LG Optimus S > HTC EVO Design 4G
.yaas. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2010, 05:32 PM   #4
SirRipo
Telephone User
 
SirRipo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 18, '09
Location: Green Bay Wisconsin
Posts: 233
Phone: HTC Hero
Thanks: 1
Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts
SU$: 2,790
No problem. I think the phone comea from the factory with it set to a lower image size, so it might not have ever been an issue before. At lwast, mine didnt start compressing until I turned up the image size, and it took me a while to figure it out.
__________________
Want the latest news on HTC's phones? www.htcsource.com

LG LX160>Sanyo S1>Samsung M320>Samsung Rant>Samsung Instinct M800>BB Curve 8330>HTC Hero
SirRipo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2010, 03:56 PM   #5
Hippie459MN
Two Cans & String User
 
Hippie459MN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1, '10
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SU$: 12
When my Hero was at 1.5 as long as the image was under 1mb it wouldnt compress the image and if it was over 1mb it would just tell me file size was to big. Now since I upgraded to 2.1 it resizes an image and I have it set to maz size 1mb and res set to 3mp and 90% of my files sizes are only about 700k and it still shrinks em down to average of 12k. They are so small you cant barley make em out. This is BS!!!

Any ideas how to fix this or disable the compression?
Hippie459MN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2010, 07:24 PM   #6
.yaas.
Telephone User
 
.yaas.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 29, '06
Location: nyc
Posts: 127
Phone: HTC EVO Design
Thanks: 5
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
SU$: 869
yes, someone said above to go into camera settings. there's a new setting right under 1m that works without compressing it so much.
__________________
Samsung sch3500 > LG tp5250 > Samsung a460 > Samsung vga1000 > Samsung vma680 > MotoKrzr k1m > Treo 700w > HTC Touch > HTC HERO >LG Optimus S > HTC EVO Design 4G
.yaas. is offline   Reply With Quote
Go Back SprintUsers.com > Devices > Android (Google) Based Phones > Any way to NOT compress outgoing mms pics? (Hero)

Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Required Plan Language: Pre vs Hero theswami SERO 3 10-11-2009 12:41 PM
MMS Problem lotherius Network & Data Quality /Airave & Related Services 0 07-23-2009 07:06 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:09 PM.


- SprintUsers.com is not affiliated with or endorsed by Sprint PCS -