Join 200,000+ other SprintUsers for free at the #1 online community for Sprint cell phone customers! Win cool prizes in our weekly contests. Talk about the newest phones or post your question in our forums! Become a premium member and get unlimited Focus Uploads to your Sprint phone.

All visitors must register before they can post questions, contact other members or search our database of over 127,000 threads and 1.7 million posts. So what are you waiting for? Register for free today!


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-28-2010, 05:50 PM   #1
NutFlush920
Technology Junkie
 
NutFlush920's Avatar
 
Mood: Yeehaw
Join Date: Jul 24, '08
Location: Green Bay, WI
Posts: 718
Phone: HTC Evo
Thanks: 5
Thanked 18 Times in 14 Posts
My Mood: Yeehaw
SU$: 7,313
No Flash on HTC Hero

I'm sure most have you have heard by now that the HTC Hero will NOT support Flash 10.1. http://androinica.com/2010/02/25/fla...ndroid-phones/

Question is, my wife just got her Hero 3 weeks ago from Best Buy because she was elegable for 22 month upgrade as of 02/01. Should she return it and hold out for the Supersonic to be realesed this summer? If she does return it, will her upgrade date go back to 02/01 as far as Sprint is concerned?
__________________
Talk/Message/Data Share 1500, free 6 PM Nights & Weekends, 5 lines of service, TEP on all phones, free Airave device and service, free Pick 3 on all lines, Premier White Glove member, corporate discount through employer, and proud owner of 200 shares of Sprint/Nextel Corp stock.
NutFlush920 is offline  
Old 02-28-2010, 06:00 PM   #2
aceofspades626
Telephone User
 
aceofspades626's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 12, '09
Posts: 207
Thanks: 16
Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
SU$: 1,290
Personally, the browser and 3G in general are too slow for me to much care about flash support.
If I'm doing something online that's requiring Flash support, I'm gonna go to a real PC.
More to the point: is your wife going to care?

Couldn't tell you about their policy on reinstating your upgrade eligibility once you've returned the new handset, but I can't see why they wouldn't. Technically after the return, you haven't upgraded any more.
aceofspades626 is offline  
Old 02-28-2010, 08:19 PM   #3
big_ole_truck
Cellular Phone User
 
big_ole_truck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 6, '08
Posts: 1,149
Thanks: 16
Thanked 73 Times in 71 Posts
SU$: 8,421
Yes, your wife could return the Hero to BB and have Sprint restore the upgrade eligibility and wait for the Superdupersonic to arrive.

Or the other option is she could continue with the Hero, and wait 1 yr for the next upgrade (because of the Sprint Premier status) while using the Hero.
__________________
Now ex-Sprint 12 year customer. Gone to dark side: T-Mobile. Data speeds are now awesome. Better calling areas too.
big_ole_truck is offline  
Old 02-28-2010, 08:53 PM   #4
NutFlush920
Technology Junkie
 
NutFlush920's Avatar
 
Mood: Yeehaw
Join Date: Jul 24, '08
Location: Green Bay, WI
Posts: 718
Phone: HTC Evo
Thanks: 5
Thanked 18 Times in 14 Posts
My Mood: Yeehaw
SU$: 7,313
Quote:
Originally Posted by big_ole_truck View Post
Yes, your wife could return the Hero to BB and have Sprint restore the upgrade eligibility and wait for the Superdupersonic to arrive.

Or the other option is she could continue with the Hero, and wait 1 yr for the next upgrade (because of the Sprint Premier status) while using the Hero.
I am the primary on the account and get the SP benefits. Whichever phone she chooses she is stuck with for 22 months.

Just trying to help her prepare for the next 2 years.
__________________
Talk/Message/Data Share 1500, free 6 PM Nights & Weekends, 5 lines of service, TEP on all phones, free Airave device and service, free Pick 3 on all lines, Premier White Glove member, corporate discount through employer, and proud owner of 200 shares of Sprint/Nextel Corp stock.
NutFlush920 is offline  
Old 02-28-2010, 09:42 PM   #5
reggie14
Telephone User
 
reggie14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 20, '08
Location: DC
Posts: 241
Phone: Evo 4G
Thanks: 9
Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts
SU$: 1,824
Perhaps even more surprisingly, it doesn't sound like the (alleged) upcoming HTC Hero 2 (Legend) will get Flash either. As far as I know, that has an ARM v11-based CPU, not an ARM Cortex or TI OMAP3 CPU.
reggie14 is offline  
Old 02-28-2010, 09:53 PM   #6
GoldenBlaze
Account Locked
 
GoldenBlaze's Avatar
 
Mood: Relaxed
Join Date: Nov 15, '07
Posts: 3,101
Thanks: 208
Thanked 200 Times in 151 Posts
My Mood: Relaxed
SU$: 23,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by aceofspades626 View Post
Personally, the browser and 3G in general are too slow for me to much care about flash support.
If I'm doing something online that's requiring Flash support, I'm gonna go to a real PC.
My sentiments EXACTLY!!!!
GoldenBlaze is offline  
Old 03-01-2010, 03:25 PM   #7
BK718
Telephone User
 
BK718's Avatar
 
Mood: outtolunch
Join Date: Jul 27, '06
Location: Spartanburg, SC
Posts: 169
Phone: HTC Hero
Thanks: 2
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
My Mood: outtolunch
SU$: 1,809
2.1 will support flash... which will be released before the "rumored" supersonic (which isn't scheduled to be released this summer)
__________________
CDMA Rooted HTC Hero
~DamageControl v2.08.1~
BK718 is offline  
Old 03-01-2010, 03:32 PM   #8
wkj
Walkie Talkie User
 
wkj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 20, '03
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 345
Phone: BB Style
Thanks: 10
Thanked 21 Times in 16 Posts
SU$: 750
Quote:
Originally Posted by BK718 View Post
2.1 will support flash... which will be released before the "rumored" supersonic (which isn't scheduled to be released this summer)
Yes, the OS will support Flash. The Hero's processor won't and I think the Moment and some from other carriers will not.

wkj
wkj is offline  
Old 03-01-2010, 03:41 PM   #9
BK718
Telephone User
 
BK718's Avatar
 
Mood: outtolunch
Join Date: Jul 27, '06
Location: Spartanburg, SC
Posts: 169
Phone: HTC Hero
Thanks: 2
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
My Mood: outtolunch
SU$: 1,809
Quote:
Originally Posted by wkj View Post
Yes, the OS will support Flash. The Hero's processor won't and I think the Moment and some from other carriers will not.

wkj
im just lettin the OP know that flash 10.1 WILL be supported once 2.1 comes out for the hero.. regardless of the processor.. i could care less about using flash with the processor we are on, but its still set to be supported for those who are interested in flash on a slower processor...
__________________
CDMA Rooted HTC Hero
~DamageControl v2.08.1~
BK718 is offline  
Old 03-01-2010, 05:34 PM   #10
Fat Tony
Uncle Tony
 
Fat Tony's Avatar
 
Mood: PMSing
Join Date: Aug 15, '04
Location: In a really nice house.
Posts: 740
Phone: SIII
Thanks: 21
Thanked 26 Times in 18 Posts
My Mood: PMSing
SU$: 4,348
The hero does not have a flash on it. A software update will not give it a LED or a bulb or a light on the back people. Geeeeez!

Kidding. I already did this in another post and I was serious.
__________________
“You can easily judge the character of a man by how he treats those who can do nothing for him.”
Fat Tony is offline  
Old 03-01-2010, 05:39 PM   #11
reggie14
Telephone User
 
reggie14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 20, '08
Location: DC
Posts: 241
Phone: Evo 4G
Thanks: 9
Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts
SU$: 1,824
Quote:
Originally Posted by BK718 View Post
im just lettin the OP know that flash 10.1 WILL be supported once 2.1 comes out for the hero.. regardless of the processor.. i could care less about using flash with the processor we are on, but its still set to be supported for those who are interested in flash on a slower processor...
Where did you hear that? Engadget reported that only devices with the newer Cortex A8 CPU would get Flash 10.1. And, as I said earlier, the Cortex A8 requirement means that even the Hero2 won't get flash 10.1.
reggie14 is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to reggie14 For This Useful Post:
wkj (03-01-2010)
Old 03-01-2010, 06:38 PM   #12
JimParks1
Telephone User
 
JimParks1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 29, '07
Location: Hagerstown, MD
Posts: 110
Phone: EVO 2.2
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
SU$: 612
Ah, so history is about to repeat it's self. When it is all said and done, if we want the full features of Android 2.1 we will have to buy a new phone. My Hero just won't be able to cut it. And probably won't even get the update to 2.1
__________________
G1000
PPC6600
PPC6700
I550/Mogul
Hero
EVO 2.2-Dell Streak-Galaxy Tab
JimParks1 is offline  
Old 03-01-2010, 07:41 PM   #13
NutFlush920
Technology Junkie
 
NutFlush920's Avatar
 
Mood: Yeehaw
Join Date: Jul 24, '08
Location: Green Bay, WI
Posts: 718
Phone: HTC Evo
Thanks: 5
Thanked 18 Times in 14 Posts
My Mood: Yeehaw
SU$: 7,313
So, what would ya'll do? Hold out and return the Hero or just live with no flash for the next two years?
__________________
Talk/Message/Data Share 1500, free 6 PM Nights & Weekends, 5 lines of service, TEP on all phones, free Airave device and service, free Pick 3 on all lines, Premier White Glove member, corporate discount through employer, and proud owner of 200 shares of Sprint/Nextel Corp stock.
NutFlush920 is offline  
Old 03-01-2010, 10:47 PM   #14
wkj
Walkie Talkie User
 
wkj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 20, '03
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 345
Phone: BB Style
Thanks: 10
Thanked 21 Times in 16 Posts
SU$: 750
Quote:
Originally Posted by NutFlush920 View Post
So, what would ya'll do? Hold out and return the Hero or just live with no flash for the next two years?
I guess you have to ask yourself.......Do I really need Flash? We've been running this long without it.........can't miss what you never had. (shrug)

And yes I know the Hero has Flashlight.

wkj
wkj is offline  
Old 03-01-2010, 10:48 PM   #15
Guest
 
BrettW's Avatar
 
Posts: n/a
SU$: 0
1 thread in the general android section is plenty http://www.sprintusers.com/forum/sho...d.php?t=203051
 
Go Back SprintUsers.com > Devices > Android (Google) Based Phones > No Flash on HTC Hero

Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Treo 700wx vs Mogul Prosdo Windows Mobile (6.x and earlier) 28 07-12-2007 09:45 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:12 PM.


- SprintUsers.com is not affiliated with or endorsed by Sprint PCS -