Join 200,000+ other SprintUsers for free at the #1 online community for Sprint cell phone customers! Win cool prizes in our weekly contests. Talk about the newest phones or post your question in our forums! Become a premium member and get unlimited Focus Uploads to your Sprint phone.

All visitors must register before they can post questions, contact other members or search our database of over 127,000 threads and 1.7 million posts. So what are you waiting for? Register for free today!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-28-2008, 07:11 PM   #1
Del1650
Telegraph User
 
Del1650's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 29, '07
Location: Kingsport TN
Posts: 81
Phone: m620
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
SU$: 615
Use phone as modem with xbox 360?

Right now i can hook up my phone with the usb cable and us it as phone as modem. Will i be able to hook it up to the usb connection on the back of my xbox and play online?
Del1650 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2008, 07:24 PM   #2
EpOxY
 
EpOxY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 4, '06
Posts: 668
Trades: 1
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
SU$: 2,676
i suppose it's possible, if you set up internet sharing with your laptop and get a crossover cable...

oh wait... i just reread your comment. no. ActiveSync is what makes that internet sharing happen. Your 360 doesn't have ActiveSync

(but the thing that I suggested might work... with the windows internet sharing. but i don't expect the speed to be good enough...)
EpOxY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2008, 10:09 PM   #3
RockfordRockets
BB PIN: 302CC0D6
 
RockfordRockets's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 15, '08
Location: Rockford, Minnesota
Posts: 268
Phone: RIM Curve 8330
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SU$: 1,670
Send a message via AIM to RockfordRockets Send a message via MSN to RockfordRockets Send a message via Yahoo to RockfordRockets
The speed is alright.. I used it. You have to share the internet to your computer using PDAnet software on your phone, and your phone only!! Un-install it on your computer. This will enable the dial-up modem service to radiate from your device. Then you can connect to your computer VIA bluetooth, or you can connect VIA USB cable. Then go to Start, Connections, then share the internet connection. Connect the computer to the Xbox then be happy. It's the slowest hi-speed internet you can get.. It's almost worth it, but for intensive data usage, your account might get flagged.
RockfordRockets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2008, 05:31 PM   #4
kruykaze
Telegraph User
 
kruykaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 17, '06
Posts: 54
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SU$: 175
What if I have unlimited data on my account?
kruykaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2008, 05:48 PM   #5
fakeguy
.
 
fakeguy's Avatar
 
Mood: Aggressive
Join Date: Jan 25, '06
Location: A city
Posts: 1,703
Phone: EVO
Trades: 1
Thanks: 35
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
My Mood: Aggressive
SU$: 7,985
Quote:
Originally Posted by kruykaze View Post
What if I have unlimited data on my account?
When you use enough data it's gonna raise a flag with them.
fakeguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2008, 05:53 PM   #6
kruykaze
Telegraph User
 
kruykaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 17, '06
Posts: 54
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SU$: 175
Quote:
Originally Posted by fakeguy View Post
When you use enough data it's gonna raise a flag with them.
So they will send me something?or will they charge me?
kruykaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2008, 05:56 PM   #7
fakeguy
.
 
fakeguy's Avatar
 
Mood: Aggressive
Join Date: Jan 25, '06
Location: A city
Posts: 1,703
Phone: EVO
Trades: 1
Thanks: 35
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
My Mood: Aggressive
SU$: 7,985
Hmm not sure. I don't really remember. Let me see if I can find some old threads.
fakeguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2008, 06:25 PM   #8
RockfordRockets
BB PIN: 302CC0D6
 
RockfordRockets's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 15, '08
Location: Rockford, Minnesota
Posts: 268
Phone: RIM Curve 8330
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SU$: 1,670
Send a message via AIM to RockfordRockets Send a message via MSN to RockfordRockets Send a message via Yahoo to RockfordRockets
I remember that one of the members on here got a text message basically saying cease and desist.
RockfordRockets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2008, 06:34 PM   #9
kruykaze
Telegraph User
 
kruykaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 17, '06
Posts: 54
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SU$: 175
Ah cool do we know what the limit is? Internet is getting hooked up on the 5th at my place
kruykaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2008, 06:47 PM   #10
fakeguy
.
 
fakeguy's Avatar
 
Mood: Aggressive
Join Date: Jan 25, '06
Location: A city
Posts: 1,703
Phone: EVO
Trades: 1
Thanks: 35
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
My Mood: Aggressive
SU$: 7,985
Quote:
Originally Posted by kruykaze View Post
Ah cool do we know what the limit is? Internet is getting hooked up on the 5th at my place
Not sure on what the limit is but you're better off waiting till the 5th. Besides if you're really competitive online it will be better anyways.
fakeguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2008, 07:59 PM   #11
Striker911
Cellular Phone User
 
Striker911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 29, '07
Location: ny
Posts: 1,477
Phone: 8330
Trades: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SU$: 12,907
I have done this with my blackberry pearl. i used the sprint connection manger. then went into setting on my computer and changed it to sharing and was able to play gears of war and call of duty good
__________________
Rate Plan:
Sprint:EDRP
Nextel:$20=3000 min
Striker911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2009, 08:55 AM   #12
Del1650
Telegraph User
 
Del1650's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 29, '07
Location: Kingsport TN
Posts: 81
Phone: m620
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
SU$: 615
What if i were to get a wireless adapter for the xbox, then could i connect with wmwifi router?
Del1650 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2009, 09:13 AM   #13
Del1650
Telegraph User
 
Del1650's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 29, '07
Location: Kingsport TN
Posts: 81
Phone: m620
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
SU$: 615
Figured it out

Well for those of you who want to know how to use your smart phone to connect you xbox, i finally found out how. After the phone is connected on internet sharing, go to network connections on your pc. Highlight the ethernet connection and the internet connection with the cell phone, right click and click bridge, oh and make sure your ethernet cord is already hooked up to the xbox. I did this last night and played all night, works great. Just thought id share.
Del1650 is offline   Reply With Quote
Go Back SprintUsers.com > Devices > Windows Phone > Windows Mobile (6.x and earlier) > Use phone as modem with xbox 360?

Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Touch 6.1 Phone as Modem mr2rismo Windows Mobile (6.x and earlier) 9 08-07-2008 02:15 PM
What can be done about this? NoService Rants, Debates, & Farewells - All Carriers 6 06-22-2008 11:18 AM
Can Mogul be used as a data modem & a Phone at the same time PeteC Windows Mobile (6.x and earlier) 3 02-28-2008 08:30 AM
Phone As Modem? Can you explain.... mikeshep 3G/4G Data Connection Devices 0 11-18-2007 10:23 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:43 AM.


- SprintUsers.com is not affiliated with or endorsed by Sprint PCS -