Join 200,000+ other SprintUsers for free at the #1 online community for Sprint cell phone customers! Win cool prizes in our weekly contests. Talk about the newest phones or post your question in our forums! Become a premium member and get unlimited Focus Uploads to your Sprint phone.

All visitors must register before they can post questions, contact other members or search our database of over 127,000 threads and 1.7 million posts. So what are you waiting for? Register for free today!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 3 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 10-18-2008, 10:12 AM   #1
IrishPilot
Telegraph User
 
IrishPilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 15, '08
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SU$: 61
Sprint BB Curve & 4.5 OS

Tried to update my new curve's OS to 4.5 only to be told by the BB software that it has the most current software available (4.3) Is this a sprint thing? Ive noticed most themes out there are 4.5 compatible. Is there a way to upgrade to 4.5 or should I even be concerned about it?

Thanks!
IrishPilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2008, 11:41 AM   #2
MsRandall
The SU Goddess
Retired Moderator
 
MsRandall's Avatar
 
Mood: Amazed
Join Date: Aug 19, '02
Location: The "Bay Area" Baby!
Posts: 10,879
Phone: 64gb iPhone 5s
Trades: 34
Thanks: 56
Thanked 358 Times in 242 Posts
My Mood: Amazed
SU$: 40,296
There are 4.5 betas and they have been listed here, you need to download and install on your phone. I am using 4.5.0.66 without issues. However rumor has it Sprint will be releasing 4.5 by the end of this month so you might want to wait... Searching would have yielded these threads

http://www.sprintusers.com/forum/sho...d.php?t=171592
http://www.sprintusers.com/forum/showthread.php?


You need to utilize the search feature before posting new threads. First it helps keep SU organized and secondly it gives you immediate answers to your questions....
__________________
A Happy Verizon customer as of 7/16/12 - Our romance is sooo sweet Enjoying my iPhone 6s+ 128gb Space Grey.


Blessed to have my Mother as my guardian angel since 12/19/06..I love and miss you so much!!!!

Last edited by MsRandall; 10-18-2008 at 11:48 AM.
MsRandall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2008, 07:31 AM   #3
IrishPilot
Telegraph User
 
IrishPilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 15, '08
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SU$: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by MsRandall View Post
There are 4.5 betas and they have been listed here, you need to download and install on your phone. I am using 4.5.0.66 without issues. However rumor has it Sprint will be releasing 4.5 by the end of this month so you might want to wait... Searching would have yielded these threads

http://www.sprintusers.com/forum/sho...d.php?t=171592
http://www.sprintusers.com/forum/showthread.php?


You need to utilize the search feature before posting new threads. First it helps keep SU organized and secondly it gives you immediate answers to your questions....
My apologies. I tried "operating", "Operating system", and a few others in the search function to no avail.
IrishPilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2008, 10:10 AM   #4
jessep28
That's Numberwang!
 
jessep28's Avatar
 
Mood: Amused
Join Date: Apr 23, '07
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 9,054
Phone: HTC One M8
Thanks: 63
Thanked 311 Times in 284 Posts
My Mood: Amused
SU$: 68,326
http://www.blackberryforums.com/gene...ilanguage.html

4.5.0.77 is the latest official release for the 8330 on a couple carriers. The trick with installing other carriers operating systems is that you have to delete the vendor.xml file.

Check out the above link if you wish and follow the instructions to the "t." The whole process should take about 30-60 minutes depending on how much needs to be backed up.
jessep28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2008, 10:19 AM   #5
MsRandall
The SU Goddess
Retired Moderator
 
MsRandall's Avatar
 
Mood: Amazed
Join Date: Aug 19, '02
Location: The "Bay Area" Baby!
Posts: 10,879
Phone: 64gb iPhone 5s
Trades: 34
Thanks: 56
Thanked 358 Times in 242 Posts
My Mood: Amazed
SU$: 40,296
In the first link I posted the vendor file is deleted I believe and it is 4.5.0.77
__________________
A Happy Verizon customer as of 7/16/12 - Our romance is sooo sweet Enjoying my iPhone 6s+ 128gb Space Grey.


Blessed to have my Mother as my guardian angel since 12/19/06..I love and miss you so much!!!!
MsRandall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2008, 06:38 PM   #6
oshopboy
Two Cans & String User
 
oshopboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 7, '07
Location: Pittsburgh, Pa.
Posts: 1
Phone: 8400
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SU$: 16
switch application

using 4.5.0.77 on my curve, have lost the "switch application" option from the menu in the application screen. I've tried to reinstall with the same result, anyone else experience this or have a fix.
oshopboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2008, 02:21 AM   #7
TvTech
Crackberry Addict
 
TvTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 11, '07
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 675
Phone: BB Curve
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SU$: 6,312
The latest is over on Crackberry Forums... http://forums.crackberry.com/f70/bad...s-4-5-a-88669/

Guy claims he spoke with reliable inside sources.
__________________
Blackberry Curve 8330
Everything 450
TvTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2008, 07:05 PM   #8
Complex757
BB Curve User
 
Complex757's Avatar
 
Mood: Yeehaw
Join Date: Dec 3, '06
Location: VA
Posts: 515
Phone: Iphone 5s
Thanks: 70
Thanked 11 Times in 9 Posts
My Mood: Yeehaw
SU$: 2,806
For those of you already running it, what are the differences/updates?
__________________
green Sprint Kyocera phone(incredible hulk) -> Samsung SPH-N400 -> Sanyo 8200 -> Sanyo Katana -> Sanyo 8400 -> Palm Centro -> BB Curve -> HTC Hero -> HTC Evo 4G -> HTC Evo 3D -> HTC Evo 4G LTE -> iPhone 5s
Complex757 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2008, 11:40 PM   #9
slingbox
Blackberry Curve User
 
slingbox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2, '08
Posts: 694
Phone: BB Curve Red
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SU$: 8,057
Quote:
Originally Posted by TvTech View Post
The latest is over on Crackberry Forums... http://forums.crackberry.com/f70/bad...s-4-5-a-88669/

Guy claims he spoke with reliable inside sources.
That CRAP lawsuit pisses me off.
__________________
Any misspellings or grammatical errors in the above statement are intentional, they are placed there for the enjoyment of those who like to point them out. Above post is also my personal opinion, not an official position on behalf of Sprintusers Enjoy.

.
slingbox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2008, 07:41 PM   #10
str8bacardil
Blackberry Curve
 
str8bacardil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 10, '03
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 271
Phone: Curve, i850
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SU$: 3,296
Send a message via AIM to str8bacardil
Just an FYI for anyone thinking of installing the BETA (unofficial) release.

I put it on my curve and it worked great but it would power cycle abruptly after a week or so and my BES (blackberry enterprise server) would never activate again.

I tried a gazillion different things to get this to work but it never would activate again. The guy who handles my BES service/exchange email got it to activate on another phone pretty much proving my phone was FUBAR.

I downgraded to 4.3 tried again and no luck so I had to exchange the phone under warranty service.

The reason for me posting this was for anyone who might use BES I would recommend waiting for the official upgrade so you can get support.
__________________
...waits for a new BlackBerry w/Direct Connect.
str8bacardil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2008, 07:46 PM   #11
str8bacardil
Blackberry Curve
 
str8bacardil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 10, '03
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 271
Phone: Curve, i850
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SU$: 3,296
Send a message via AIM to str8bacardil
Quote:
Apparently there is an issue with reliability and CDMA, that Sprint isn't happy with.
Wonder if the BES/powercycle issue is the reason why?
__________________
...waits for a new BlackBerry w/Direct Connect.
str8bacardil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2008, 12:24 PM   #12
halfdriven
Telephone User
 
halfdriven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 16, '06
Location: KC, Kansas
Posts: 227
Phone: XT925 897 912
Thanks: 2
Thanked 16 Times in 14 Posts
SU$: 1,066
so far I have had no issues with Sprints 4.5 for the curve, never had my BES powercycle
halfdriven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2008, 12:51 PM   #13
SteveMondragon
 
SteveMondragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 24, '07
Location: LA
Posts: 149
Phone: 8830 | 9000
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SU$: 2,905
nevermind... wrong phone

Last edited by SteveMondragon; 11-24-2008 at 12:54 PM.
SteveMondragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Go Back SprintUsers.com > Devices > RIM BlackBerry Phones > Sprint BB Curve & 4.5 OS

Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sprint Loses Returned Phones... rdwing Rants, Debates, & Farewells - All Carriers 43 09-15-2009 12:04 PM
Sprint problems, renewed my 2 year contract dcmxc Sprint Discussion 3 07-14-2008 12:09 AM
Anybody know why Sprint TV doesn't work on Curve? livingaboard RIM BlackBerry Phones 10 06-17-2008 02:37 PM
Sprint can't even send me a Curve livingaboard RIM BlackBerry Phones 2 06-04-2008 11:59 AM
Sprint's double whammy attempt with Sprint Navigation dr_snoot Rants, Debates, & Farewells - All Carriers 18 03-20-2008 07:31 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:47 PM.


- SprintUsers.com is not affiliated with or endorsed by Sprint PCS -