Join 200,000+ other SprintUsers for free at the #1 online community for Sprint cell phone customers! Win cool prizes in our weekly contests. Talk about the newest phones or post your question in our forums! Become a premium member and get unlimited Focus Uploads to your Sprint phone.

All visitors must register before they can post questions, contact other members or search our database of over 127,000 threads and 1.7 million posts. So what are you waiting for? Register for free today!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 08-05-2008, 01:08 PM   #1
mynamewastaken
Cordless Phone User
 
mynamewastaken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 30, '08
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 674
Phone: HTC EVO 4G!
Thanks: 16
Thanked 32 Times in 22 Posts
SU$: 4,210
Switching 2 numbers between 2 phones

Sorry if this has been asked before, but search is down right now... (connection to localhost:3312 failed)

I have two phones, each with it's own number, both on the same Sprint account. One is a 6700 (let's say it's number is 555-111-1000) and one is a 6800 (let's say it's number is 555-222-2000). What I want to do is swap the numbers so the 6800 becomes 555-111-1000 and the 6700 becomes 555-222-2000.

I know about ESN swaps, and I plan to do this myself on-line. The question is, what'll happen to the number currently assigned to the 6700 when I put the number from the 6800 on it? and will there be any issues with the assigning the 6700's old number to the 6800 after it has spent any amount of time floating unattached?

Going to a service store isn't viable - the nearest is a 120 mile round trip. I don't have a 3rd unused phone available to shunt one of the numbers to either.
mynamewastaken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2008, 01:13 PM   #2
Sting23ray
Walkie Talkie User
 
Sting23ray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 16, '07
Location: WA
Posts: 476
Phone: Moto Q and 6700
Thanks: 16
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
SU$: 2,233
Quote:
Originally Posted by mynamewastaken View Post
Sorry if this has been asked before, but search is down right now... (connection to localhost:3312 failed)

I have two phones, each with it's own number, both on the same Sprint account. One is a 6700 (let's say it's number is 555-111-1000) and one is a 6800 (let's say it's number is 555-222-2000). What I want to do is swap the numbers so the 6800 becomes 555-111-1000 and the 6700 becomes 555-222-2000.

I know about ESN swaps, and I plan to do this myself on-line. The question is, what'll happen to the number currently assigned to the 6700 when I put the number from the 6800 on it? and will there be any issues with the assigning the 6700's old number to the 6800 after it has spent any amount of time floating unattached?

Going to a service store isn't viable - the nearest is a 120 mile round trip. I don't have a 3rd unused phone available to shunt one of the numbers to either.


call the service number and select activation.... i did the same thing last week.... it had to be done by a Sprint rep.... it took her no time to do it...
Sting23ray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2008, 01:14 PM   #3
vman51
Cordless Phone User
 
vman51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2, '04
Location: CT
Posts: 950
Phone: Nexus S
Trades: 3
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SU$: 4,385
I don't think you can do this online unless you have a 3rd phone thats not attached to a number..

youre going to have to call tech support, or have get a somewhat knowledgeable rep to do it for you..
vman51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2008, 01:19 PM   #4
laurkar2006
Cellular Phone User
 
laurkar2006's Avatar
 
Mood: Stressed
Join Date: Jul 12, '08
Location: Oakville, CT
Posts: 1,756
Phone: HTCLTE/PhontonQ
Trades: 1
Thanks: 5
Thanked 58 Times in 24 Posts
My Mood: Stressed
SU$: 17,244
Send a message via Yahoo to laurkar2006
Smile

I think you need to call a Rep to have them do it for you..That is the nice things about the cell phones that have sims you can swap whenever you want...
__________________
Nextel User for 5 yrs. Sprint user for 13 yrs.
Sprint Premier
Everything Data Family 1500 3 lines and 15% corporate: Free Airave
Mach LG, 2 lines with Samsung Galaxy S4Q

Nites free at 6 on all lines
laurkar2006 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2008, 01:26 PM   #5
Bad am i
Two Cans & String User
 
Bad am i's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 15, '06
Location: Kansas City Mo
Posts: 9
Phone: HTC EVO 3D
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SU$: 94
Do you know if you switch phone numbers like this do you lose your phone upgrade? Someone at customer service told me this but I find that hard to believe.
Bad am i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2008, 01:38 PM   #6
Dead_Rebel
Dead.... and a Rebel...
 
Dead_Rebel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 27, '08
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 898
Phone: Samsung Finesse
Trades: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SU$: 7,579
You're not swapping numbers, you're actually swapping phones. ESN swaps DO NOT affect upgrade eligibility or contract expiration.
__________________
-No longer with Sprint-

Appalachian Wireless FTW!
Dead_Rebel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2008, 01:39 PM   #7
mynamewastaken
Cordless Phone User
 
mynamewastaken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 30, '08
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 674
Phone: HTC EVO 4G!
Thanks: 16
Thanked 32 Times in 22 Posts
SU$: 4,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bad am i View Post
Do you know if you switch phone numbers like this do you lose your phone upgrade? Someone at customer service told me this but I find that hard to believe.
I know that if you switch your service from one phone to another, that does NOT affect your contract or upgrade eligibility.
mynamewastaken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2008, 01:43 PM   #8
michaelvanle
Cordless Phone User
 
michaelvanle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 6, '07
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 996
Phone: Touch Pro
Trades: 3
Thanks: 2
Thanked 10 Times in 8 Posts
SU$: 6,201
As mentioned by previous posters, you cannot do this yourself unless you have a spare ESN laying around to swap it into. If you call Sprint, they will most likely dig into one of your older ESN's and swap it out that way. Or they may just have a dummy ESN somewhere that they can use.

Just be careful you might lose Power Vision if you have it. They did this for me about a year ago and there was some issues. The rep used an older ESN that is regular Vision phone, and it messed up my plan because I have Power Vision. I caught it in a couple of days though, so it was fixed.
__________________
I <3 Dan because he's white
michaelvanle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2008, 01:47 PM   #9
Dead_Rebel
Dead.... and a Rebel...
 
Dead_Rebel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 27, '08
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 898
Phone: Samsung Finesse
Trades: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SU$: 7,579
Walk the rep along in the process, you can usually make up a dummy ESN from your own ESN. if yours is say 0762256453 then you can try sequential numbers to make a dummy. (Obviously it will be from a real phone somewhere, but it's just temporary. ) EX: 0762256454, 455, 456, etc.
__________________
-No longer with Sprint-

Appalachian Wireless FTW!
Dead_Rebel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2008, 01:51 PM   #10
mynamewastaken
Cordless Phone User
 
mynamewastaken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 30, '08
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 674
Phone: HTC EVO 4G!
Thanks: 16
Thanked 32 Times in 22 Posts
SU$: 4,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dead_Rebel View Post
Walk the rep along in the process, you can usually make up a dummy ESN from your own ESN. if yours is say 0762256453 then you can try sequential numbers to make a dummy. (Obviously it will be from a real phone somewhere, but it's just temporary. ) EX: 0762256454, 455, 456, etc.
I don't like the sound of that at all.. maybe I have 0762256454 but 0762256455 belongs to someone else, and now their phone/plan is screwed up!
mynamewastaken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2008, 01:56 PM   #11
Dead_Rebel
Dead.... and a Rebel...
 
Dead_Rebel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 27, '08
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 898
Phone: Samsung Finesse
Trades: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SU$: 7,579
LOL no it's not! Can't do an ESN swap if it's in use. :P That's when you move along and try the next number. Way more reliable results as a rep than trying to use that god awful dummy esn tool. You're also guaranteed to get not only the same vision/powervision set but the same phone MODEL as well.
__________________
-No longer with Sprint-

Appalachian Wireless FTW!
Dead_Rebel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2008, 02:16 PM   #12
TheTruckGuy
Wrangler to Off-Road..
 
TheTruckGuy's Avatar
 
Mood: Yeehaw
Join Date: Oct 18, '05
Location: Not in USA
Posts: 4,897
Phone: SonyErics K750i
Trades: 1
Thanks: 70
Thanked 111 Times in 75 Posts
My Mood: Yeehaw
SU$: 16,602
Send a message via AIM to TheTruckGuy
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dead_Rebel View Post
Walk the rep along in the process, you can usually make up a dummy ESN from your own ESN. if yours is say 0762256453 then you can try sequential numbers to make a dummy. (Obviously it will be from a real phone somewhere, but it's just temporary. ) EX: 0762256454, 455, 456, etc.
Thats not right! I dont know now! but some longtime ago when I worked for 3rd party agents, we got different commission for selling new sprint phone and only by the first activation on the handset would we receive the new phone activation. if there was a return, we too had to return the handset to the dealer and would not activate that handset to someone else coz we'd not receive commission. So its not right to activate so some esn u dont know. if u/someone has a broken phone use that or the sprint rep must be able to do it.
This would be the itenary for your serivice:
handset A to temp phone.
handset B to handset A
temp phone to handset B.
__________________
Wanna Earn some Quick SU$???
Visit Pick a Number & Camera Phone Scavenger Hunt threads in the Watercooler Forum

TheTruckGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Go Back SprintUsers.com > General > Sprint Discussion > Switching 2 numbers between 2 phones

Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Any luck switching phones w/o paying full price? bigheaddoug Sprint Discussion 15 07-28-2008 09:31 PM
TEP and Switching Phones rat08 Total Equipment Protection 4 06-22-2008 11:04 AM
Mobile phones 'more dangerous than smoking' Ronkh The Tech News Desk 5 04-14-2008 07:06 PM
Pick 3 - Changing Numbers... greyuser Sprint Discussion 34 04-02-2008 12:15 PM
Switching Cell Phones Numbers? douglasfir Sprint Discussion 14 04-14-2007 11:09 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:41 PM.


- SprintUsers.com is not affiliated with or endorsed by Sprint PCS -