Join 200,000+ other SprintUsers for free at the #1 online community for Sprint cell phone customers! Win cool prizes in our weekly contests. Talk about the newest phones or post your question in our forums! Become a premium member and get unlimited Focus Uploads to your Sprint phone.

All visitors must register before they can post questions, contact other members or search our database of over 127,000 threads and 1.7 million posts. So what are you waiting for? Register for free today!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-01-2008, 05:01 PM   #1
HiTEC
Cordless Phone User
 
HiTEC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 21, '04
Location: Geneva, IL
Posts: 520
Phone: Motorola Q9c
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SU$: 1,249
probls with PRl update on Q9

Has anyone had any problems updating their PRL on their Q9? I own two of them, and it took me 4 attempts (voice saying successful) for it to actually take and show on my phone. I've tried to updates my wifes Q9 at least a dozen time now, and the voice tells me the update is successful, but her phone never takes the update and the PRL never increments up a notch.
__________________
Brad
Moto Q9c (me) & Moto Q9c (wife)
Powerpack 450 (me) & 4000 (wife) (-27% Corp Disc)
U720 data card with unlimited data plan (-27% Corp Disc)
HiTEC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2008, 01:44 PM   #2
VibrantRedGT
Your Average Joe
 
VibrantRedGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 31, '05
Posts: 2,808
Phone: iPhone4
Trades: 10
Thanks: 5
Thanked 17 Times in 16 Posts
SU$: 15,817
You had better luck. When I owned that phone I couldn't even get the We have recognized you need an update recording. I finally just gave up on it.
VibrantRedGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2008, 01:46 PM   #3
BrettW
┻━┻︵ \(°□°)/ ︵ ┻━┻
 
BrettW's Avatar
 
Mood: Cynical
Join Date: Aug 30, '06
Location: East Bay(925), California
Posts: 18,022
Phone: Tmo M8 & Flex
Trades: 33
Thanks: 45
Thanked 441 Times in 387 Posts
SU$: 13,210
in my own experience with pdas, its a b**** to get them to take a PRL update, my 6700 6800, q, all wouldnt take them without a fight (luckily with the 6X00 series you can flash your own) so i would assume the q9c is ailed by the same. for the longest my 6700 would prompt me for a prl update i didnt even need. finally i got sprint tech support to remove the flag so i could call *2.
__________________
Welcome to Sprintusers!
If you see a post that violates our forum guidelines, click the button to let us know!
BrettW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2008, 04:22 PM   #4
HiTEC
Cordless Phone User
 
HiTEC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 21, '04
Location: Geneva, IL
Posts: 520
Phone: Motorola Q9c
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SU$: 1,249
OK. Thanks guys! It appears it's not just my phone then. This is my first experience with a Windows Mobile phone. I never had this issues with my Palm OS phones. It doesn't really bother me as long as I know it seems to be a general problems. I'll continue trying to get her phone to take the update, and maybe I'll get lucky.

Thanks!
__________________
Brad
Moto Q9c (me) & Moto Q9c (wife)
Powerpack 450 (me) & 4000 (wife) (-27% Corp Disc)
U720 data card with unlimited data plan (-27% Corp Disc)
HiTEC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2008, 06:12 PM   #5
NeoteriX
Walkie Talkie User
 
NeoteriX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 22, '03
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 351
Phone: Palm Pre
Thanks: 7
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
SU$: 2,186
how do you update the prl on your phone?
NeoteriX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2008, 12:11 PM   #6
HiTEC
Cordless Phone User
 
HiTEC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 21, '04
Location: Geneva, IL
Posts: 520
Phone: Motorola Q9c
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SU$: 1,249
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeoteriX View Post
how do you update the prl on your phone?
Same way you do on any Sprint phone.

Call customer service and ask that your line be flagged for a PRL update.

Wait 5min

Call *2, and you will be told your phone has been flagged for an upgrade and wait until the system tells you it's complete.

That's it.
__________________
Brad
Moto Q9c (me) & Moto Q9c (wife)
Powerpack 450 (me) & 4000 (wife) (-27% Corp Disc)
U720 data card with unlimited data plan (-27% Corp Disc)
HiTEC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2008, 12:43 PM   #7
NeoteriX
Walkie Talkie User
 
NeoteriX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 22, '03
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 351
Phone: Palm Pre
Thanks: 7
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
SU$: 2,186
ah... I've actually never updated the PRL for any of my phones.

The PRL will just improve performance for any new roaming (non-sprint) towers? Is that accurate?
NeoteriX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2008, 03:39 PM   #8
HiTEC
Cordless Phone User
 
HiTEC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 21, '04
Location: Geneva, IL
Posts: 520
Phone: Motorola Q9c
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SU$: 1,249
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeoteriX View Post
ah... I've actually never updated the PRL for any of my phones.

The PRL will just improve performance for any new roaming (non-sprint) towers? Is that accurate?
Exactly right.
__________________
Brad
Moto Q9c (me) & Moto Q9c (wife)
Powerpack 450 (me) & 4000 (wife) (-27% Corp Disc)
U720 data card with unlimited data plan (-27% Corp Disc)
HiTEC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2008, 05:33 PM   #9
bubbatex
Wasting too much time on forums
 
bubbatex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 9, '05
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,714
Phone: uh.....
Trades: 1
Thanks: 2
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
SU$: 12,465
I have never had a problem once I called in to get it flagged. But I was chastised on this site about 6 months ago for posting there was an update - r0lf and a few others said it was meaningless and that Sprint would do it automatically if your phone required it. Automatically?? - when they can't even seem to get it right when you request it? Yeah, right.......
bubbatex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2008, 06:32 PM   #10
tbhausen
Walkie Talkie User
 
tbhausen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 14, '05
Location: Central Indiana
Posts: 324
Phone: EVO 4G 2.3.3
Thanks: 2
Thanked 6 Times in 4 Posts
SU$: 3,569
Anything BUT automatic on a Q9c as reported by others in this thread... I returned a Q9c that refused numerous PRL updates. My replacement took the update first try. Go figure... Here's a lot more info on the subject, including details of my story:

http://www.everythingq.com/forum/mot...2-a-16398.html

Todd/Indy
tbhausen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2008, 08:08 PM   #11
bubbatex
Wasting too much time on forums
 
bubbatex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 9, '05
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,714
Phone: uh.....
Trades: 1
Thanks: 2
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
SU$: 12,465
My first Q9c worked the first time and now I just did one on my second one that worked the first time. However, I had to power off to get the phone to hang up on *2....but that's another thread....
bubbatex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2008, 09:49 AM   #12
Viro
Telegraph User
 
Viro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 24, '04
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 66
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SU$: 587
It took 6 times to call them and request the flag for the PRL and it STILL hasn't taken! Is there a software update that might fix this? It's probably the biggest annoyance about this phone.
Viro is offline   Reply With Quote
Go Back SprintUsers.com > Devices > Windows Phone > Windows Mobile (6.x and earlier) > probls with PRl update on Q9

Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PRL series Tomas Site News & Feedback 21 03-29-2008 04:43 PM
Apple attempts to block free ringtones with iTunes update... SLME Other Carriers & MVNOs 6 09-09-2007 10:25 PM
PRL Update & Customer Service HorsesSmellFuny Network & Data Quality /Airave & Related Services 0 02-15-2006 06:42 PM
PRL Update on Samsung 880 Repro Tips & Tricks - All Carriers 11 08-18-2005 01:00 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:49 AM.


- SprintUsers.com is not affiliated with or endorsed by Sprint PCS -