Join 200,000+ other SprintUsers for free at the #1 online community for Sprint cell phone customers! Win cool prizes in our weekly contests. Talk about the newest phones or post your question in our forums! Become a premium member and get unlimited Focus Uploads to your Sprint phone.

All visitors must register before they can post questions, contact other members or search our database of over 127,000 threads and 1.7 million posts. So what are you waiting for? Register for free today!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 06-26-2007, 12:57 AM   #1
feo
Walkie Talkie User
 
feo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 11, '07
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 433
Phone: Galaxy SIII
Thanks: 7
Thanked 7 Times in 4 Posts
SU$: 1,414
Problems with SMS- "Error Cause Code: 97"

Anyone else having issues lately with texting? It just says "Error: Message not sent. Saved in outbox. Please try again later"

And I've been having issues for a few days.
Am I the only one?

Anyway of changing a setting to make it work?
__________________
Sero Premium
The only reason I'm with Sprint
feo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2007, 02:15 AM   #2
evanatmtd
Two Cans & String User
 
evanatmtd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 27, '06
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SU$: 14
This seems unrelated, but as of about 2 hours ago, I have been unable to send any text messages from my Treo 700p. On my phone, it shows them as being sent successfully, however no one is receiving my texts. Sprint CS is closed right now, so I can't call and ask if it's a network issue or what. Anyone else having problems?
evanatmtd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2008, 03:48 PM   #3
feo
Walkie Talkie User
 
feo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 11, '07
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 433
Phone: Galaxy SIII
Thanks: 7
Thanked 7 Times in 4 Posts
SU$: 1,414
Anyone ever see a "Cause Code: 34" ?
__________________
Sero Premium
The only reason I'm with Sprint
feo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2008, 05:53 PM   #4
ATS_Helper
Nissan Geek!
 
ATS_Helper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 10, '07
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 214
Phone: Palm Pre
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SU$: 3,274
Feo, check your free storage space on the phone.

Start-> Settings -> System (Tab) -> Memory -> Look under the storage section and see how much memory is next to where it says "Free"

I'm willing to bet it's less than 1 MB

Last edited by ATS_Helper; 04-11-2008 at 05:57 PM.
ATS_Helper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2008, 11:53 PM   #5
feo
Walkie Talkie User
 
feo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 11, '07
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 433
Phone: Galaxy SIII
Thanks: 7
Thanked 7 Times in 4 Posts
SU$: 1,414
Quote:
Originally Posted by ATS_Helper View Post
Feo, check your free storage space on the phone.

Start-> Settings -> System (Tab) -> Memory -> Look under the storage section and see how much memory is next to where it says "Free"

I'm willing to bet it's less than 1 MB
It says 105.12 MB

o.O
__________________
Sero Premium
The only reason I'm with Sprint
feo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2008, 02:06 AM   #6
ATS_Helper
Nissan Geek!
 
ATS_Helper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 10, '07
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 214
Phone: Palm Pre
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SU$: 3,274
For free memory? Damn I would have lost that bet. Was your account suspended anytime recently? Occasionally after suspensions SMS remains blocked for a day or so.
ATS_Helper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2008, 12:01 PM   #7
feo
Walkie Talkie User
 
feo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 11, '07
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 433
Phone: Galaxy SIII
Thanks: 7
Thanked 7 Times in 4 Posts
SU$: 1,414
Quote:
Originally Posted by ATS_Helper View Post
For free memory? Damn I would have lost that bet. Was your account suspended anytime recently? Occasionally after suspensions SMS remains blocked for a day or so.
I have no clue. IF my account was suspended, I did not know about it. Luckily that error code hasnt come up again - it was only that day.
__________________
Sero Premium
The only reason I'm with Sprint
feo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2008, 07:34 AM   #8
inftaxs
Telephone User
 
inftaxs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 13, '04
Location: NJ
Posts: 234
Phone: HTC TP2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SU$: 1,502
Quote:
Originally Posted by feo View Post
I have no clue. IF my account was suspended, I did not know about it. Luckily that error code hasnt come up again - it was only that day.
I got similar error when the phone I sent texts to had SMS blocking turned on - no SMS in or out allowed.
__________________
2000 anytime minutes shared among 5 lines + 2700 bonus minutes distributed among 5 lines; 6PM N/W, roaming, Sprint2Home, Sprint2Office, unlimited incoming, unlimited SMS, unlimited Data on all 5 lines; $73.00 + tax for all
inftaxs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2008, 08:03 PM   #9
ATS_Helper
Nissan Geek!
 
ATS_Helper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 10, '07
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 214
Phone: Palm Pre
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SU$: 3,274
Yeah 97 is caused by Origination restriction in the system ESM. Have tech support check for you.
__________________
ATS_Helper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2008, 12:01 AM   #10
feo
Walkie Talkie User
 
feo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 11, '07
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 433
Phone: Galaxy SIII
Thanks: 7
Thanked 7 Times in 4 Posts
SU$: 1,414
Do we know what Error Code: 34 means? I've been getting 'em both ... a lot lately.
__________________
Sero Premium
The only reason I'm with Sprint
feo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2008, 01:15 AM   #11
nancydrew
Telegraph User
 
nancydrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 15, '08
Location: Texas
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SU$: 83
you will most likely need your services reprovisioned as sometimes following plan change/suspension/etc they need to be refreshed on the messaging ldap. normally having the service blocked and unblocked will take care of it or the plan suspended and resumed. no settings on the phone will resolve this error.
nancydrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2008, 02:38 PM   #12
feo
Walkie Talkie User
 
feo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 11, '07
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 433
Phone: Galaxy SIII
Thanks: 7
Thanked 7 Times in 4 Posts
SU$: 1,414
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows CE; IEMobile 7.11) Sprint:PPC6800)

hmmm...this is so odd. now I am getting a "Cause Code: 107" - never seen that error before...anyone have any idea what it means?
__________________
Sero Premium
The only reason I'm with Sprint
feo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2008, 10:42 AM   #13
Java
Two Cans & String User
 
Java's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 18, '08
Location: Lodi, NJ
Posts: 1
Phone: HTC Touch
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SU$: 13
Send a message via AIM to Java
Damn Sprint

This just started today at the begining of third period in school. (About 9:33 Eastern US, G.M.T.)I live in NJ and this is really getting me to think about switching to T-mobile and just getting the G1.

It's getting to be really bad, when I click on details it tells me Cause Code: 34 but the hing is it never goes through now. I've put it through about 15 times in a row and it still hasn't gone.
Sprint really needs to get their act together before everyone just drops the service all together, and with phones like the new Blackberry, the G1, and the iPhone; it's highly possible.
Java is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2008, 12:50 PM   #14
feo
Walkie Talkie User
 
feo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 11, '07
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 433
Phone: Galaxy SIII
Thanks: 7
Thanked 7 Times in 4 Posts
SU$: 1,414
After upgrading my handset to an HTC Touch Pro -- I no longer get any errors... just an occasional delay in my text messages. This morning ... one of my texts that I received was 4 hours late.

Odd.
__________________
Sero Premium
The only reason I'm with Sprint
feo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2009, 05:56 PM   #15
zeebraore
Two Cans & String User
 
zeebraore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 5, '09
Location: Stoneville
Posts: 2
Phone: motorola
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SU$: 12
Have we figured out the cause & solution for "Error Cause Code: 97"?
zeebraore is offline   Reply With Quote
Go Back SprintUsers.com > General > Sprint Discussion > Network & Data Quality /Airave & Related Services > Problems with SMS- "Error Cause Code: 97"

Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SMS credit without having a SMS package? logic88 Tips & Tricks - All Carriers 2 10-02-2006 10:02 AM
Problems with Nextel SMS Genesyxx1 Sprint Discussion 7 04-26-2005 05:20 PM
7400 text and pictures problems? bangnonwax Network & Data Quality /Airave & Related Services 4 01-24-2005 06:42 AM
Sending Failed - Network Problems - Cause Code 3? mas90guru Network & Data Quality /Airave & Related Services 10 12-24-2004 11:19 PM
SMS Problems alpac915 Network & Data Quality /Airave & Related Services 1 12-18-2004 09:56 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:42 AM.


- SprintUsers.com is not affiliated with or endorsed by Sprint PCS -