Join 200,000+ other SprintUsers for free at the #1 online community for Sprint cell phone customers! Win cool prizes in our weekly contests. Talk about the newest phones or post your question in our forums! Become a premium member and get unlimited Focus Uploads to your Sprint phone.

All visitors must register before they can post questions, contact other members or search our database of over 127,000 threads and 1.7 million posts. So what are you waiting for? Register for free today!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-16-2005, 08:31 AM   #1
G-Unit_4900
Cordless Phone User
 
G-Unit_4900's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 24, '03
Location: Chi-ILL-Town
Posts: 768
Phone: Evo 4Geezy...
Trades: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SU$: 1,997
Send a message via AIM to G-Unit_4900 Send a message via Yahoo to G-Unit_4900
Trouble w/ a ESN

I sell phones on ebay. and a buyer recently said the phone was activated. It obviously wasnt becuz it was fresh from the store. But i rememer sum1 on ebay askin me for the esn number to "check it." Is it possible for that someone who called to get the esn number on the phone to make sure it was clear, actually activate another phone under that esn number? And by the time the winner gets the phone and trys to activate it, can another phone have already been activated under its esn number? In other words: What all can you do with a clear esn number but not the phone.
thx n adv
__________________
Gone head and sneeze, cuz my presence bless u...
G-Unit_4900 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2005, 02:17 PM   #2
G-Unit_4900
Cordless Phone User
 
G-Unit_4900's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 24, '03
Location: Chi-ILL-Town
Posts: 768
Phone: Evo 4Geezy...
Trades: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SU$: 1,997
Send a message via AIM to G-Unit_4900 Send a message via Yahoo to G-Unit_4900
??????????????
__________________
Gone head and sneeze, cuz my presence bless u...
G-Unit_4900 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2005, 02:20 PM   #3
MisterFuhrman
Telephone User
 
MisterFuhrman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 12, '04
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 201
Phone: T650
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SU$: 56
Yep. Someone could take that ESN and activate it on their account, even if the phone was not present. Then they would probably wait 20 days or so and claim it stolen through LockLine. LockLine would then send them a replacement unit for $50, and your phone would be useless. You need to get in contact with Sprint ASAP.
MisterFuhrman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2005, 06:38 PM   #4
pcdebb
Tech Chick
- Contributor -
 
pcdebb's Avatar
 
Mood: Mellow
Join Date: Aug 22, '02
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 107
Phone: iPhone4
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
My Mood: Mellow
SU$: 670
save all your emails and headers from the person wanting to "check" the esn and contact sprint.
__________________
I want to die in my sleep like my uncle, not screaming and yelling like the passengers in his car
pcdebb is offline   Reply With Quote
Go Back SprintUsers.com > General > Sprint Discussion > Trouble w/ a ESN

Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ESN change no longer invalidates upgrade rebate? lgmayka Sprint Discussion 27 12-13-2005 09:48 AM
What is my ESN???? kccasey Tips & Tricks - All Carriers 3 01-07-2005 04:33 PM
Considering buying a phone on eBay longdong Sprint Discussion 3 11-02-2004 09:50 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:48 PM.


- SprintUsers.com is not affiliated with or endorsed by Sprint PCS -