Join 200,000+ other SprintUsers for free at the #1 online community for Sprint cell phone customers! Win cool prizes in our weekly contests. Talk about the newest phones or post your question in our forums! Become a premium member and get unlimited Focus Uploads to your Sprint phone.

All visitors must register before they can post questions, contact other members or search our database of over 127,000 threads and 1.7 million posts. So what are you waiting for? Register for free today!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-27-2010, 08:55 PM   #1
KAT
Digital PCS User
 
KAT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 8, '05
Location: Sunland, Ca
Posts: 3,299
Phone: Samsung m610
Thanks: 34
Thanked 83 Times in 74 Posts
SU$: 14,285
Browsing issues with Optimus....

This just started happening today. When I do a search on Dolphin, and scroll up and down on the results page, its jerky as hell... doesn't scroll smooth at all, sometimes it sticks stationary for a second, and when I flick my finger up or down it will click on something I don't even want. I mean its bad... not smooth at all anymore. But if I do click on a result, and get a actual website, it seems to scroll fine, its only the results page that scrolls horrible. I tried the stock browser, same thing. I deleted some apps that I really didn't want to delete for more memory to see if that made a change, nope. Anybody know why this might be happening all of a sudden?

Scrolling thru my homescreens got jerky a couple of times as well but still seems to be OK for the most part. Its really bugging me...
__________________
LG Optimus S
KAT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2010, 09:04 PM   #2
indyalex
treo 700p
 
indyalex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 31, '06
Location: indiana
Posts: 764
Phone: Hero
Thanks: 81
Thanked 38 Times in 34 Posts
SU$: 7,013
Try turning off ph.,remove battery a min.or so then replace then try it.If that doesn't work uninstall Dolphin app.,then re download it.
indyalex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2010, 09:24 PM   #3
KAT
Digital PCS User
 
KAT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 8, '05
Location: Sunland, Ca
Posts: 3,299
Phone: Samsung m610
Thanks: 34
Thanked 83 Times in 74 Posts
SU$: 14,285
Quote:
Originally Posted by indyalex
Try turning off ph.,remove battery a min.or so then replace then try it.If that doesn't work uninstall Dolphin app.,then re download it.
Already removed battery twice to see if it made a difference ... forgot to mention that, but no change. Ill uninstall Dolphin and reinstall, but like I said, it happens with the stock browser as well so I'm not sure it will make a difference but Ill try
__________________
LG Optimus S
KAT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2010, 09:52 PM   #4
KAT
Digital PCS User
 
KAT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 8, '05
Location: Sunland, Ca
Posts: 3,299
Phone: Samsung m610
Thanks: 34
Thanked 83 Times in 74 Posts
SU$: 14,285
Just uninstalled Dolphin... went right to the stock browser to check it out, smooth as silk! Not really sure what happened but looks like Ill be using the stock browser for now although I liked some of the Dolphin features better. Got a little chunk of memory back to removing Dolphin. I'd rather have one smooth running browser than two that aren't right... still a bit baffled at what happened but oh well... Thx for the suggestions!
__________________
LG Optimus S
KAT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2010, 11:27 PM   #5
Chris Kay
Formerly known as Mr.Lloyd
 
Chris Kay's Avatar
 
Mood: Amused
Join Date: Jul 22, '09
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 1,552
Phone: MyTouch 4G
Thanks: 147
Thanked 60 Times in 50 Posts
My Mood: Amused
SU$: 8,908
Try Skyfire
__________________
Currently Rocking: MyTouch 4G

"You will never be satisfied..."
Chris Kay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 06:26 AM   #6
UALOneKPlus
Cellular Guru
- Contributor -
 
UALOneKPlus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1, '02
Location: seat 9B
Posts: 776
Phone: Treo650
Thanks: 56
Thanked 67 Times in 35 Posts
SU$: 5,585
That's why I stick with stock browser. 3rd party browsers can act strange, not to mention browsers like skyfire can also cache / intercept your private data on their own servers.
__________________
------------------------------------------------
Airtime with my Treo and Burton Board
UALOneKPlus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 10:31 AM   #7
KAT
Digital PCS User
 
KAT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 8, '05
Location: Sunland, Ca
Posts: 3,299
Phone: Samsung m610
Thanks: 34
Thanked 83 Times in 74 Posts
SU$: 14,285
Quote:
Originally Posted by UALOneKPlus
That's why I stick with stock browser. 3rd party browsers can act strange, not to mention browsers like skyfire can also cache / intercept your private data on their own servers.
Yeah the stock one isn't really bad at all... just wish it was easier to access bookmarks, and wondering if there was a way to hide the notification bar at the top for full screen? If there is I can't find out how. The Hero stock browser let you hide it, and if you got a message you could just hit menu, the notification bar would pop up, pull the window down and you could tend to your text/emails. Hit it again and you're back to full browser screen.
__________________
LG Optimus S
KAT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 10:41 AM   #8
KAT
Digital PCS User
 
KAT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 8, '05
Location: Sunland, Ca
Posts: 3,299
Phone: Samsung m610
Thanks: 34
Thanked 83 Times in 74 Posts
SU$: 14,285
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.Lloyd
Try Skyfire
Thx I gave it a quick try, but man there's is just SO much "stuff" on that homescreen... a bunch of stuff I'd never use really, and didn't seem any faster than other browsers. The stock browser is a little more simple, streamlined if you will. But as usual like different phones, all these browsers often offer a feature or two that I wish the other one had lol. I was pretty happy with Dolphin actually, my personal favorite, but not with those quirks that were popping up.
__________________
LG Optimus S
KAT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 12:23 PM   #9
UALOneKPlus
Cellular Guru
- Contributor -
 
UALOneKPlus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1, '02
Location: seat 9B
Posts: 776
Phone: Treo650
Thanks: 56
Thanked 67 Times in 35 Posts
SU$: 5,585
Quote:
Originally Posted by KAT View Post
Yeah the stock one isn't really bad at all... just wish it was easier to access bookmarks, and wondering if there was a way to hide the notification bar at the top for full screen? If there is I can't find out how. The Hero stock browser let you hide it, and if you got a message you could just hit menu, the notification bar would pop up, pull the window down and you could tend to your text/emails. Hit it again and you're back to full browser screen.
It's been a while since I used my Optimus, but I think if you just scroll down the page, the notification bar goes away on its own. I've also read Launcher Pro can hide the notification bar in general as well, not just in the browser but every where.
__________________
------------------------------------------------
Airtime with my Treo and Burton Board
UALOneKPlus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 12:25 PM   #10
indyalex
treo 700p
 
indyalex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 31, '06
Location: indiana
Posts: 764
Phone: Hero
Thanks: 81
Thanked 38 Times in 34 Posts
SU$: 7,013
Kat,have you tried re downloading Dolphin ? Sometimes this helps with some apps,if it doesn't just uninstall and go back to stock.I've used both Skyfire & Dolphin,I like general browsing with Dolphin but video stuff with Skyfire,it would be nice to combine the things we like about the two into one.
indyalex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 12:32 PM   #11
KAT
Digital PCS User
 
KAT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 8, '05
Location: Sunland, Ca
Posts: 3,299
Phone: Samsung m610
Thanks: 34
Thanked 83 Times in 74 Posts
SU$: 14,285
Quote:
Originally Posted by UALOneKPlus View Post
It's been a while since I used my Optimus, but I think if you just scroll down the page, the notification bar goes away on its own. I've also read Launcher Pro can hide the notification bar in general as well, not just in the browser but every where.
The notification bar stays on the stock browser, no big deal. I'm already using Launcher Pro and it's great, and it does hide the notification bar on all home screens. Really makes the screens/wallpapers look better when it's gone, and you just hit menu to make it appear to check status, messages ect. And you can get your 7 screens back if you want like the Hero has, and view homescreens in landscape ect, nice.
__________________
LG Optimus S
KAT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 06:23 PM   #12
KAT
Digital PCS User
 
KAT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 8, '05
Location: Sunland, Ca
Posts: 3,299
Phone: Samsung m610
Thanks: 34
Thanked 83 Times in 74 Posts
SU$: 14,285
Just a quick update... I doubt I will ever reinstall Dolphin now. My Optimus is running better than ever, and the stock browser is very fast. I'm even getting better battery life. I've been using the phone much of the day on WIFI and have 67% battery left, I started at 100% at 8:30 am. The battery will easily last into the night and have juice left over when I hit the sack. The phone just seems healthier .. its all good. ;?)
__________________
LG Optimus S
KAT is offline   Reply With Quote
Go Back SprintUsers.com > Devices > Android (Google) Based Phones > LG > Browsing issues with Optimus....

Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Touch pro issues 4th phone issues still with keyboard. jaycenter Total Equipment Protection 1 10-31-2009 12:53 PM
HTC Touch Pro Major Issues...Help! gwmac Windows Mobile (6.x and earlier) 16 09-09-2009 12:50 PM
Mogul issues - white screen & lagging TickTock Windows Mobile (6.x and earlier) 1 01-23-2009 03:29 PM
PowerVision Issues? ewolf Windows Mobile (6.x and earlier) 0 09-11-2007 01:38 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:08 PM.


- SprintUsers.com is not affiliated with or endorsed by Sprint PCS -