Join 200,000+ other SprintUsers for free at the #1 online community for Sprint cell phone customers! Win cool prizes in our weekly contests. Talk about the newest phones or post your question in our forums! Become a premium member and get unlimited Focus Uploads to your Sprint phone.

All visitors must register before they can post questions, contact other members or search our database of over 127,000 threads and 1.7 million posts. So what are you waiting for? Register for free today!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 10-16-2009, 12:09 PM   #46
narfboy
Two Cans & String User
 
narfboy's Avatar
 
Mood: Amused
Join Date: Feb 6, '07
Location: kansas city
Posts: 7
Phone: HTC Hero
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
My Mood: Amused
SU$: 87
do have a preferred task killer?
narfboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2009, 12:50 PM   #47
cruecu
Telegraph User
 
cruecu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 10, '07
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 64
Phone: EVO
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 2 Posts
SU$: 523
there are, at minimum, 50 posts about that already. Advanced Task Killer seems to be preferred.
cruecu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2009, 04:07 PM   #48
killabee44
Telegraph User
 
killabee44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 22, '06
Location: Fl. USA
Posts: 40
Phone: HTC Hero
Thanks: 8
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
SU$: 222
Ok guys, I have Handcent installed.

How do you completely kill the message manager that comes with the phone? Or at least how do you keep it from ringing your tone everytime you get a text (my texts tone rings twice like an echo).

I found a setting but it looks like it is for tone notification of messages in general. How do you turn off notifications by sound and visually from the old manager only?

Thanks.

Last edited by killabee44; 10-16-2009 at 04:37 PM.
killabee44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2009, 04:41 PM   #49
joecool335
Telegraph User
 
joecool335's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 8, '08
Posts: 30
Phone: Samsung Moment
Thanks: 3
Thanked 11 Times in 6 Posts
SU$: 221
Still not working for me...

I did everything you all said and no go min still doesn't sleep at all stays awake 100%...

Im starting to think my phone is a lemon...

I did install spare parts and the dialer is no longer awake...but when
my phone comes back on from reboot it shows messages runing in advance task killer...



Anyone have any ideas

Last edited by joecool335; 10-16-2009 at 04:45 PM.
joecool335 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2009, 05:10 PM   #50
killabee44
Telegraph User
 
killabee44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 22, '06
Location: Fl. USA
Posts: 40
Phone: HTC Hero
Thanks: 8
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
SU$: 222
Quote:
Originally Posted by killabee44 View Post
Ok guys, I have Handcent installed.

How do you completely kill the message manager that comes with the phone? Or at least how do you keep it from ringing your tone everytime you get a text (my texts tone rings twice like an echo).

I found a setting but it looks like it is for tone notification of messages in general. How do you turn off notifications by sound and visually from the old manager only?

Thanks.
Never mind guys, I was able to kill the notifications coming from the old manager. It is under settings from the old manager.

Had seen that setting before, I just thought that it would stop all notifications from reaching Handcent sms as well.
killabee44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2009, 10:08 AM   #51
kobrapack99
Telegraph User
 
kobrapack99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 13, '09
Posts: 37
Thanks: 3
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
SU$: 251
ok, now i love my phone. the battery actually lasts now! thanks a bunch to everyone that helped
kobrapack99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2009, 11:44 AM   #52
dereileak
Computer Geek
 
dereileak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 25, '08
Location: Rochester, Mn
Posts: 172
Phone: Hero
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 5 Posts
SU$: 1,052
Send a message via MSN to dereileak Send a message via Skype™ to dereileak
Quote:
Originally Posted by joecool335 View Post
I did everything you all said and no go min still doesn't sleep at all stays awake 100%...

Im starting to think my phone is a lemon...

I did install spare parts and the dialer is no longer awake...but when
my phone comes back on from reboot it shows messages runing in advance task killer...



Anyone have any ideas
update update ur voicemail, then restart ur phone, that fixed mine
__________________
http://www.usersigs.com/site/./data/media/9/google_user.jpg
I love my hero, stop being picky, not every phone has everything perfect, its a phone, not your son,
dereileak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2009, 03:24 PM   #53
joecool335
Telegraph User
 
joecool335's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 8, '08
Posts: 30
Phone: Samsung Moment
Thanks: 3
Thanked 11 Times in 6 Posts
SU$: 221
I did update the voicemail...its the first thing I did...was I supposed to update voicemail then install handcent and then reboot...because I update voicemail rebooted and then I installed handcent and rebooted....
joecool335 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2009, 04:46 PM   #54
jdawg0528
Telegraph User
 
jdawg0528's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 10, '09
Posts: 25
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
SU$: 207
thanks for all the advice in this thread. i installed handcent and then rebooted my phone. since using handcent for texting my battery is actually lasting the whole day ... yippeeee
jdawg0528 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2009, 03:53 PM   #55
joecool335
Telegraph User
 
joecool335's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 8, '08
Posts: 30
Phone: Samsung Moment
Thanks: 3
Thanked 11 Times in 6 Posts
SU$: 221
I finally got mine fixed...well not really I returned and it exchanged it for a new one...and now everything works...with no problems...so far its only been a day... Seriously I did 3 factory resets and it kept giving me the 100% awake and the phone would not last 5 hours if at all...so I went to BB got a new one with no problems...I still installed handcent...but Idk know if I needed to or not... I kind of like it...I wonder if everyone who has a hero has the 100% awake issue or just a few...cause now I don't...I have it off the charger since 8am today and still have 55%...just my 2 cents.
joecool335 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2009, 03:54 PM   #56
bgriffiths
Telegraph User
 
bgriffiths's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 9, '09
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 74
Phone: HTC Hero
Thanks: 7
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
SU$: 350
Quote:
Originally Posted by joecool335 View Post
I finally got mine fixed...well not really I returned and it exchanged it for a new one...and now everything works...with no problems...so far its only been a day... Seriously I did 3 factory resets and it kept giving me the 100% awake and the phone would not last 5 hours if at all...so I went to BB got a new one with no problems...I still installed handcent...but Idk know if I needed to or not... I kind of like it...I wonder if everyone who has a hero has the 100% awake issue or just a few...cause now I don't...I have it off the charger since 8am today and still have 55%...just my 2 cents.
what firmware?
bgriffiths is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2009, 04:00 PM   #57
deusch
Telegraph User
 
deusch's Avatar
 
Mood: Amused
Join Date: Nov 8, '07
Posts: 55
Phone: HTC Hero
Thanks: 0
Thanked 12 Times in 5 Posts
My Mood: Amused
SU$: 629
Ok so we have someone who exchanged his phone for another one and is no longer having issues. This begs the question - is there anyone with an HTC Hero that is NOT experiencing the 100% wake-time issue?

joecool335 - just to verify, can you go to Settings->About Phone->Status and tell us what your Awake Time is?
deusch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2009, 05:48 PM   #58
Tikerz
Telegraph User
 
Tikerz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 15, '09
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 49
Phone: HTC Hero
Thanks: 2
Thanked 5 Times in 3 Posts
SU$: 282
Quote:
Originally Posted by joecool335 View Post
I finally got mine fixed...well not really I returned and it exchanged it for a new one...and now everything works...with no problems...so far its only been a day... Seriously I did 3 factory resets and it kept giving me the 100% awake and the phone would not last 5 hours if at all...so I went to BB got a new one with no problems...I still installed handcent...but Idk know if I needed to or not... I kind of like it...I wonder if everyone who has a hero has the 100% awake issue or just a few...cause now I don't...I have it off the charger since 8am today and still have 55%...just my 2 cents.
So are you using Handcent or the default messaging application to send texts with your new phone?

I believe the moment you send a text message through the default messaging application is when the 100% awake time begins.

I would reboot the phone, send a text with the default messaging application, press the red button to "sleep", and go out for a jog. Then when you come back check your awake time and tell us if it's at or near 100%.

Last edited by Tikerz; 10-20-2009 at 05:52 PM.
Tikerz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2009, 07:02 PM   #59
dereileak
Computer Geek
 
dereileak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 25, '08
Location: Rochester, Mn
Posts: 172
Phone: Hero
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 5 Posts
SU$: 1,052
Send a message via MSN to dereileak Send a message via Skype™ to dereileak
Quote:
Originally Posted by deusch View Post
Ok so we have someone who exchanged his phone for another one and is no longer having issues. This begs the question - is there anyone with an HTC Hero that is NOT experiencing the 100% wake-time issue?

joecool335 - just to verify, can you go to Settings->About Phone->Status and tell us what your Awake Time is?
i am not, ever since I installed that Voicemail update, it was fine for me, how is your battery holding out?
__________________
http://www.usersigs.com/site/./data/media/9/google_user.jpg
I love my hero, stop being picky, not every phone has everything perfect, its a phone, not your son,
dereileak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2009, 07:22 PM   #60
Fat Tony
Uncle Tony
 
Fat Tony's Avatar
 
Mood: PMSing
Join Date: Aug 15, '04
Location: In a really nice house.
Posts: 740
Phone: SIII
Thanks: 21
Thanked 26 Times in 18 Posts
My Mood: PMSing
SU$: 4,348
Quote:
Originally Posted by killabee44 View Post
Never mind guys, I was able to kill the notifications coming from the old manager. It is under settings from the old manager.

Had seen that setting before, I just thought that it would stop all notifications from reaching Handcent sms as well.
I can't find the setting to kill the old sms thing. I've checked everything under settings and can't find it.
__________________
“You can easily judge the character of a man by how he treats those who can do nothing for him.”
Fat Tony is offline   Reply With Quote
Go Back SprintUsers.com > Devices > Android (Google) Based Phones > For those with 100% Awake time [FIX]

Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Time Warner shelves plan to cap Internet use DJRider The Tech News Desk 10 04-29-2009 03:16 AM
HEADS UP! TX, NC, & NY - Time Warner Cable Introducing Bandwidth Caps! thesonofgray Watercooler 0 04-04-2009 11:40 AM
Message time wrong in pocket outlook zebradude Windows Mobile (6.x and earlier) 0 03-30-2009 08:00 PM
Time Delay on the Touch and Alarm cschnider Windows Mobile (6.x and earlier) 1 07-23-2008 08:56 AM
Touch Time is Behind mikejames07 Windows Mobile (6.x and earlier) 2 02-20-2008 10:43 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:43 AM.


- SprintUsers.com is not affiliated with or endorsed by Sprint PCS -