Join 200,000+ other SprintUsers for free at the #1 online community for Sprint cell phone customers! Win cool prizes in our weekly contests. Talk about the newest phones or post your question in our forums! Become a premium member and get unlimited Focus Uploads to your Sprint phone.

All visitors must register before they can post questions, contact other members or search our database of over 127,000 threads and 1.7 million posts. So what are you waiting for? Register for free today!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 10-13-2009, 08:09 PM   #1
dereileak
Computer Geek
 
dereileak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 25, '08
Location: Rochester, Mn
Posts: 172
Phone: Hero
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 5 Posts
SU$: 1,052
Send a message via MSN to dereileak Send a message via Skype™ to dereileak
Talking For those with 100% Awake time [FIX]

Helly everybody, I love my htc, and I found the cure to the 100% awake time. I tested each app out myself, and checked the usage and it happens to be voicemail. Well what do you do from here, well it seems sprint has already fixed the issue, you just need to open the voicemail app, and go to setting, then download the new update, that fixes it so the phone doesnt stay awake non stop, before I dled that update my phone was at 100%, not good, but after I sit at around 18%, which is correct for my usage today. So hop on in the app, and fix your problem, It doent make the battery life a whole new world, but instead of being at 20% at the end of the day, I hit around 45%, so it does help. Also get a task killer, and kill those pesky non used tasks :P

Peace,
Derek
__________________
http://www.usersigs.com/site/./data/media/9/google_user.jpg
I love my hero, stop being picky, not every phone has everything perfect, its a phone, not your son,
dereileak is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to dereileak For This Useful Post:
ejqr5 (10-16-2009), Fat Tony (10-13-2009), gigabit (10-14-2009)
Old 10-13-2009, 08:11 PM   #2
JWFOS22
Telephone User
 
JWFOS22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 3, '06
Location: Midlothian,TX
Posts: 157
Phone: Sprint HTC Hero
Thanks: 35
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
SU$: 968
I updated my VM yesterday and I'm still at 100%. My voicemail version is:
vn.5.0.0.32

Last edited by JWFOS22; 10-13-2009 at 08:14 PM.
JWFOS22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2009, 08:14 PM   #3
dereileak
Computer Geek
 
dereileak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 25, '08
Location: Rochester, Mn
Posts: 172
Phone: Hero
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 5 Posts
SU$: 1,052
Send a message via MSN to dereileak Send a message via Skype™ to dereileak
have you restarted since then? get advanced task killer, and kill all apps, do a restart and go right to settings to the awake time, hit the red power button to turn screen off, then wait about a minute, and turn back on to see if its fixed, if not then im not sure, that is what fixed mine
__________________
http://www.usersigs.com/site/./data/media/9/google_user.jpg
I love my hero, stop being picky, not every phone has everything perfect, its a phone, not your son,
dereileak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2009, 08:17 PM   #4
JWFOS22
Telephone User
 
JWFOS22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 3, '06
Location: Midlothian,TX
Posts: 157
Phone: Sprint HTC Hero
Thanks: 35
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
SU$: 968
I have AdvanceTaskkiller do I need to kill VoiceMail first. Also are you killing all your apps cause I have calender,clock,mail,messages,settings & voice mail not checked.
JWFOS22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2009, 08:21 PM   #5
dereileak
Computer Geek
 
dereileak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 25, '08
Location: Rochester, Mn
Posts: 172
Phone: Hero
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 5 Posts
SU$: 1,052
Send a message via MSN to dereileak Send a message via Skype™ to dereileak
Quote:
Originally Posted by JWFOS22 View Post
I have AdvanceTaskkiller do I need to kill VoiceMail first. Also are you killing all your apps cause I have calender,clock,mail,messages,settings & voice mail not checked.
I leave email, and messages on, one thing I did do, is I completly reset my phone, cause my wifi stopped working, after backing up my contacts of course, then I did the VM update, and it seemed fine after that, I have a crap load of apps on there, and it still goes to sleep, I do not know what may be causing yours, VM seemed like it was the big prob for me
__________________
http://www.usersigs.com/site/./data/media/9/google_user.jpg
I love my hero, stop being picky, not every phone has everything perfect, its a phone, not your son,
dereileak is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to dereileak For This Useful Post:
JWFOS22 (10-13-2009)
Old 10-13-2009, 08:26 PM   #6
JWFOS22
Telephone User
 
JWFOS22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 3, '06
Location: Midlothian,TX
Posts: 157
Phone: Sprint HTC Hero
Thanks: 35
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
SU$: 968
We'll figure it out. I'll keep hashing it out over here and you do the same maybe we'll help somebody else out, But can you check your VM version for me.So you kill everything else? Thanks
JWFOS22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2009, 08:27 PM   #7
Kyp
Telegraph User
 
Kyp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 11, '09
Posts: 21
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
SU$: 254
I know this sounds stupid but how do you reset you phone incase i ever mess something up and need to do that.

Also what does resetting it clear? Can you redownload the apps you've bought. The phone itself is still registered to the sprint account right, i wouldn't have to call/go to sprint to get it working right.
Kyp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2009, 09:48 PM   #8
dereileak
Computer Geek
 
dereileak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 25, '08
Location: Rochester, Mn
Posts: 172
Phone: Hero
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 5 Posts
SU$: 1,052
Send a message via MSN to dereileak Send a message via Skype™ to dereileak
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kyp View Post
I know this sounds stupid but how do you reset you phone incase i ever mess something up and need to do that.

Also what does resetting it clear? Can you redownload the apps you've bought. The phone itself is still registered to the sprint account right, i wouldn't have to call/go to sprint to get it working right.
Factory reset is located under security settings, it resets everything as if you just bought it, the only thing that stays the same is the phone number attached to it, so only do it if needed, and back up your contacts, apps can be redownloaded so that is not a problem, you just have to go and find them agian, it will at first show you the ones you had before, but then if you hit one wrong button that screen goes away, dialer also looks to be an issue with the phone staying on, its one of my top uses, I love the phone to death, but how did they manage to get 15 days on standby with it during tests? ha ha, it will be fixed eventually with donut 1.6, but we have no clue when it will come out for the hero, my VM version is VN.5.0.0.32, list yours if different
__________________
http://www.usersigs.com/site/./data/media/9/google_user.jpg
I love my hero, stop being picky, not every phone has everything perfect, its a phone, not your son,
dereileak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2009, 11:59 AM   #9
aulkyle2
Telegraph User
 
aulkyle2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 4, '07
Posts: 59
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SU$: 479
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kyp View Post
I know this sounds stupid but how do you reset you phone incase i ever mess something up and need to do that.

Also what does resetting it clear? Can you redownload the apps you've bought. The phone itself is still registered to the sprint account right, i wouldn't have to call/go to sprint to get it working right.
When I had problems with mine I just hard reset it. TO hard reset your phone you turn off, then when you go to hit power back on, you hold home and back while you power on.

*****SETS PHONE BACK TO FACTORY*******
aulkyle2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2009, 08:27 PM   #10
mobilehavoc
Telephone User
 
mobilehavoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 11, '09
Posts: 157
Thanks: 2
Thanked 41 Times in 15 Posts
SU$: 1,329
It's the Dialer. Download and run Spare Parts. Go to Battery Activity, Partial Wakelock. You'll almost definitely see Dialer keeping your phone awake all the time. It'll be ok for a little while after a reboot but then it'll happen. Trust me. I think it's a bug with 1.5.
mobilehavoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2009, 10:10 PM   #11
sleepyEDB
Telegraph User
 
sleepyEDB's Avatar
 
Mood: Sleepy
Join Date: Oct 13, '09
Posts: 34
Thanks: 3
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
My Mood: Sleepy
SU$: 316
Exclamation

Quote:
Originally Posted by mobilehavoc View Post
It's the Dialer. Download and run Spare Parts. Go to Battery Activity, Partial Wakelock. You'll almost definitely see Dialer keeping your phone awake all the time. It'll be ok for a little while after a reboot but then it'll happen. Trust me. I think it's a bug with 1.5.
This appears to be correct, at least for me. My awake time is 93% and the blue bar representing my Dialer in Spare Parts is almost completely full.

Nice find, mobilehavoc! Now, how to fix it...


sleepy
__________________


"The road of life is rocky and you may stumble too. So while you point your finger, someone else is judging you." --Bob Marley
sleepyEDB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2009, 10:41 PM   #12
JWFOS22
Telephone User
 
JWFOS22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 3, '06
Location: Midlothian,TX
Posts: 157
Phone: Sprint HTC Hero
Thanks: 35
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
SU$: 968
Quote:
Originally Posted by sleepyEDB View Post
This appears to be correct, at least for me. My awake time is 93% and the blue bar representing my Dialer in Spare Parts is almost completely full.

Nice find, mobilehavoc! Now, how to fix it...


sleepy
My Question exactly
JWFOS22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2009, 10:10 AM   #13
Saberj
Telephone User
 
Saberj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2, '07
Posts: 129
Thanks: 1
Thanked 22 Times in 10 Posts
SU$: 1,656
Quote:
Originally Posted by mobilehavoc View Post
It's the Dialer. Download and run Spare Parts. Go to Battery Activity, Partial Wakelock. You'll almost definitely see Dialer keeping your phone awake all the time. It'll be ok for a little while after a reboot but then it'll happen. Trust me. I think it's a bug with 1.5.

Yep, Spare Parts is showing Dialer using a large amount of my awake time.
Saberj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2009, 10:42 AM   #14
zerocypher
Two Cans & String User
 
zerocypher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 13, '09
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 5
Phone: HTC Hero
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SU$: 37
After running the update for Voicemail, my awake time dropped from 99% to about 8%. Don't know why they didn't apply this before releasing the phone. I guess they figured everyone would eventually set up their voicemail. Before that I tried App Killer and didn't do too much good.
zerocypher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2009, 10:47 AM   #15
marley22
Telegraph User
 
marley22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 28, '08
Location: Sarasota, FL
Posts: 25
Phone: HTC EVO
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SU$: 275
I had the current version, but I just ran it again told me "no updates available", and I checked the usesage, and it went from 100 to like 48 percent. So even if you have the current version, try doing the update anyways! Seemed to work for me!
marley22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Go Back SprintUsers.com writeLink(2223986, 0, 0, 153021, "", "For those with 100% Awake...", "10-13-2009", "08:09 PM", 1); writeLink(2223990, 0, 0, 83022, "T", "I updated my VM yesterday and...", "10-13-2009", "08:11 PM", 1); writeLink(2223992, 0, 0, 153021, "I,L", "have you restarted since...", "10-13-2009", "08:14 PM", 1); writeLink(2223994, 0, 0, 83022, "T", "I have AdvanceTaskkiller do I...", "10-13-2009", "08:17 PM", 1); writeLink(2223997, 0, 0, 153021, "I,L", "I leave email, and messages...", "10-13-2009", "08:21 PM", 1); writeLink(2224001, 0, 0, 83022, "T", "We'll figure it out. I'll...", "10-13-2009", "08:26 PM", 1); writeLink(2224002, 0, 0, 222929, "T", "I know this sounds stupid but...", "10-13-2009", "08:27 PM", 1); writeLink(2224086, 0, 0, 153021, "I,T", "Factory reset is located...", "10-13-2009", "09:48 PM", 1); writeLink(2226758, 0, 0, 135184, "I,L", "When I had problems with mine...", "10-16-2009", "11:59 AM", 1); writeLink(2224003, 0, 0, 222973, "T", "It's the Dialer. Download and...", "10-13-2009", "08:27 PM", 1); writeLink(2224108, 0, 0, 223281, "I,T", "This appears to be correct,...", "10-13-2009", "10:10 PM", 1); writeLink(2224131, 0, 0, 83022, "I,I,L", "My Question exactly :Popcorn2:", "10-13-2009", "10:41 PM", 1); writeLink(2224475, 0, 0, 135011, "I,L", "Yep, Spare Parts is showing...", "10-14-2009", "10:10 AM", 1); writeLink(2224499, 0, 0, 223231, "I,1,L", "After running the update for...", "10-14-2009", "10:42 AM", 1); writeLink(2224504, 0, 0, 156250, "I,2,L", "I had the current version,...", "10-14-2009", "10:47 AM", 1); writeLink(2224004, 0, 0, 83022, "T", "Mobilehavoc, The dialer is...", "10-13-2009", "08:30 PM", 1); writeLink(2224010, 0, 0, 152650, "T", "for those with this problem,...", "10-13-2009", "08:34 PM", 1); writeLink(2224180, 0, 0, 222973, "T", "I think we just need to make...", "10-13-2009", "11:41 PM", 1); writeLink(2224407, 0, 0, 223281, "I,L", "Just an update... \n \n Before...", "10-14-2009", "09:07 AM", 1); writeLink(2224442, 0, 0, 8129, "T", "here is what a friend and i...", "10-14-2009", "09:39 AM", 1); writeLink(2224505, 0, 0, 8129, "T", "zerocypher, check your awake...", "10-14-2009", "10:47 AM", 1); writeLink(2224508, 0, 0, 223231, "I,T", "ill, I think I ran into that...", "10-14-2009", "10:53 AM", 1); writeLink(2224511, 0, 0, 222973, "I,L", "Does anybody have a # or...", "10-14-2009", "10:58 AM", 1); writeLink(2224514, 0, 0, 8129, "T", "i noticed that option there.....", "10-14-2009", "11:02 AM", 1); writeLink(2224564, 0, 0, 68648, "T", "CDMA phones don't need an SMSC", "10-14-2009", "11:29 AM", 1); writeLink(2224591, 0, 0, 222973, "T", "I CAN CONFIRM that the dialer...", "10-14-2009", "11:48 AM", 1); writeLink(2224610, 0, 0, 83022, "T", "THis maybe a fix for our...", "10-14-2009", "11:56 AM", 1); writeLink(2224636, 0, 0, 222973, "T", "Actually THIS might be the...", "10-14-2009", "12:11 PM", 1); writeLink(2224653, 0, 0, 222973, "T", "THIS IS THE FIX!!!! \n \n \n...", "10-14-2009", "12:21 PM", 1); writeLink(2224691, 0, 0, 223281, "I,L", "mobilehavoc- \n \nI've just...", "10-14-2009", "12:50 PM", 1); writeLink(2224709, 0, 0, 222973, "I,1,T", "Great! If that doens't work I...", "10-14-2009", "12:59 PM", 1); writeLink(2224846, 0, 0, 223281, "I,1,L", "I know I haven't been testing...", "10-14-2009", "02:33 PM", 1); writeLink(2224928, 0, 0, 223281, "I,2,L", "Here's the latest: \n \nDialer...", "10-14-2009", "04:03 PM", 1); writeLink(2224796, 0, 0, 8129, "T", "handcent sms does work. \n i...", "10-14-2009", "01:54 PM", 1); writeLink(2224944, 0, 0, 150199, "T", "Handcent is much better than...", "10-14-2009", "04:21 PM", 1); writeLink(2224958, 0, 0, 150199, "T", "By the way, with Handcent...", "10-14-2009", "04:34 PM", 1); writeLink(2225078, 0, 0, 223396, "I,T", "but, i keep recieving texts...", "10-14-2009", "06:46 PM", 1); writeLink(2226438, 0, 0, 161755, "I,I,L", "You can't. All you can do is...", "10-15-2009", "11:56 PM", 1); writeLink(2225543, 0, 0, 223281, "I,L", "Thanks for the confirmation. ...", "10-15-2009", "07:11 AM", 1); writeLink(2225600, 0, 0, 223606, "I,1,L", "Still having troubles...", "10-15-2009", "08:53 AM", 1); writeLink(2225098, 0, 0, 222652, "T", "had the same problem with MMS...", "10-14-2009", "07:02 PM", 1); writeLink(2226500, 0, 0, 157288, "T", "Yeah...I with mtsalmon on...", "10-16-2009", "01:54 AM", 1); writeLink(2226679, 0, 0, 155407, "I,L", "What worked for me is this....", "10-16-2009", "10:24 AM", 1); writeLink(2226710, 0, 0, 132876, "I,1,L", "I was wondering if anyone...", "10-16-2009", "10:57 AM", 1); writeLink(2226717, 0, 0, 1398, "T", "I have chomp working nicely...", "10-16-2009", "11:03 AM", 1); writeLink(2226765, 0, 0, 111133, "T", "do have a preferred task...", "10-16-2009", "12:09 PM", 1); writeLink(2226788, 0, 0, 130615, "T", "there are, at minimum, 50...", "10-16-2009", "12:50 PM", 1); writeLink(2226923, 0, 0, 98991, "T", "Ok guys, I have Handcent...", "10-16-2009", "04:07 PM", 1); writeLink(2226953, 0, 0, 157288, "I,T", "Still not working for me...", "10-16-2009", "04:41 PM", 1); writeLink(2227415, 0, 0, 153021, "I,I,L", "update update ur voicemail,...", "10-17-2009", "11:44 AM", 1); writeLink(2226972, 0, 0, 98991, "I,L", "Never mind guys, I was able...", "10-16-2009", "05:10 PM", 1); writeLink(2229986, 0, 0, 17999, "I,1,L", "I can't find the setting to...", "10-20-2009", "07:22 PM", 1); writeLink(2230005, 0, 0, 160912, "I,2,L", "menu>setting>notifcations \n...", "10-20-2009", "07:44 PM", 1); writeLink(2230269, 0, 0, 0, "I,3,L", "", "more", "", 1); writeLink(2227360, 0, 0, 223396, "T", "ok, now i love my phone. the...", "10-17-2009", "10:08 AM", 1); writeLink(2227531, 0, 0, 157288, "T", "I did update the...", "10-17-2009", "03:24 PM", 1); writeLink(2227587, 0, 0, 222749, "I,L", "thanks for all the advice in...", "10-17-2009", "04:46 PM", 1); writeLink(2229840, 0, 0, 157288, "T", "I finally got mine...", "10-20-2009", "03:53 PM", 1); writeLink(2229843, 0, 0, 222652, "I,T", "what firmware?", "10-20-2009", "03:54 PM", 1); writeLink(2229911, 0, 0, 223617, "I,L", "So are you using Handcent or...", "10-20-2009", "05:48 PM", 1); writeLink(2229849, 0, 0, 132876, "T", "Ok so we have someone who...", "10-20-2009", "04:00 PM", 1); writeLink(2229965, 0, 0, 153021, "I,L", "i am not, ever since I...", "10-20-2009", "07:02 PM", 1); writeLink(2229999, 0, 0, 132876, "I,1,L", "It's still the same as it has...", "10-20-2009", "07:35 PM", 1); writeLink(2230225, 0, 0, 157288, "L", "Right now my awake is at...", "10-21-2009", "12:13 AM", 1); > Devices > Android (Google) Based Phones > For those with 100% Awake time [FIX]

Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Time Warner shelves plan to cap Internet use DJRider The Tech News Desk 10 04-29-2009 03:16 AM
HEADS UP! TX, NC, & NY - Time Warner Cable Introducing Bandwidth Caps! thesonofgray Watercooler 0 04-04-2009 11:40 AM
Message time wrong in pocket outlook zebradude Windows Mobile (6.x and earlier) 0 03-30-2009 08:00 PM
Time Delay on the Touch and Alarm cschnider Windows Mobile (6.x and earlier) 1 07-23-2008 08:56 AM
Touch Time is Behind mikejames07 Windows Mobile (6.x and earlier) 2 02-20-2008 10:43 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:33 PM.


- SprintUsers.com is not affiliated with or endorsed by Sprint PCS -