Join 200,000+ other SprintUsers for free at the #1 online community for Sprint cell phone customers! Win cool prizes in our weekly contests. Talk about the newest phones or post your question in our forums! Become a premium member and get unlimited Focus Uploads to your Sprint phone.

All visitors must register before they can post questions, contact other members or search our database of over 127,000 threads and 1.7 million posts. So what are you waiting for? Register for free today!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 26 votes, 4.81 average. Display Modes
Old 08-14-2010, 06:41 PM   #16
diveborg
Cellular Phone User
 
diveborg's Avatar
 
Mood: Blah
Join Date: Sep 27, '08
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,944
Phone: iPhone 5
Trades: 1
Thanks: 76
Thanked 71 Times in 61 Posts
My Mood: Blah
SU$: 27,338
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan View Post
It sounds like somehow the settings / programming got changed on pic mail for her phone during the swapping. I call to tech support from another line should get them to walk you through the steps needed to ensure the device is programmed properly.
We were at a local sprint corp. store today. The helpful rep tried some stuff and said the phone probably needed a hard restart to reprovision the data. Since that wipes the phone, my daughter didn't want to do that until we backed it up. Since then I discovered she's good for the $150 upgrade credit so I'm going to get her the Samsung Intercept. Yes, I know it isn't the "best" android phone, but it will definitely be a step up from the centro, and it comes in pink.
__________________
Thanks to greyuser for the donation to get me to Premium.
diveborg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2010, 06:45 PM   #17
711
Telephone User
 
711's Avatar
 
Mood: Fine
Join Date: Aug 11, '10
Posts: 151
Phone: Moto X
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
My Mood: Fine
SU$: 1,023
Quote:
Originally Posted by diveborg View Post
We were at a local sprint corp. store today. The helpful rep tried some stuff and said the phone probably needed a hard restart to reprovision the data. Since that wipes the phone, my daughter didn't want to do that until we backed it up. Since then I discovered she's good for the $150 upgrade credit so I'm going to get her the Samsung Intercept. Yes, I know it isn't the "best" android phone, but it will definitely be a step up from the centro, and it comes in pink.
Just fyi for next time, there are other ways of refreshing the data besides wiping out everything in the phone. For example a data refresh over the air, usually fixes the problem about 90% of the time. Plus you don't loose your information.
711 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2010, 06:48 PM   #18
Dragonman
SU Expert judge MAS 2011
 
Dragonman's Avatar
 
Mood: Cool
Join Date: Dec 15, '04
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,772
Phone: Galaxy S II
Trades: 4
Thanks: 46
Thanked 61 Times in 50 Posts
My Mood: Cool
SU$: 9,734
Send a message via Yahoo to Dragonman Send a message via Skype™ to Dragonman
Wirelessly posted (Palm Pre: Mozilla/5.0 (webOS/1.4.1.1; U; en-US) AppleWebKit/532.2 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/1.0 Safari/532.2 Pre/1.0)

+1 for Google Voice. I actually forward my voice calls from my Pre (no charge for employees) to my ic902 PowerSource phone then conditiolly call forward my ic902 to Google Voice and as far as my callers know it is my regular Sprint Voicemail...no lag even with double call forwarding.

BTW I don't recommend consumers call forward as it costs 20 cents/min. Conditinal call forwarding using the *28+ Google Voice/Youmail) # is free
__________________
I am an former 6.5year Corporate Sprint Tech and Sales Rep and the postings on this site are my own and do not necessarily represent the positions, strategies or opinions of Sprint
Dragonman is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Dragonman For This Useful Post:
Trekker (08-14-2010)
Old 08-14-2010, 06:50 PM   #19
Dan
Forever my Angel
 
Dan's Avatar
 
Mood: Relaxed
Join Date: Feb 6, '05
Location: western NY
Posts: 23,910
Phone: Verizon S7 Edge
Trades: 1
Thanks: 47
Thanked 753 Times in 616 Posts
My Mood: Relaxed
SU$: 129,291
Quote:
Originally Posted by diveborg View Post
We were at a local sprint corp. store today. The helpful rep tried some stuff and said the phone probably needed a hard restart to reprovision the data. Since that wipes the phone, my daughter didn't want to do that until we backed it up. Since then I discovered she's good for the $150 upgrade credit so I'm going to get her the Samsung Intercept. Yes, I know it isn't the "best" android phone, but it will definitely be a step up from the centro, and it comes in pink.
The store should be able to back up her contacts at a minimum before they do any hard reset. It's unreasonable to think that the customer has recently backed up all of their info.

I hope she likes the Intercept. I haven't heard much about it, but a store manager at a local radio shack got one and told me that he wanted to destroy it quickly. He reactivated his Hero fast to restore his sanity, so I hope it works well for her. If not, a pink case for another phone?
__________________
My angel is now an angel in heaven. 5/25/2000 - 12/5/2010. Rest in peace Alaina.
Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2010, 07:30 PM   #20
bigchico68
I Use A Pager
 
bigchico68's Avatar
 
Mood: Mellow
Join Date: Oct 28, '08
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 4,555
Phone: HTC One M8
Trades: 1
Thanks: 374
Thanked 434 Times in 300 Posts
My Mood: Mellow
SU$: 28,334
Send a message via AIM to bigchico68
Quote:
Originally Posted by DuffMan View Post
Your response just seemed kind of strange.

Perhaps I took it the wrong way. Or I was stepping on your toes. That's all.
No not stepping on my toes at all. I didn't mean anything bad by what I said, if it came off the wrong way I apoligize.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan View Post
I think that he was just asking that those who reply do so without being rude about the question / request. Obviously we want factual information posted, so its always a good idea to know what your talking about as opposed to guessing.

So, if you know an answer and are nice about how you are replying, even if it is to tell the person their request is not possible, post!
Thanks for clarifying! That is what I was getting at.
__________________
Need Help/Advice Click HERE
Don't forget to say Thanks!!
Please note: The postings on this site are my own and do not necessarily represent the positions, strategies or opinions of Sprint.
bigchico68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2010, 07:36 PM   #21
bigchico68
I Use A Pager
 
bigchico68's Avatar
 
Mood: Mellow
Join Date: Oct 28, '08
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 4,555
Phone: HTC One M8
Trades: 1
Thanks: 374
Thanked 434 Times in 300 Posts
My Mood: Mellow
SU$: 28,334
Send a message via AIM to bigchico68
Quote:
Originally Posted by 711 View Post
Just fyi for next time, there are other ways of refreshing the data besides wiping out everything in the phone. For example a data refresh over the air, usually fixes the problem about 90% of the time. Plus you don't loose your information.
Also just doing a data restore from the 3282 menu will fix it almost everytime. Which would require a service center or call to tech support obviously.
__________________
Need Help/Advice Click HERE
Don't forget to say Thanks!!
Please note: The postings on this site are my own and do not necessarily represent the positions, strategies or opinions of Sprint.
bigchico68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2010, 08:42 PM   #22
Trekker
Spaced
 
Trekker's Avatar
 
Mood: Lurking
Join Date: Feb 11, '06
Location: Out there
Posts: 1,413
Phone: Galaxy S III
Thanks: 11
Thanked 7 Times in 4 Posts
My Mood: Lurking
SU$: 1,647
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan View Post
I'd think, since you can show that changing to Google Voice makes it an instant connection, that you are due some sort of a refund. I don't see how they can keep your money if they can't make their product work with a reasonably short delay.
Yeah, I'm thinking about it. Their latest suggestion was to use YouMail's Dropbox feature. Basically Google Voice is forwarded to YouMail. Sounds like overkill.

Strange because other there are others that use Sprint with YouMail and they say they have no delay at all.
Trekker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2010, 03:13 PM   #23
lenny_go
Telephone User
 
lenny_go's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 7, '09
Posts: 133
Phone: Samsung Epic 4G
Thanks: 7
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
SU$: 1,513
Quote:
Originally Posted by diveborg View Post
Since then I discovered she's good for the $150 upgrade credit so I'm going to get her the Samsung Intercept. Yes, I know it isn't the "best" android phone, but it will definitely be a step up from the centro, and it comes in pink.
You might want to try the Moment as well as the Intercept. Everything I've heard is that the Intercept (newer phone) is a downgrade from the Moment (older phone).

Guess Samsung has a history of releasing new phones that are a downgrade from the phones that they are replacing (e.g the Instinct).
lenny_go is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2010, 04:21 PM   #24
ajac
Satellite Phone User
 
ajac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 3, '06
Location: norman oklahoma
Posts: 4,964
Phone: htc evo
Thanks: 30
Thanked 142 Times in 112 Posts
SU$: 34,956
Hopefully I can help out in anyway to
__________________
Epic touch sprint
Skyrocket AT&T

Location location location.
ajac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2010, 11:44 PM   #25
lenny_go
Telephone User
 
lenny_go's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 7, '09
Posts: 133
Phone: Samsung Epic 4G
Thanks: 7
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
SU$: 1,513
New Customer Pricing after 12 months

This is a followup question to the question that I asked in the old thread, but the old thread is closed now. Summary: Have Palm Pre that I want to replace with Epic 4G as cheaply as possible within Sprint's policies. Line is an add-a-phone on a family share plan (not primary line). I want to keep my phone number. ETF as of 9/2010 will be $90, and I'm prepared to pay it.

What looked like the best suggestion was to add another line to share plan with the Epic (account is eligible for another line), port my Pre's # to a prepaid phone, then port my desired # back to Sprint on the Epic line.

Questions:
1. How long does my # need to stay away from Sprint before I can port it back to Sprint? Any pitfalls I should be aware of?
2. Assuming I wait to port back until all rebates are taken care of (if applicable), are there any other gotchas or fees I need to watch out for?
3. Any gotchas if I buy the Epic from Best Buy/The Shack?

I am willing to jump through hoops, but I still want this to go as smoothly as possible.

Thanks!
lenny_go is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to lenny_go For This Useful Post:
usernameOU812 (09-22-2010)
Old 08-16-2010, 12:35 AM   #26
Dan
Forever my Angel
 
Dan's Avatar
 
Mood: Relaxed
Join Date: Feb 6, '05
Location: western NY
Posts: 23,910
Phone: Verizon S7 Edge
Trades: 1
Thanks: 47
Thanked 753 Times in 616 Posts
My Mood: Relaxed
SU$: 129,291
Quote:
Originally Posted by lenny_go View Post
This is a followup question to the question that I asked in the old thread, but the old thread is closed now. Summary: Have Palm Pre that I want to replace with Epic 4G as cheaply as possible within Sprint's policies. Line is an add-a-phone on a family share plan (not primary line). I want to keep my phone number. ETF as of 9/2010 will be $90, and I'm prepared to pay it.

What looked like the best suggestion was to add another line to share plan with the Epic (account is eligible for another line), port my Pre's # to a prepaid phone, then port my desired # back to Sprint on the Epic line.

Questions:
1. How long does my # need to stay away from Sprint before I can port it back to Sprint? Any pitfalls I should be aware of?
2. Assuming I wait to port back until all rebates are taken care of (if applicable), are there any other gotchas or fees I need to watch out for?
3. Any gotchas if I buy the Epic from Best Buy/The Shack?

I am willing to jump through hoops, but I still want this to go as smoothly as possible.

Thanks!
You should be able to do it like this. Port your existing number to the carrier of your choice, obviously not Virgin or Boost. The port can be quick or take a few days. At the same time, get the Epic from Radio Shack or Best Buy. The rebates are instant, and I don't believe they have any rules like the .com sites do with making no changes for 180 days. You could mention to the sales rep that you will be porting in from another carrier once your contract is up. I'd wait 24 hours to attempt to port the old number back in after the successful port is completed so the number is out of Sprint computers fully.

Sprint doesn't charge any porting fee's I am aware of. You would just pay the ETF on the old line, pay the activation on the new line, and whatever costs you have for the prepaid phone.

I hope that helps some
__________________
My angel is now an angel in heaven. 5/25/2000 - 12/5/2010. Rest in peace Alaina.
Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Dan For This Useful Post:
lenny_go (08-16-2010), usernameOU812 (09-22-2010)
Old 08-16-2010, 03:18 AM   #27
mnrstrider
Telegraph User
 
mnrstrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 10, '03
Posts: 38
Phone: HTC Touch Pro
Thanks: 7
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SU$: 571
Stupid question, I'm certain it's been covered, I for the life of my can't figure out how to search the proper key words to answer the question so I ask....

I'm eligible for an upgrade, the wife isn't, Thinking I'd do and upgrade for the evo and swap the phone to her....

I know this isn't going to be that simple... First off rebates? fee's to swap phones?, she's not due for an upgrade until novemberish (htc hero in Nov last year, premier customers)

How does one go about this? and the least costly way, I suppose I could manage to buy it from BB, or something and no worry about the rebate hassle, I may just like to exercise the power to pay for it in a couple months on my bill if I do it through sprint.

I'm currently running a TP2, I'm thinking I may switch to her hero for giggles, until I find a phone upgrade worthy, not sure the EVO is really the phone I want, overall my TP2 is still running strong, pretty much issue free, though it is starting to get a little old....

The hero is pretty bad right now, barely working, I think I can fix it with some custom rom, right now she needs a smart phone that works, ( a TP2 to hero swap has already been shot down....) I'm also not sure I want to give my phone up either, more like play with the hero a bit, swap back to the TP2 when ever I feel like it....

Thoughts?
__________________
Sprint PCS customer since May of '97
mnrstrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2010, 08:51 AM   #28
lenny_go
Telephone User
 
lenny_go's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 7, '09
Posts: 133
Phone: Samsung Epic 4G
Thanks: 7
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
SU$: 1,513
Quote:
Originally Posted by mnrstrider View Post
I'm eligible for an upgrade, the wife isn't, Thinking I'd do and upgrade for the evo and swap the phone to her....
Your biggest challenge will be finding an evo.
Quote:
First off rebates?
If you buy from best buy or The Shack, there will be no mail-in rebates. They have instant rebates, instead. If you buy from Sprint, don't make any changes to the line you are upgrading until your rebate is processed.
Quote:
fee's to swap phones?,
No, this is free. Call *2, or you may be able to do it online. Do not do this until your rebate is processed.
Quote:
she's not due for an upgrade until novemberish (htc hero in Nov last year, premier customers)
Is november month 22 or month 24? You can upgrade at month 22 (month 21, if you call retentions and tell them your phone is broken), so you might be eligible before you think.
Quote:
I may just like to exercise the power to pay for it in a couple months on my bill if I do it through sprint.
Personally, I'd value instant rebates much more highly than spreading a purchase out over a few months. Rebates sometimes get erroneously denied and then you have to fight for it. Can turn into a real pain in the neck.

Don't forget you'll pay a $10/mo 4G fee on the EVO. If you're looking for a decent, hackable Android device, the Samsung Moment might be worth an evaluation. It's not the latest and greatest anymore, but it's way better than the Hero.
lenny_go is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to lenny_go For This Useful Post:
mnrstrider (08-17-2010)
Old 08-20-2010, 12:22 AM   #29
dssproxy
Telephone User
 
dssproxy's Avatar
 
Mood: Relaxed
Join Date: May 25, '10
Location: USA
Posts: 226
Phone: EVO
Thanks: 22
Thanked 24 Times in 18 Posts
My Mood: Relaxed
SU$: 1,893
Ok I purchased a few old F&C plans, I am having issues with Sprint doing a TOL. Is there a way to get the TOL done? The hold up is the PV addon.

Any help or ideas?
__________________
Offensive signature removed. Don't flame people in your signatures!
dssproxy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2010, 12:38 AM   #30
pileosnafu
Cordless Phone User
 
pileosnafu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 15, '07
Posts: 653
Phone: 9650 & Epic
Thanks: 2
Thanked 31 Times in 30 Posts
SU$: 4,254
Quote:
Originally Posted by dssproxy View Post
Ok I purchased a few old F&C plans, I am having issues with Sprint doing a TOL. Is there a way to get the TOL done? The hold up is the PV addon.

Any help or ideas?
The issues become that the system will not let the F&C plan on to an account that is not qualified for it. Based on the fact that is looks like a 3rd party Employee plan. This plan will not go onto a new "or old account" that never had it before. When a rep goes to swap the account the system will force a plan change with an Error message about the price plan not being part of the ban.

Sorry
__________________
Please note: The postings on this site are my own and do not necessarily represent the positions, strategies or opinions of Sprint
pileosnafu is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to pileosnafu For This Useful Post:
dssproxy (08-20-2010)
Go Back SprintUsers.com > General > Sprint Discussion > Sprint Rep/Tech here to help!! Part 2!!!!

Reply

Tags
questions, sprint rep, technician

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Message from Dan dmeier1231 Sprint Discussion 12 12-16-2008 02:41 AM
Sprint has Great Customer Service!! Just not when you call or email or chat lol psvillars Rants, Debates, & Farewells - All Carriers 3 09-19-2008 08:03 PM
Sprint Cup Mobile RANT carcat9911 Rants, Debates, & Farewells - All Carriers 0 05-11-2008 03:13 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:14 PM.


- SprintUsers.com is not affiliated with or endorsed by Sprint PCS -