Join 200,000+ other SprintUsers for free at the #1 online community for Sprint cell phone customers! Win cool prizes in our weekly contests. Talk about the newest phones or post your question in our forums! Become a premium member and get unlimited Focus Uploads to your Sprint phone.

All visitors must register before they can post questions, contact other members or search our database of over 127,000 threads and 1.7 million posts. So what are you waiting for? Register for free today!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 02-04-2010, 06:31 PM   #1
Dan
Forever my Angel
 
Dan's Avatar
 
Mood: Relaxed
Join Date: Feb 6, '05
Location: western NY
Posts: 23,959
Phone: Verizon S7 Edge
Trades: 1
Thanks: 47
Thanked 753 Times in 616 Posts
My Mood: Relaxed
SU$: 129,291
Questions about "plan required" devices

Quote:
"In order to activate Pre, Pixi, Hero, Moment, Blackberry Curve 8530, or Instinct phone, you need a Sprint Everything Data, Simply Everything, or Everything Data Family Plans. There is no way around this requirement, so please do not ask."
This list may be added to, but simply put you either choose the device or choose to keep a plan that will not support the device. Sprint is not currently offering any work-around for this, no data pack add on to make them work.

So, you choose the device and switch plans or choose another device that will work with your current plan. If you have a question about other devices, post it here and we will try and get you an answer.

DO NOT post any complaints about the policy in this thread. Only post questions about newer devices, or devices that are not on the list and the store told you required a plan change.
__________________
My angel is now an angel in heaven. 5/25/2000 - 12/5/2010. Rest in peace Alaina.
Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2010, 08:25 PM   #2
KB112
sIgh-Phone
 
KB112's Avatar
 
Mood: Breezy
Join Date: Dec 23, '08
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 2,252
Phone: iPhone 7 Plus
Thanks: 108
Thanked 125 Times in 117 Posts
My Mood: Breezy
SU$: 22,277
Shouldn't we have the current list of phones included in the sticky?
KB112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2010, 08:49 PM   #3
boomhower
Digital PCS User
 
boomhower's Avatar
 
Mood: Yeehaw
Join Date: Oct 26, '08
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 3,790
Phone: 4S ordered
Trades: 5
Thanks: 21
Thanked 280 Times in 250 Posts
My Mood: Yeehaw
SU$: 31,956
Wouldn't this work as well? It may be titled SERO but it's the same difference.
__________________
If I helped don't forget to hit the thanks!
boomhower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2010, 10:09 PM   #4
Dan
Forever my Angel
 
Dan's Avatar
 
Mood: Relaxed
Join Date: Feb 6, '05
Location: western NY
Posts: 23,959
Phone: Verizon S7 Edge
Trades: 1
Thanks: 47
Thanked 753 Times in 616 Posts
My Mood: Relaxed
SU$: 129,291
Quote:
Originally Posted by KB112 View Post
Shouldn't we have the current list of phones included in the sticky?
Quote:
Originally Posted by boomhower View Post
Wouldn't this work as well? It may be titled SERO but it's the same difference.
I thought the quoted text included the current phones. I can obviously edit my post as needed to include any new phones that may appear and if they require an "everything data" type of a plan.

__________________
My angel is now an angel in heaven. 5/25/2000 - 12/5/2010. Rest in peace Alaina.
Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2010, 11:04 PM   #5
KB112
sIgh-Phone
 
KB112's Avatar
 
Mood: Breezy
Join Date: Dec 23, '08
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 2,252
Phone: iPhone 7 Plus
Thanks: 108
Thanked 125 Times in 117 Posts
My Mood: Breezy
SU$: 22,277
I must be trippin Brother. lol I swear I did not see the quoted part the first time. lol
KB112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 10:30 AM   #6
pmanny2000
Two Cans & String User
 
pmanny2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 26, '10
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
SU$: 131
Yesterday I discovered a little apparent untold truth:

I got a phone at Att that does not come with a data plan. So the phone is sold as that. The phone, however, has the option for a data plan to be added later if desired. Now I don't know what limits my phone would have (Solstice ii) that would prevent it from using the full advantages of a data plan, but I seem to have the option to add data only if I want.
pmanny2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 03:12 PM   #7
KB112
sIgh-Phone
 
KB112's Avatar
 
Mood: Breezy
Join Date: Dec 23, '08
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 2,252
Phone: iPhone 7 Plus
Thanks: 108
Thanked 125 Times in 117 Posts
My Mood: Breezy
SU$: 22,277
You're talking about activating an AT&T phone for data on AT&T or you're saying you wanna activate it on Sprint? It won't work on Sprint as it is GSM not CDMA and Sprint will not activate a non Sprint phone anyways. This seems kind of off topic for this thread also.
__________________
Premier Gold...uh...nevermind.
ED 1500 (iPhone 7 Plus, iPhone 6, iPhone 6s, iPhone SE, Kyocera Verve, Kyocera DuraPlus)
18% Corp Discount
KB112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2011, 08:07 PM   #8
incarceration
Telegraph User
 
incarceration's Avatar
 
Mood: Cool
Join Date: Sep 11, '04
Location: FL
Posts: 74
Phone: LG Optimus S
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
My Mood: Cool
SU$: 585
LG Optimus S, the sales rep informed me regardless of my attempts to avoid it, that our grandfathered plan must be changed to the "everything data" + $10\mo because "it is an android phone"
incarceration is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2011, 08:21 PM   #9
Freak4Dell
Account Locked
 
Freak4Dell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 6, '05
Location: Garland, TX
Posts: 5,322
Phone: Samsung M920
Trades: 2
Thanks: 13
Thanked 76 Times in 63 Posts
SU$: 0
Send a message via AIM to Freak4Dell
Quote:
Originally Posted by incarceration View Post
LG Optimus S, the sales rep informed me regardless of my attempts to avoid it, that our grandfathered plan must be changed to the "everything data" + $10\mo because "it is an android phone"
That is true.
__________________
a740 --> a900 --> Katana --> a900 --> a900m --> M1 --> a900m --> PPC6700 --> a900m--> 8400 --> a900m --> Treo 700wx --> Treo 800w --> Transform + Droid Pro
Freak4Dell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2011, 05:35 PM   #10
datoe33
Two Cans & String User
 
datoe33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 22, '11
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SU$: 24
"...choose another device that will work with your current plan."

Hi Dan,

So glad I found your post. It's been tough finding people that acknowledge the dilemma I am in so finding your thread has been great.

I am a Sprint user that is looking into another device that will work with my plan. Currently, I'm using a Treo 700P. It's been a great phone overall however it's on it's last leg and I'm looking to find a better replacement without being forced into upgrading to an Everything Data Plan; I am grandfathered into a low-price friends and family plan that has a data add-on.

Can you make any recommendations to other smart-ish phones that would not require me to change my plan? I would be willing to change to a phone on parity with the Treo as long as it is thinner.

While on the hunt for other options I have come to appreciate my Treo a lot more -- it is actually a remarkable phone with great battery life and web browsing capabilities in comparison to other phones of the same data-usage tier (e.g. Sanyo Innuendo). The Sprint site or customer service people were not very helpful in trying to find an improved option so was hoping you could point me in the right direction. Any input would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,
Badan
datoe33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2011, 01:52 PM   #11
BassFace
Palm User For Life
 
BassFace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 4, '04
Location: Indiana
Posts: 67
Phone: HTC EVO 3D
Trades: 1
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
SU$: 525
Send a message via AIM to BassFace Send a message via Yahoo to BassFace
After January 31, 2011 all Smartphones past and present including Android, Palm (WebOS or Palm OS variants), Blackberry (all OS variants), and Windows Mobile (all OS variants) phones as well as the Samsung Instinct are required to be on an Everything Data individual or shared plan or Simply Everything plan and require a $10/month Premium Data Add-on.

This includes walk-in activations, ESN swaps, and upgraded lines of service. Existing customers with any of these devices are not required to add the $10/month unless they are upgrading their device or swapping a walk-in device of a different smartphone model onto their line.

It is unfortunate, but this is Sprint's way of keeping data unlimited, where Verizon/T-Moblile/AT&T have not.
__________________
Sprint subscriber since 2003. | Sprint employee since 2011.
Nokia 3588i, Samsung a680, Sanyo PM-8200, Palm Treo 650, Palm Centro, Palm Treo Pro, Palm Pre, HTC EVO 4G, HTC EVO 3D.
**My posts solely reflect my views/opinions and not those of Sprint Nextel. I simply strive to help and inform the users of this forum.**
BassFace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2011, 10:08 PM   #12
lkvee
Two Cans & String User
 
lkvee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 26, '04
Location: Metro NYC
Posts: 8
Phone: Palm Treo 755p
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SU$: 67
I've read conflicting information from at least one other Sprint employee about this policy concerning the end-of-life phones. There was at least one thread (gotta log-in to view):

http://community.sprint.com/baw/message/318266

Most of all, I'd love to have my Treo 755p attached to an Everything Messaging plan. That's why I'm encouraged by reading a Sprint Tech saying it's possible with a Centro.
lkvee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2011, 06:05 AM   #13
jan83fry
Two Cans & String User
 
jan83fry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 15, '11
Location: USA
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SU$: 4
sprintusers

I really enjoyed the post but was wondering if you had any advice for those who have some nice bunch of ideas. Thanks!
jan83fry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2015, 05:15 PM   #14
jecson44
Two Cans & String User
 
jecson44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 6, '15
Location: uk
Posts: 1
Phone: nokia105
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SU$: 105
ep a plan that will not support the device. Sprint is not currently offering any work-around for this, no data pack add on to make them work.
jecson44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Go Back SprintUsers.com > General > Rants, Debates, & Farewells - All Carriers > Questions about "plan required" devices

Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Newbie plan upgrade/customer service questions bakermikeromeo Sprint Discussion 4 12-30-2009 03:03 PM
Newbie questions jstraw Windows Mobile (6.x and earlier) 6 01-10-2008 07:04 PM
GPS Devices that work with Cell phone's BT questions ajskhan Sprint Discussion 3 11-26-2007 07:47 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:22 AM.


- SprintUsers.com is not affiliated with or endorsed by Sprint PCS -