Join 200,000+ other SprintUsers for free at the #1 online community for Sprint cell phone customers! Win cool prizes in our weekly contests. Talk about the newest phones or post your question in our forums! Become a premium member and get unlimited Focus Uploads to your Sprint phone.

All visitors must register before they can post questions, contact other members or search our database of over 127,000 threads and 1.7 million posts. So what are you waiting for? Register for free today!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-12-2015, 12:43 AM   #1
Lexxous
Cellular Phone User
 
Lexxous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 22, '05
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,436
Phone: Moto X
Trades: 16
Thanks: 22
Thanked 48 Times in 44 Posts
SU$: 16,101
Help finding AT&T phone

I'm trying to find the best AT&T phone that uses an original data SIM card.... OS doesn't matter too much but Android would be most useful.

I have a Blackberry 9900 that is in mint condition but the data speed is still a little slow.

This is a work phone and they don't care if we put the SIM in a different phone but they won't allow us to get one of the newer SIM cards, micro or nano to get one of the newest and truest phones.

Which phones will leave my 9900 in the dust?
Lexxous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2015, 12:02 PM   #2
Lexxous
Cellular Phone User
 
Lexxous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 22, '05
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,436
Phone: Moto X
Trades: 16
Thanks: 22
Thanked 48 Times in 44 Posts
SU$: 16,101
120 views and no advice on a faster data phone that takes original sized SIM card?
Lexxous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2015, 05:09 PM   #3
BZap49
Cellular Phone User
 
BZap49's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 24, '11
Posts: 2,251
Thanks: 145
Thanked 273 Times in 200 Posts
SU$: 28,074
You could always cut your SIM to the proper size. Most of the SIM card is just useless plastic.

Of course, if your work is doing this because they don't want to pony up for a new plan, the SIM is probably not the issue in the first place. AT&T has been known to do IMEI sweeps and add/remove plan features to comply with their requirements.
BZap49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2015, 11:39 PM   #4
Lexxous
Cellular Phone User
 
Lexxous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 22, '05
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,436
Phone: Moto X
Trades: 16
Thanks: 22
Thanked 48 Times in 44 Posts
SU$: 16,101
Quote:
Originally Posted by BZap49 View Post
You could always cut your SIM to the proper size. Most of the SIM card is just useless plastic.

Of course, if your work is doing this because they don't want to pony up for a new plan, the SIM is probably not the issue in the first place. AT&T has been known to do IMEI sweeps and add/remove plan features to comply with their requirements.
That would be just my luck .. trying to cut the card down and render it useless... certainly couldn't explain that away.
Lexxous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2015, 12:24 AM   #5
PokerFace23
I haz the EVOO service
 
PokerFace23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 14, '06
Location: West Coast
Posts: 4,771
Phone: Evo
Trades: 1
Thanks: 113
Thanked 89 Times in 75 Posts
SU$: 16,424
Yeah atnt just changed two of my friends' plans after they got the iPhone 6 and 6+ without their approval. One went from a grandfathered unlimited on a family plan to shared data. The other single plan went from unlimited to something g else. The family plan got fixed but the single one still remains unsolved.
__________________
used to work for sprint. now i just torment them. here to help and judge your posts
PokerFace23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2015, 05:25 PM   #6
KTee
Cordless Phone User
 
KTee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 18, '08
Location: Chicagoland area
Posts: 966
Phone: Iphone
Trades: 10
Thanks: 263
Thanked 71 Times in 65 Posts
SU$: 9,551
Are they changing grandfathered plan add-ons that have the unl data that is paid for?
KTee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2015, 06:52 PM   #7
Lexxous
Cellular Phone User
 
Lexxous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 22, '05
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,436
Phone: Moto X
Trades: 16
Thanks: 22
Thanked 48 Times in 44 Posts
SU$: 16,101
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lexxous View Post
That would be just my luck .. trying to cut the card down and render it useless... certainly couldn't explain that away.
Well, I got a couple old sim cards and did some test cutting today. It worked out pretty well so I went the extra step and did it to my functional sim card.. now I'm using an iPhone 4S instead of an old blackberry. Yay!
Thanks for the clue-in
Lexxous is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Lexxous For This Useful Post:
KTee (02-15-2015)
Go Back SprintUsers.com > General > AT&T Discussion > Help finding AT&T phone

Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Shut-Down of Windows Marketplace for Mobile and My Phone Hamfighter Windows Mobile (6.x and earlier) 18 09-29-2011 06:16 PM
Novice Photon Review Sartrean Motorola 4 08-04-2011 03:53 AM
Please read this & offer any advice you can. TY! ZepTepi Total Equipment Protection 25 12-31-2009 12:11 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:09 AM.


- SprintUsers.com is not affiliated with or endorsed by Sprint PCS -