Join 200,000+ other SprintUsers for free at the #1 online community for Sprint cell phone customers! Win cool prizes in our weekly contests. Talk about the newest phones or post your question in our forums! Become a premium member and get unlimited Focus Uploads to your Sprint phone.

All visitors must register before they can post questions, contact other members or search our database of over 127,000 threads and 1.7 million posts. So what are you waiting for? Register for free today!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-13-2009, 03:04 PM   #1
grt8neaphew
cell phone guru
 
grt8neaphew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 28, '07
Location: Pottstown Pa
Posts: 61
Phone: Htc Touch Pro
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
SU$: 815
Send a message via AIM to grt8neaphew
htc touch pro screen keeps waking up

my touch pro will be locked and in my pocket in a case and i will pull it out without pressing anything and my screen will be on. its starting to kill my battery. can someone tell me why this is happening and how to stop it? and if there is another thread sorry but i looked and couldnt find it so post a link to it
__________________
Phone History: A900m(water damage)>Razr V3m(Moms old phone)>Palm Centro Black>Htc Touch Pro

grt8neaphew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2009, 03:37 PM   #2
TheTruckGuy
Wrangler to Off-Road..
 
TheTruckGuy's Avatar
 
Mood: Yeehaw
Join Date: Oct 18, '05
Location: Not in USA
Posts: 4,897
Phone: SonyErics K750i
Trades: 1
Thanks: 70
Thanked 111 Times in 75 Posts
My Mood: Yeehaw
SU$: 16,602
Send a message via AIM to TheTruckGuy
Is your Wifi On?
What your roaming status?
What is your network area?

I've seen that my phone wakes up with I go in and out of network area.. & I presume it does that when WiFi is available/unavailable..

thats all the possibility I can think of...
__________________
Wanna Earn some Quick SU$???
Visit Pick a Number & Camera Phone Scavenger Hunt threads in the Watercooler Forum

TheTruckGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2009, 03:41 PM   #3
grt8neaphew
cell phone guru
 
grt8neaphew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 28, '07
Location: Pottstown Pa
Posts: 61
Phone: Htc Touch Pro
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
SU$: 815
Send a message via AIM to grt8neaphew
nope
nope
my status is good i always have a strong status on network
so any of those cant be it
__________________
Phone History: A900m(water damage)>Razr V3m(Moms old phone)>Palm Centro Black>Htc Touch Pro

grt8neaphew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2009, 10:06 PM   #4
BrianJ
Telegraph User
 
BrianJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 25, '08
Location: College Station, Tx
Posts: 64
Phone: HTC Evo
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SU$: 601
Mine does that too. It is especially annoying when you get a text message and pulling the phone out of your pocket it ends up on some random screen. I have searched too and have no idea how to cure this. I installed Slide2Unlock to stop from getting some random screen when pulling it out of my pocket. Sorry, I hope someone has some advice . . .
BrianJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2009, 04:40 PM   #5
gaudet41
Two Cans & String User
 
gaudet41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 11, '06
Location: MASS
Posts: 9
Phone: PPC-6700
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
SU$: 93
I just got my Touch Pro a couple days ago and haven't noticed that problem yet. However, my previous phone (ppc6700) used to do that al of the time. I used to have it sitting on my desk and watch the screen randomly turn on every 10-15 minutes or so. It is very frustrating when it is in your pocket and you hit a button while the screen is on. Not sure but maybe this is a windows mobile bug? Sure seems like it.
gaudet41 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2009, 11:31 PM   #6
coldfire2122
Telegraph User
 
coldfire2122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 8, '07
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 19
Phone: HTC Hero
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SU$: 105
same here

My pro didn't do it when i first got it but it does now. I even did a hard reset thinking it was an app or hack that was doing it but even that didn't fix it. i think it must be a short in the power button or something, its the only explanation i can think of.
__________________
Plan:
Everything Plus Family 1600

My Phone History:
LG LX5350 -> Sanyo 8300 -> Samsung A920 -> HTC 6700 -> Palm Treo 700wx -> HTC 6800 Mogul -> HTC 6900 Touch -> Treo 800w -> HTC Touch Diamond -> HTC Touch Pro -> Blackberry Curve 8330 -> Blackberry Tour 9630-> HTC Hero

Sprint Subscriber Since 2002
coldfire2122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2009, 11:57 PM   #7
shoocream
Telegraph User
 
shoocream's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 4, '06
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 55
Phone: touch pro
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
SU$: 284
check setting-system-keylock. you could also get s2u2 slide to unlock! it is a great app to lock/unlock your phone.
shoocream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2009, 12:18 AM   #8
BrianJ
Telegraph User
 
BrianJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 25, '08
Location: College Station, Tx
Posts: 64
Phone: HTC Evo
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SU$: 601
I checked mine and it is on 'Lock all buttons except Power button.' How would this effect if the screen wakes up though?
BrianJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2009, 01:33 AM   #9
Brandon
I still play Pokemon
 
Brandon's Avatar
 
Mood: Amused
Join Date: Jun 16, '05
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 11,743
Phone: Galaxy Note 4
Trades: 17
Thanks: 24
Thanked 59 Times in 56 Posts
My Mood: Amused
SU$: 33,910
Send a message via AIM to Brandon Send a message via Yahoo to Brandon
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows CE; IEMobile 7.11) Sprint PPC6850SP)

It would stop you from having programs opening while your phones in your pocket because your screen may be on, I too have this problem.
__________________
Look to the Light.....FOLLOW the Light.
Brandon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2009, 11:01 AM   #10
ou2mame
cellphone addict
 
ou2mame's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 3, '03
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 689
Phone: HTC Evo 4G
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
SU$: 8,908
Send a message via AIM to ou2mame
its a windows mobile thing, its not exclusive to the touch pro. use a locking program like s2u2.
__________________
Deviation is what seperates us from the animals..
ou2mame is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2009, 02:20 PM   #11
buckley10
Two Cans & String User
 
buckley10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 20, '09
Location: FL
Posts: 3
Phone: HTC Pro
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SU$: 23
This happens when device switches antenna depending on your location. I use Pocketshield, has an option that auto powers off the device after 20 seconds if no user input, and no matter if the screen gets touched or not. The default Windows will reset the 1 minute timer when the screen gets touched, draining too much battery.
buckley10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2009, 04:05 PM   #12
grt8neaphew
cell phone guru
 
grt8neaphew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 28, '07
Location: Pottstown Pa
Posts: 61
Phone: Htc Touch Pro
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
SU$: 815
Send a message via AIM to grt8neaphew
ok i dont know how much of a fetch this is but here it goes...is there a way to make it so that the on screen keyboard only comes up if u click on the icon on the bottom of the screen instead of everytime u click on a text box it comes up...its getting annoying in text messaging cause i will send a message with the onscreen keyboard and the confirmation message (which i like) will come in and the keyboard turns off and then back on. just an annoyance to me
__________________
Phone History: A900m(water damage)>Razr V3m(Moms old phone)>Palm Centro Black>Htc Touch Pro

grt8neaphew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 07:05 PM   #13
llhall
Two Cans & String User
 
llhall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 14, '12
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SU$: 8
TP2 screen wake-up

Had the same problem (if there is still anyone out there with TP2's . . .). I fixed it by changing my bluetooth settings -- or turning off the bluetooth. When I made myself non-discoverable and fixed it so that only devices listed in my known devices menu (or something like that) could connect, it stopped spontaneously waking itself.

Cheers,

Len
llhall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2013, 12:47 AM   #14
Shoshana
Cellular Phone User
 
Shoshana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 27, '06
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 1,606
Phone: HTC Touch Pro
Thanks: 12
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SU$: 8,666
If the TP is waking up in your pocket, it could be that something is making the keyboard pop out a little bit. I noticed that even when it was locked, if I slid the keyboard open a bit it unlocked the phone. Mine was waking up in my handbag. If I keep it in the case it doesn't do it.
Shoshana is offline   Reply With Quote
Go Back SprintUsers.com > Devices > Windows Phone > Windows Mobile (6.x and earlier) > htc touch pro screen keeps waking up

Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Keyboard Aside, Any Advantages or Improvements to Touch Pro over Touch Diamond? PowerVisionUser Windows Mobile (6.x and earlier) 15 11-04-2008 12:58 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:22 PM.


- SprintUsers.com is not affiliated with or endorsed by Sprint PCS -