Join 200,000+ other SprintUsers for free at the #1 online community for Sprint cell phone customers! Win cool prizes in our weekly contests. Talk about the newest phones or post your question in our forums! Become a premium member and get unlimited Focus Uploads to your Sprint phone.

All visitors must register before they can post questions, contact other members or search our database of over 127,000 threads and 1.7 million posts. So what are you waiting for? Register for free today!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-05-2013, 06:08 PM   #1
unsmiley
Telegraph User
 
unsmiley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 31, '09
Location: New York
Posts: 63
Phone: HTC Touch Pro 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
SU$: 452
How to stop repeated automated synching attempts on a TP2?

This is annoying and happens in the middle of texting, surfing and talking on my Touch Pro2. How do I disable this function in Windows Mobile 6.5?
__________________
If I have helped in any way, it would be appreciated if you hit the Thanks! button below.
unsmiley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 09:25 PM   #2
Bibbin
Cellular Phone User
 
Bibbin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 5, '08
Posts: 1,589
Phone: ATT,HM,S &TMO
Thanks: 195
Thanked 112 Times in 97 Posts
SU$: 16,247
Quote:
Originally Posted by unsmiley View Post
This is annoying and happens in the middle of texting, surfing and talking on my Touch Pro2. How do I disable this function in Windows Mobile 6.5?
Are you referring to Activesync?
Bibbin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 08:34 PM   #3
unsmiley
Telegraph User
 
unsmiley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 31, '09
Location: New York
Posts: 63
Phone: HTC Touch Pro 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
SU$: 452
Yes it is the ActiveSync.

I have no idea what this even is, and I've had the phone for two years. I just want it to stop automatically going into ActiveSync every so often in the middle of phone calls, texts, etc.
__________________
If I have helped in any way, it would be appreciated if you hit the Thanks! button below.
unsmiley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2013, 09:32 PM   #4
Shoshana
Cellular Phone User
 
Shoshana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 27, '06
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 1,606
Phone: HTC Touch Pro
Thanks: 12
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SU$: 8,666
My TP has been doing the same thing ever since the guys at Sprint hard reset my phone when it locked up once.

I wrote HTC since I can't update to the last software update available and because it bugs. They said to do another hard reset!

Honestly I was too scared to do that. When I went to the store they wanted $50 to replace it in case they brick it.

I have had my phone for 5 years and it didn't do it before. It opens a data connection and tries to activesync. Activesync doesn't even exist anymore - MS has something else now - Windows Mobile Device Center.

Last edited by Shoshana; 09-20-2013 at 09:35 PM.
Shoshana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2013, 06:20 PM   #5
unsmiley
Telegraph User
 
unsmiley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 31, '09
Location: New York
Posts: 63
Phone: HTC Touch Pro 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
SU$: 452
My TP2 has been doing this for as long as I remember and I just tolerate it. It seems to not occur every day now. I have never done a hard reset (phone is over 2 years old).

Latest software update for this phone is windows mobile 6.5 (if you have 6.1 on your phone as some of the earlier TP2s have). You should be able to update to 6.5. BUT Windows 7 and 8 are no go for the TP2.

Other option is to load a custom ROM on it - I have been too chicken to try it but there are many out there for this phone, and you can also load Android on it. Most people that have done the custom route recommend it highly.

I use WMDC to sync, get photos off phone, etc. and it works well.

It appears you may have a touch pro, and not a touch pro2, so some of this advice may not apply to you. A hard reset is not a big deal if you back up what you need on your phone to your computer.
__________________
If I have helped in any way, it would be appreciated if you hit the Thanks! button below.

Last edited by unsmiley; 09-22-2013 at 06:24 PM.
unsmiley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 12:05 AM   #6
Shoshana
Cellular Phone User
 
Shoshana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 27, '06
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 1,606
Phone: HTC Touch Pro
Thanks: 12
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SU$: 8,666
Yes, I have the original (2008) TP. I used to back it up when I had previous versions of Windows that used ActiveSync but need to go figure out if I can do it using Windows Mobile Device Center.

I have Windows 6.1 on my phone I don't know where to update to 6.5. And I'm not changing the ROM, sound scary.

I mostly wanted to update to get the fix that corrects the bizarre daes I get for incoming texts and picture mail. And speaking of picture mail - any time my friends with iPhones send out group texts, I get it as picture mail! Individual texts come in as texts.
Shoshana is offline   Reply With Quote
Go Back SprintUsers.com > Devices > Windows Phone > Windows Mobile (6.x and earlier) > How to stop repeated automated synching attempts on a TP2?

Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
activating a TP2 on sero legacy, incurred fees? ekcivic9 SERO 7 08-14-2012 10:56 AM
Legacy Plan Phone Question - HTC TP2 Dell_Axim Sprint Discussion 16 11-05-2011 12:26 AM
TP2 Cracked Screen but just upgraded/bought new phone, but need TP2 to still work. Spawn11587 Total Equipment Protection 4 08-08-2011 12:37 PM
How to use TP2 in Europe mak101 Windows Mobile (6.x and earlier) 5 06-28-2011 04:58 PM
Went with TP2 over the Hero! HKINGS Windows Mobile (6.x and earlier) 11 10-20-2009 09:15 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:18 AM.


- SprintUsers.com is not affiliated with or endorsed by Sprint PCS -