Join 200,000+ other SprintUsers for free at the #1 online community for Sprint cell phone customers! Win cool prizes in our weekly contests. Talk about the newest phones or post your question in our forums! Become a premium member and get unlimited Focus Uploads to your Sprint phone.

All visitors must register before they can post questions, contact other members or search our database of over 127,000 threads and 1.7 million posts. So what are you waiting for? Register for free today!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-28-2012, 07:29 PM   #1
SprintNYC26
Two Cans & String User
 
SprintNYC26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 28, '12
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SU$: 24
Sprint 4G and 3G networks terrible in New York

city. For the last 5 weeks I've been calling Sprint about of what apparently is an outage in the zip code of 10029.
SprintNYC26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2012, 07:33 PM   #2
menmygn3
Galaxy Note 3! Oh Yeah!
 
menmygn3's Avatar
 
Mood: Fine
Join Date: Jun 18, '08
Location: DFW
Posts: 1,397
Phone: I Don't KNOW!
Trades: 14
Thanks: 49
Thanked 114 Times in 83 Posts
My Mood: Fine
SU$: 11,832
Let me guess, they say "We don't see a problem, must be your phone, we see you have insurance, pay $100 and get it replaced!"
menmygn3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2012, 08:03 PM   #3
ericdabbs
Cordless Phone User
 
ericdabbs's Avatar
 
Mood: Happy
Join Date: Feb 15, '09
Location: LA, CA
Posts: 721
Phone: MoPho 4G
Thanks: 44
Thanked 60 Times in 54 Posts
My Mood: Happy
SU$: 13,009
Quote:
Originally Posted by SprintNYC26 View Post
city. For the last 5 weeks I've been calling Sprint about of what apparently is an outage in the zip code of 10029.
Wow OP you really created a user name just to complain about this? Please move this to the Rants forum please. Your post is kinda incomplete since you never explained what responses you have received. Did the Sprint rep tell you everything was fine OR did they say they will send a tech out to inspect it?

I find it VERY hard to believe that Sprint would allow any cell tower to be unoperational for that long of a period let alone 5 weeks.
ericdabbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2012, 08:39 PM   #4
4ringsnbr
Telephone User
 
4ringsnbr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 14, '11
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Posts: 296
Phone: Evo 4G
Thanks: 7
Thanked 46 Times in 37 Posts
SU$: 3,715
Quote:
Originally Posted by ericdabbs View Post
Wow OP you really created a user name just to complain about this? Please move this to the Rants forum please. Your post is kinda incomplete since you never explained what responses you have received. Did the Sprint rep tell you everything was fine OR did they say they will send a tech out to inspect it?

I find it VERY hard to believe that Sprint would allow any cell tower to be unoperational for that long of a period let alone 5 weeks.
Actually, there have been numerous cases of tower outages here for 6 weeks or longer around Baton Rouge, New Orleans, & Houma (non hurricane-related outages mind you). Sprint doesn't maintain their network-- Ericsson does and has for about 3-4 years now.
4ringsnbr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2012, 08:32 PM   #5
SprintNYC26
Two Cans & String User
 
SprintNYC26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 28, '12
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SU$: 24
They said everything is ok in that area. Also they asked me please remove your phone battery while we refresh the service etc etc. Now they finally admitted that there is an outage in the area lol.
SprintNYC26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2012, 08:43 PM   #6
DJRider
Former SU Mod Grampus Misfire
 
DJRider's Avatar
 
Mood: Pensive
Join Date: Feb 4, '05
Location: Long Island NY
Posts: 15,822
Trades: 8
Thanks: 623
Thanked 726 Times in 562 Posts
My Mood: Pensive
SU$: 101,758
I was in Manhattan last weekend and had no issues. However I was at the Beacon Theater and not near that area. 4G was flying there for me and it was the first time I got to use it on my ET4G. I hope they get it up and running for you soon.

I am not going to move this to the rants since some people in that zip might find this useful. Keep us posted.
__________________
Former SU moderator Grampus Misfire!
DJRider is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2012, 09:13 PM   #7
Dan
Forever my Angel
 
Dan's Avatar
 
Mood: Relaxed
Join Date: Feb 6, '05
Location: western NY
Posts: 23,917
Phone: HTC ONE
Trades: 1
Thanks: 46
Thanked 745 Times in 611 Posts
My Mood: Relaxed
SU$: 128,899
Quote:
Originally Posted by SprintNYC26 View Post
They said everything is ok in that area. Also they asked me please remove your phone battery while we refresh the service etc etc. Now they finally admitted that there is an outage in the area lol.
They often don't know they have an issue because "the tower is running at 100%" If you get a decent rep they will actually figure out the real issue and report it if appropriate.

I had such an issue yesterday, called Sprint and did all of their troubleshooting things. When connected to the Sprint tower I had slow speeds or no data connections. When on my Airave I had great speeds, no issues.

Obviously it was a tower issue, and the rep finally realized it. My slowest speed test today was 28kbps down and 53kbps up with a ping of 1287ms. On my Airave it was 817 down and 320 up with a ping of 357.

It really helps to explain yourself to the rep clearly, and call in from a landline if at all possible.
__________________
My angel is now an angel in heaven. 5/25/2000 - 12/5/2010. Rest in peace Alaina.
Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Go Back SprintUsers.com writeLink(2663403, 0, 0, 321492, "", "Sprint 4G and 3G networks...", "02-28-2012", "07:29 PM", 1); writeLink(2663407, 0, 0, 152253, "T", "Let me guess, they say "We...", "02-28-2012", "07:33 PM", 1); writeLink(2663414, 0, 0, 178341, "T", "Wow OP you really created a...", "02-28-2012", "08:03 PM", 1); writeLink(2663430, 0, 0, 306462, "I,L", "Actually, there have been...", "02-28-2012", "08:39 PM", 1); writeLink(2663424, 0, 0, 321492, "L", "They said everything is ok in...", "02-28-2012", "08:32 PM", 1); writeLink(2663433, 0, 0, 22137, "1,T", "I was in Manhattan last...", "02-28-2012", "08:43 PM", 1); writeLink(2663445, 0, 0, 22189, "1,L", "They often don't know they...", "02-28-2012", "09:13 PM", 1); > General > Sprint Discussion > Sprint 4G and 3G networks terrible in New York

Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:33 AM.


- SprintUsers.com is not affiliated with or endorsed by Sprint PCS -