SprintUsers.com

SprintUsers.com (http://www.sprintusers.com/forum/index.php)
-   Android (Google) Based Phones (http://www.sprintusers.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=145)
-   -   No Flash 10.1 for 1st gen Android phones (http://www.sprintusers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=203051)

Mojonator 02-26-2010 04:45 PM

No Flash 10.1 for 1st gen Android phones
 
http://androidandme.com/2010/02/news...ndroid-phones/


I came across this today. Just passing it along. Hope its not true. :frustrate

dayvedayve 02-26-2010 05:34 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mojonator (Post 2296186)
http://androidandme.com/2010/02/news...ndroid-phones/


I came across this today. Just passing it along. Hope its not true. :frustrate

Even if they wont "support" Flash 10 on our 1st gen phones with Android 2.1, someone will find a way to get it done. Someone already got Flash 10 running on a G1.

KAT 02-26-2010 06:09 PM

I doubt I would want full flash on my Hero anyways, just more work for a already under powered processor. Takes to long for pages to load, especially pages full of flash adds and stuff, which I don't care to much about anyway. Now with a new 1ghz phone, I'll take it.

Beer Abuser 03-01-2010 04:32 PM

My flash load pretty quick, maybe its due to coverage?

KAT 03-01-2010 04:50 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Beer Abuser (Post 2297122)
My flash load pretty quick, maybe its due to coverage?

Well from what I understand, the Hero's browser uses "Flash Lite", not the full flash that 10.1 is, which I think would be more of a burden on the processor. Maybe it would work ok I don't know but that's why they're deciding not to release for 1st gen phones because they don't feel the experience would be very good without better hardware. I noticed the Dolphin browser seems a little quicker because it doesn't use the stock browsers Flash lite, which can take longer to load pages, for me anyways.

Beer Abuser 03-01-2010 05:36 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by KAT (Post 2297131)
Well from what I understand, the Hero's browser uses "Flash Lite", not the full flash that 10.1 is.

Doh! That's right, not full flash.

I hope a 1ghz will be enough, some full flash sites that have games or heavy scripts run hard on old computers, but time will tell.

JimParks1 03-01-2010 06:25 PM

Ah, so history is about to repeat it's self. When it is all said and done, if we want the full features of Android 2.1 we will have to buy a new phone. My Hero just won't be able to cut it. And probably won't even get the update to 2.1

KAT 03-01-2010 07:13 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Beer Abuser (Post 2297156)
Doh! That's right, not full flash.

I hope a 1ghz will be enough, some full flash sites that have games or heavy scripts run hard on old computers, but time will tell.

I think 1ghz will handle 10.1 fine, which is what my next phone will have. Even if it takes till Dec, I'm holding off my upgrade until Sprint produces such a phone. I bet in a couple years 1ghz will be pretty much the norm for most smartphones. As I'm sure you know, there's already talk of 1.3/1.5 processors on the horizon. Heck I read a article recently about "Smartphones of the future", what they might be able to do, and the possible use of 2.0ghz proccesors...

0dB 03-01-2010 07:29 PM

It won't be long until Flash is totally obsolete.

KAT 03-01-2010 07:49 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 0dB (Post 2297220)
It won't be long until Flash is totally obsolete.

Really.... ?

reggie14 03-01-2010 10:08 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 0dB (Post 2297220)
It won't be long until Flash is totally obsolete.

I doubt it. I don't see the H.264/Theora battle ending anytime soon, nor do I think DRM will get built into HTML5 or any successive versions anytime soon. That combination will likely result in Flash continuing to live on. On the bright side, we'll see more and more sites, like Youtube, offering both flash and HTML5 based sites. And, HTML5 very well might completely kill off Flash for stupid little web page animations.

0dB 03-01-2010 11:03 PM

Well, I probably jumped the gun on that call but a guy can hope :)

What will I do if I can't continue to load all those ads on the side of web pages?


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:19 AM.


- SprintUsers.com is not affiliated with or endorsed by Sprint PCS -