SprintUsers.com

SprintUsers.com (http://www.sprintusers.com/forum/index.php)
-   Android (Google) Based Phones (http://www.sprintusers.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=145)
-   -   For those with 100% Awake time [FIX] (http://www.sprintusers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=196113)

dereileak 10-13-2009 08:09 PM

For those with 100% Awake time [FIX]
 
Helly everybody, I love my htc, and I found the cure to the 100% awake time. I tested each app out myself, and checked the usage and it happens to be voicemail. Well what do you do from here, well it seems sprint has already fixed the issue, you just need to open the voicemail app, and go to setting, then download the new update, that fixes it so the phone doesnt stay awake non stop, before I dled that update my phone was at 100%, not good, but after I sit at around 18%, which is correct for my usage today. So hop on in the app, and fix your problem, It doent make the battery life a whole new world, but instead of being at 20% at the end of the day, I hit around 45%, so it does help. Also get a task killer, and kill those pesky non used tasks :P

Peace,
Derek

JWFOS22 10-13-2009 08:11 PM

I updated my VM yesterday and I'm still at 100%. My voicemail version is:
vn.5.0.0.32

dereileak 10-13-2009 08:14 PM

have you restarted since then? get advanced task killer, and kill all apps, do a restart and go right to settings to the awake time, hit the red power button to turn screen off, then wait about a minute, and turn back on to see if its fixed, if not then im not sure, that is what fixed mine

JWFOS22 10-13-2009 08:17 PM

I have AdvanceTaskkiller do I need to kill VoiceMail first. Also are you killing all your apps cause I have calender,clock,mail,messages,settings & voice mail not checked.

dereileak 10-13-2009 08:21 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by JWFOS22 (Post 2223994)
I have AdvanceTaskkiller do I need to kill VoiceMail first. Also are you killing all your apps cause I have calender,clock,mail,messages,settings & voice mail not checked.

I leave email, and messages on, one thing I did do, is I completly reset my phone, cause my wifi stopped working, after backing up my contacts of course, then I did the VM update, and it seemed fine after that, I have a crap load of apps on there, and it still goes to sleep, I do not know what may be causing yours, VM seemed like it was the big prob for me

JWFOS22 10-13-2009 08:26 PM

We'll figure it out. I'll keep hashing it out over here and you do the same maybe we'll help somebody else out, But can you check your VM version for me.So you kill everything else? Thanks

Kyp 10-13-2009 08:27 PM

I know this sounds stupid but how do you reset you phone incase i ever mess something up and need to do that.

Also what does resetting it clear? Can you redownload the apps you've bought. The phone itself is still registered to the sprint account right, i wouldn't have to call/go to sprint to get it working right.

mobilehavoc 10-13-2009 08:27 PM

It's the Dialer. Download and run Spare Parts. Go to Battery Activity, Partial Wakelock. You'll almost definitely see Dialer keeping your phone awake all the time. It'll be ok for a little while after a reboot but then it'll happen. Trust me. I think it's a bug with 1.5.

JWFOS22 10-13-2009 08:30 PM

Mobilehavoc, The dialer is causing this? Damn my phone has not been to sleep it's been lock in at 100%. So what does Spare Parts do?

mcantu 10-13-2009 08:34 PM

for those with this problem, does pressing the [end]/[power off] button not turn off the screen?

dereileak 10-13-2009 09:48 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kyp (Post 2224002)
I know this sounds stupid but how do you reset you phone incase i ever mess something up and need to do that.

Also what does resetting it clear? Can you redownload the apps you've bought. The phone itself is still registered to the sprint account right, i wouldn't have to call/go to sprint to get it working right.

Factory reset is located under security settings, it resets everything as if you just bought it, the only thing that stays the same is the phone number attached to it, so only do it if needed, and back up your contacts, apps can be redownloaded so that is not a problem, you just have to go and find them agian, it will at first show you the ones you had before, but then if you hit one wrong button that screen goes away, dialer also looks to be an issue with the phone staying on, its one of my top uses, I love the phone to death, but how did they manage to get 15 days on standby with it during tests? ha ha, it will be fixed eventually with donut 1.6, but we have no clue when it will come out for the hero, my VM version is VN.5.0.0.32, list yours if different

sleepyEDB 10-13-2009 10:10 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mobilehavoc (Post 2224003)
It's the Dialer. Download and run Spare Parts. Go to Battery Activity, Partial Wakelock. You'll almost definitely see Dialer keeping your phone awake all the time. It'll be ok for a little while after a reboot but then it'll happen. Trust me. I think it's a bug with 1.5.

This appears to be correct, at least for me. My awake time is 93% and the blue bar representing my Dialer in Spare Parts is almost completely full.

Nice find, mobilehavoc! Now, how to fix it... :scratch:


sleepy

JWFOS22 10-13-2009 10:41 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by sleepyEDB (Post 2224108)
This appears to be correct, at least for me. My awake time is 93% and the blue bar representing my Dialer in Spare Parts is almost completely full.

Nice find, mobilehavoc! Now, how to fix it... :scratch:


sleepy

My Question exactly :Popcorn2:

mobilehavoc 10-13-2009 11:41 PM

I think we just need to make sure Sprint/HTC know about this so they can fix it in a software release. My Dialer starts keeping the phone awake even wihtout receiving or placing calls. Seems to be related to text messages too for some reason.

sleepyEDB 10-14-2009 09:07 AM

Just an update...

Before going to sleep last night I rebooted my phone and then immediately hit the power button to put the phone to sleep. After being off for 8 hours I turned it on, did just a couple things and then checked the wake time. It was down to about 12%. So, maybe this means I'm not having as much of a problem with wake time as I originally thought. It could be that my high wake time percentage was due more to my playing with the phone all the time and using it to stream Pandora even when the screen is off. Even so, my Dialer is still far and away on top of the list when I check Partial Wake in Spare Parts, no matter if I sort the list since 'last boot', 'last unplugged', or 'total'. The next closest thing in the list is Android OS, and it's barely a sliver of blue. :irked:

Quote:

Originally Posted by mobilehavoc (Post 2224180)
I think we just need to make sure Sprint/HTC know about this so they can fix it in a software release.

I think they already have, and it's called Donut. The real question is, when do we get it? :p


sleepy


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:21 PM.


- SprintUsers.com is not affiliated with or endorsed by Sprint PCS -