View Full Version : Palm Pre for sale...legit?
anskY
02-28-2009, 09:07 PM
Hey guys I was just wondering if you guys think this ad is legit? A guy is saying he has a few Palm Pre phones for sale (no it's not me I'm not trying to promote anything...)
http://newyork.craigslist.org/brx/ele/1054861490.html
umm no its not even out yet call him up and ask him what sprint truck he robbed lol
No. It's an @sshole trying to scam people out of their money. Sprint doesn't use IMEI numbers, that's for GSM carriers. Nor can you "unlock" CDMA phones, that's GSM again.
And like the above poster said, the phone's not even out yet.
Plus, the two photos he has on there are probably CES video screenshots... what a loser.
we should give that post to sprint e-care and see what they think lol
buzzardjrt
03-01-2009, 12:47 AM
ut o. i should have waited and read before i sent him money via western union...........yea right.
i can not believe some people really try that stuff. i dont know if i would have the **** to even try it.
davidtm
03-01-2009, 09:05 AM
Here's what's on the page now:
This posting has been flagged for removal
(The title on the listings page will be removed in just a few minutes.)
See ya!
btw, sprint does use imei numbers, every carrier does, gsm uses sim cards tho instead of soley the imei number. just fyi.
Wirelessly posted (Treo 755: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows 98; PalmSource/Palm-D060; Blazer/4.5) 16;320x320)
btw, sprint does use imei numbers, every carrier does, gsm uses sim cards tho instead of soley the imei number. just fyi.
So is the IMEI number different than the ESN?
PokerFace23
03-01-2009, 09:42 PM
sprint uses ESN and MEIDs. but not IMEIs. don't ask me what the differences are bc i don't know :)
and yes i was one of the people that flagged the CL ad.
Wirelessly posted (Treo 755: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows 98; PalmSource/Palm-D060; Blazer/4.5) 16;320x320)
I actually texted the guy and asked if he was selling a Palm Pre. He texted back "Yes," but when I asked how and if he could email me some pics of the one he was selling, I never got a response.
Surprise, surprise.
MissDeevi
06-04-2009, 11:59 PM
isn't nextel imei?
MissDeevi
06-05-2009, 12:00 AM
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/IMEI ...ok so it says it is on gsm wcdma and iden which is what nextel uses.
Zeeshan
06-05-2009, 12:27 AM
i mean, its only 1.5 days to release...who would be that desperate? just wait it out now and get an official one.
No. It's an @sshole trying to scam people out of their money. Sprint doesn't use IMEI numbers, that's for GSM carriers. Nor can you "unlock" CDMA phones, that's GSM again.
And like the above poster said, the phone's not even out yet.
Plus, the two photos he has on there are probably CES video screenshots... what a loser.
um, actually all phones have IMEI numbers, not just GSM, and u can "unlock" a CDMA phone, its basically a reflash of the firmware so it will use the correct network info for whatever carrier...
but still, its just a scam ;)
bigchico68
06-05-2009, 11:24 AM
Not legit....
SprintUsers.com was created in January 2002 as a resource for users of Sprint PCS products and services to learn about and share information. We have cll phone reviews, Cellular Accessories, Downloads, PDA reviews, Ringtones, all of the latest Sprint PCS news and information, an area where you can find help in creating a ring tone or custom image for you phone, and so much more. The most popular section is the message board where visitors can read and write messages, ask questions, and get advice about their cellular phone from other users.
Content Copyright © 2002-2007 SprintUsers
vBulletin® v3.8.3, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.