PDA


View Full Version : Odd Texts coming from Sprint?


boxermansr
06-15-2006, 01:21 PM
Friend of mine keeps getting text messages, telling him to visit gospv.com/v1 and use his PCS Vision credit to download 'games and more' (or something to that effect).

I checked the website (not with my phone, but with IE), and it's not even a configured website. Checked the registration info for the domain and it's registered (or appears to be), to Sprint.

Anyone know anything about this site?

skinsfan1
06-15-2006, 01:24 PM
Friend of mine keeps getting text messages, telling him to visit gospv.com/v1 and use his PCS Vision credit to download 'games and more' (or something to that effect).

I checked the website (not with my phone, but with IE), and it's not even a configured website. Checked the registration info for the domain and it's registered (or appears to be), to Sprint.

Anyone know anything about this site?


YEA id like to know cause im gettin the same text. i just keep erasing them

NINO63004
06-15-2006, 01:54 PM
Friend of mine keeps getting text messages, telling him to visit gospv.com/v1 and use his PCS Vision credit to download 'games and more' (or something to that effect).

I checked the website (not with my phone, but with IE), and it's not even a configured website. Checked the registration info for the domain and it's registered (or appears to be), to Sprint.

Anyone know anything about this site?


go to that link on your phone and it will take you to where you want to go...



Nino

boxermansr
06-15-2006, 02:00 PM
go to that link on your phone and it will take you to where you want to go...



Nino


I'd rather not go to it, since I don't know what it *IS* exactly. I wouldn't imagine Sprint would be randomly messaging people telling them to use their vision credit (especially since my friend doesnt even have a vision pack w/ download credit).

I'm trying to find out if it's a sprint site. Since when going to it via Internet Explorer, it's an "unconfigured" website.

NINO63004
06-15-2006, 02:06 PM
I'd rather not go to it, since I don't know what it *IS* exactly. I wouldn't imagine Sprint would be randomly messaging people telling them to use their vision credit (especially since my friend doesnt even have a vision pack w/ download credit).

I'm trying to find out if it's a sprint site. Since when going to it via Internet Explorer, it's an "unconfigured" website.


its ok to go to...i get those all the time...its not a scam site or anything...i get them b/c i signed up for alerts to notify me of new games and sports scores etc...


Nino

rennyn
06-15-2006, 02:08 PM
I checked the website (not with my phone, but with IE), and it's not even a configured website.

You must have mistyped it then. It comes up fine on the phone or in a web browser.

boxermansr
06-15-2006, 02:16 PM
You must have mistyped it then. It comes up fine on the phone or in a web browser.


In internet explorer, I get a "Fedora Core Test page" (if I visit www.gospv.com or just gospv.com), if I visit gospv.com/v1 (the url it sends to the phone), it prompts me to open or save the file.

I visited the url (gospv.com/v1) on my phone, and it looks semi-legit, but I'd think Sprint would make these messages look a little more official, since this one looked kinda fake.

NINO63004
06-15-2006, 02:21 PM
In internet explorer, I get a "Fedora Core Test page" (if I visit www.gospv.com or just gospv.com), if I visit gospv.com/v1 (the url it sends to the phone), it prompts me to open or save the file.

I visited the url (gospv.com/v1) on my phone, and it looks semi-legit, but I'd think Sprint would make these messages look a little more official, since this one looked kinda fake.


its legit...you have nothing to worry about...you cant really make a text message look any more official IMO...its a text message...but its legit and i get them all the time...you can probably unsubscribe to those messages...i cant tell you off the top of my head how to do it though...it just depends on what page your on...



Nino

boxermansr
06-15-2006, 02:25 PM
its legit...you have nothing to worry about...you cant really make a text message look any more official IMO...its a text message...but its legit and i get them all the time...you can probably unsubscribe to those messages...i cant tell you off the top of my head how to do it though...it just depends on what page your on...



Nino

I've been subscribed to their alerts thing for some time, and I've yet to get a single message. The only ones I've ever got, are ones that tell me my calltones tone is expiring in a few days. My friend just happened to get the text about that website, while at work, and since he rarely, if ever even uses Vision, he wasn't sure what it was; so I figured I'd check. :)

NINO63004
06-15-2006, 02:34 PM
I've been subscribed to their alerts thing for some time, and I've yet to get a single message. The only ones I've ever got, are ones that tell me my calltones tone is expiring in a few days. My friend just happened to get the text about that website, while at work, and since he rarely, if ever even uses Vision, he wasn't sure what it was; so I figured I'd check. :)


that is weird he would all of a sudden get them...but rest assured he is ok...:)



Nino

reemusk
06-15-2006, 03:04 PM
i've gotten it and used it.

ghanson
06-15-2006, 06:41 PM
Friend of mine keeps getting text messages, telling him to visit gospv.com/v1 and use his PCS Vision credit to download 'games and more' (or something to that effect).

I checked the website (not with my phone, but with IE), and it's not even a configured website. Checked the registration info for the domain and it's registered (or appears to be), to Sprint.

Anyone know anything about this site?

I get these freek'n txts at least 2-3 times per month.I have never requested news or updates via txt from anyone.I get charged .10 per text since I didnt sign up for unlimited messaging.I never txt anyone so why should I have to keep adding the few xtra dimes to
my monthly statement for crap I dont want?
I did try to reply to the sender (gospv.com) with a request telling them to "STOP" but I still get them !Is this some kinda game so sprint can get the few xtra dimes from everybody's bill ? If there's a way to stop these annoying messages,I'd like to know about it! :bang: :wavey:

----ghanson----

goodiemob
06-15-2006, 10:02 PM
YEA id like to know cause im gettin the same text. i just keep erasing themi got same text message yesterday,but i dont wanan go on web on my phone b/c i'll have to pay $$$$ for it.and i have never signed up for it.

phone-a-holic
06-16-2006, 06:16 AM
i get them too and just keep moving right over them. i don't even bother with them.

ghanson
06-16-2006, 06:30 PM
i get them too and just keep moving right over them. i don't even bother with them.

I too Move right over them! I gave up with bothering with them. Its like shooting a needle in a haystack !!(or somthing like that) :cool:

---ghanson---

Dan
06-16-2006, 11:22 PM
Best solution if you DO NOT have text messages included is to contact sprint and request they give you 100 "free" text messages a month as the local sprint store or a sprint affiliate keeps sending you text messages.

ghanson
06-17-2006, 10:28 AM
Thanks for the tip Alaina. I need to go to the Sprint store to buy a replacement phone for my daughter who cracked her screen.(the "PHONES" screen.) anyway.
Will the clerk at the Sprint store be able to help with the free text request?
I havent been to a Sprint store in a long time.
Thanks,
----ghanson----

ILoveMyA920
06-17-2006, 01:31 PM
that flippin message always gets sent to me, somebody f/sprint said that its not from them and i kno i'm not signed up for any alerts of ANY kind. oh well :-P

YPG
06-17-2006, 01:35 PM
So if it is legit, has anyone ever downloaded anything from them?
I've never got one of those text but if it's from Sprint I would like to see what they have to offer because I get free download credits.
PM Me and I'll give you My number so you can forward Me a copy of the text. :)

Dan
06-17-2006, 02:05 PM
Thanks for the tip Alaina. I need to go to the Sprint store to buy a replacement phone for my daughter who cracked her screen.(the "PHONES" screen.) anyway.
Will the clerk at the Sprint store be able to help with the free text request?
I havent been to a Sprint store in a long time.
Thanks,
----ghanson----


You can call me Dan.. the pic is of my daughter Alaina :)

I would email eCare as they seem far more willing to give away a few free text messages than anyone else. directly at:

ecare2@cc.sprintpcs.com

including account information so they can identify you as the account holder or:

"contact us" link on sprint.com AFTER you have signed in :) They time out on sprint.com fairly quick so compose your request in another word program, copy and paste it into the email form :wavey:

ghanson
06-17-2006, 04:44 PM
Hey Dan, Sorry for my assumtion!!
Thanks for the reply!! I'll give eCare a call and see if they can shoot-down a few extra free minutes of text!!



---ghanson--

Hey Alaina !

 
SprintUsers.com was created in January 2002 as a resource for users of Sprint PCS products and services to learn about and share information. We have cll phone reviews, Cellular Accessories, Downloads, PDA reviews, Ringtones, all of the latest Sprint PCS news and information, an area where you can find help in creating a ring tone or custom image for you phone, and so much more. The most popular section is the message board where visitors can read and write messages, ask questions, and get advice about their cellular phone from other users.